We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 4 night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Norland

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lethbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Norland
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wonderful 4 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My daughter and I were travelling to Lethbridge for her dance festival and we needed somewhere to stay for four nights. Everyone else was staying at hotels but we wanted the ability to go somewhere quiet at the end of the day and we always love a good B&B! The Norland did not disappoint and my only wish is that we were there in the summer to truly enjoy the beautiful grounds of the property. We stayed in the Queen room and it was clean and nicely decorated. We appreciated the owners keeping the character of this beautiful old house when they were renovating the upper floors. The beds were comfortable and it was a very quiet and peaceful setting.

The owners are lovely and interesting people and it was a pleasure to chat with them over breakfast. They made us feel welcome and were happy to provide information about the property and the town. The breakfast was hearty and plentiful and it was nice to enjoy it in the dining room overlooking the pool.

I would definitely stay here if ever we needed to travel to Lethbridge again and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place for people wanting some tranquility. I was able to see the other suites and the new apartment style rooms on the top floor are great and the other large bedroom on the second level was also really nice. Quick into the city but far enough to get away! Thank you Al and Karen, it was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FluffyBunnyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

As previous reviews have said this is a fantastic B&B set on the outskirts of the town so if you do want to go into town you do need to drive but it is so worth it. Our room was beautiful with a garden view, high quality bed linen and fluffy towels Karen and her husband are delightful hosts and open their house to their guests including their swimming pool!! They recommended a resturant for the evening which was in a converted water tower - great food, fantastic views. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryo297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We don't generally do Bed and Breakfasts, but if this is anything to go by we shall do it again.
The Norland is a beautifully restored 1910 mansion, with a park like setting.
Our room was very nice and very comfortable, the ensuite bathroom very nicely appointed and with a heated floor!
There was plenty of room to organise your belongings.
Common guest areas are very nice and spacious.
The hosts were really fantastic ,there was a little mix up with our booking, but they sorted everything and were genuinely apologetic.
We had a very pleasant breakfast that was tasty and far more than we could eat and a great conversation with our hosts.
It's a little bit out of town( which is nice) but as first time drivers in Canada with poor maps and poor visibility due to rain we found it so its not an issue.
If we return to Lethbridge we would certainly stay here again and we would highly recommend it as the place to stay.

Room Tip: The Norland is a bed and breakfast so room service isn't an issue but they did offer to bring us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

It's a big leap to stay at a B&B instead of a hotel. We're so glad we took that step and highly encourage others to do so. The very first impression began before we stepped foot on the property as we got lost, called and Karen talked us through the directions - right to the front door.

The room we selected was larger than expected and the bath facilities really lovely as well.
We didn't want to leave The Norland, but had come to Lethbridge for a wedding and did have to leave on occasion :(

Room Tip: The Norland's own site has pictures of each room so you can select by those pictures, as we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheEcoMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Norland for one night in the Atlanta room. The house and grounds are absolutely gorgeous and the setting is awesome, quiet and peaceful. The Atlanta room was lovely, bright and roomy with a very comfortable bed. We felt at home as we sat in the living area relaxing for the evening. Karen provided us with a delicious breakfast in the morning. Karen and Alvin are gracious hosts and we will definitely stay at The Norland again should we be in the area. I would highly recommend this B&B to friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Atlanta room but I'm sure all the rooms in the B&B are lovely and comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank decksitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our tour of Alberta. It was a wonderful place, the room was beautiful (we stayed in the Atlanta), the hosts were gracious and very informative, and the breakfast was great! The location is great too, just on the edge of town, so it's in a rural setting, but close to everything! We definitely would recommend this B&B to anyone, traveling for business, family or on their own. It has an indoor pool as well, which we didn't get a chance to try out, but it looked very clean and inviting!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank violetveil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I have stayed at this Heritage property on a couple of occasions. Rooms and beds are very comfortable - Karen provides a superior breakfast. Location is super - quiet on the edge of the city but convenient to everything. Although I have been on business trips when staying here I look forward to spending a night or two with my wife at this B&B. Highly recommended for either business or a romantic stay!

Room Tip: Atlanta room is very nice - very comfortable canopy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SkyviewEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lethbridge hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Service Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lethbridge
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lethbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 20 in Lethbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lethbridge
2.5 mi away
Coast Lethbridge Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norland

Property: The Norland
Address: 5801 1 Ave S, Lethbridge, Alberta T1J 4P4, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Lethbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Lethbridge
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norland is located just east of Lethbridge on the corner of 1st Avenue South (secondary Hwy 512) and Sunnyside Road South (Range Road 21-2). The 7,500 sq. ft. mansion is secluded on 5 acres of beautifully landscaped property. It is located just off Highway 3 and 43rd Street South, allowing for quick access to travel routes and easy access for RV's and trailers. Waterton Lakes National Park is only 1.5 hours drive and makes a great day trip. For wedding guests, hotels are located 1 mile west of the property, within city limits. During the spring and summer various events and celebrations including wedding ceremonies and take place in the garden. This seasonal facility can host up to 300 guests for an outdoor celebration. Wedding ceremonies are celebrated in the garden near the gazebo or in front of the mansion. Intimate personal celebrations, retreats and small conferences can be facilitated in the garden or in the mansion. This quiet, peaceful and charming environment for your celebration is truly unique and unmatched in Southern Alberta. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing