We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service, not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Lethbridge
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service, not worth it”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The rooms are fine- they're clean and have everything you need. The location, on a main road near restaurants and services, is quite good. The continental breakfast is very limited, certainly not what I expected. But the staff are just awful- they are rude, and not at all concerned about providing good customer service.
The wireless was out over the weekend, and the first front desk agent I spoke with about it on Friday told me it was due to the flooding. When I asked her why the hotels next door and across the street, as well as businesses down the road, had no problems with their internet (which remained the case all weekend), she switched gears and told me that no one else had mentioned it and she would call the help desk when she had a minute. I called back 2 hours later and asked if they had made any progress, and was told that she hadn't called yet, and that it was an inconvenience for her. This particular agent was snappy, interrupted me, and made it clear that she was annoyed at having to deal with their wireless problem. I called back the next day and was told not to expect wireless access until Monday (the day I was checking out), but that I could either check out and be reimbursed (I had booked and paid through Expedia), or stay and be given $25 for each day the internet was out. This agent was much more professional and straightforward, and didn't try to lie about what was clearly a technical issue. When I went to check out on Monday and inquired about the reimbursement, the front desk manager was very rude and acted as though I were asking for something extremely unreasonable (the other desk agent had misunderstood the $25 per day, it was supposed to be $25 total). She even printed out her email to the agent I had spoken with, and shoved it at me across the desk.
It was one of the worst customer service experiences I've had just because of the lack of professionalism displayed by the staff, and I would certainly never recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atticgirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis1979, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear atticgirl7,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your last stay with us. Just to let you know new management have taken over the hotel in October 2013 and we can assure you that the services and commitment to our guest concerns are of utmost importance. If ever in the area I would encourage you to give us another try to see the difference in the attentive nature of our front desk agents and staff. We would like to apologize for your past stay and hope that if ever in the area you'll give us another try. Have a great day.

Kindest Regards,

Michael Davis
General Manager
Econolodge Lethbridge
1 403 328 5591
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    30
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
28
30
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed at this motel for just one night in February 2013. A quick overnight stay en route to the mountains. It has a good location, close to restaurants and shopping. However, it is an old style motel, with front door to your room entering directly from outdoors. Therefore, we heard every car and truck pulling into parking lot and at 5:30 a.m., one of the other guests started his large truck and let it run for over 1/2 hour to let it warm up. Needless to say, we were awake very early. Also, when checking in, we commented how lovely the lobby building was, obviously newly decorated with a fireplace and comfortable chairs. The sad part is this is where the updating ends. Rooms are very, very small, furniture, bedding and draperies are old and dated and the bathroom is so small you can hardly function in it. Not to mention that they have tried very hard to give the traveller conveniences such as a microwave which is stuck in an area that you bump into every time you try to get to the bathroom. Breakfast in morning was average, the usual bagels and cereals and waffles. This motel is clean, but sadly out of date and front desk staff is slow and very unknowledgble. I would spend a little extra and check in somewhere else.

Room Tip: No matter what room you you get in this motel, you will always hear the noise from the parking lot a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunbum222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis1979, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear sunburn222,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for choosing to stay with us.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the services and amenities that we offer, however disappointing to hear that you did not find the value in our product. We would like to thank you for staying with and would like to wish you a wonderful day.

Kindest Regards,

Michael Davis
General Manager
Econolodge Lethbridge
1 403 328 5591
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My kids and I stayed in Lethbridge for one night at the Econo Lodge. It was our first time staying there. I had called one month prior to reserve a room, and had one reserved with two beds, non smoking. We arrived around noon the day of our stay, and I thought i'd check in early, not necesarily to get into our room, but that we'd be returning later that night. The lady at the front desk said their computer was having issues, but it would be no problem checking in later. Well, we returned about 9 PM and was informed by the replacement staff that their computers were on the brink, and they double booked.After waiting to see what they would do, we were given the suite room, with a queen bed and roll out couch. My daughter slept on the couch, and wasnt impressed. The security chain on the door was ripped off, and there was a few stray hairs here and there, but the beds were very clean. For the price (they gve it to us for regular price) it was acceptable. The breakfast was good(muffins, bagels,etc.) if you didnt mind sitting on the lap of others in the cramped room. I would stay here again,if I needed a short one night stay. Oh, and the parking is perfect...for a very little car. The U-shaped lot is perfect for hit and runs.

Room Tip: The balcony walkway echoes throughout the upstairs rooms in stereo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis1979, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear jcsch,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize for the issues that you encountered during your last stay. We are under a new management team and would love to make up for the unprofessionalism you experienced on your last stay. Thank you again and we hope that if ever in the area you will give us another try. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Kindest Regards,

Michael Davis
General Manager
Econolodge Lethbridge
1 403 328 5591
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REGINA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I almost always review hotels before I go, but this time I didn't and I've learned my lesson. The front lobby is clean and inviting and front desk staff was friendly, that's where the pleasantries end. The room was run down, walls need to be repaired and washed or repainted, bathroom in serious need of repair, tub floor was permastained (we didn't shower), around the toilet needed to be scrubbed. The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean, so at least we got a decent nights sleep. The location is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melndean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lethbridge hotels

Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

If I could give this Hotel a lower rating I would. The room was disgustingly dirty; it had an odor of stale air and body odor. The shower had dried on shampoo or bodywash on the shelf. If you walked around the room in bare feet you would leave footprints in the shower in the morning, that is how dirty the carpet was. These things my wife and I could work around but when we started finding bite marks on our bodies and then found FLEAS, yes fleas in the room that was the final straw. We checked out immediately. All I can say is that I am glad that we were not the one paying for the room, the company I work for was, and they have said that they will never book another room from this hotel or its affiliates ever again, same goes for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was one of the dirtiest rooms I've stayed in. As soon as you walked in the door the smell was bad. The carpet was dirty and cobwebs in the bathroom. The bed spread did not smell clean.
I would tell everyone not to stay there.Mold around the bathtub.

Room Tip: Do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelman322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Location:
The Econo Lodge and Suites in Lethbridge is located a little outside the city center in a typical motel/ shop/ fast food area. This motel offers both ordinary rooms and suites. It is recommended to arrive by car. The motel is easy to access from this mainroad. Even is the motel is located close to this road we were not disturbed by traffic noise.

Service:
The service was good and we were well greeted. We got good information about breakfast and admin stuff. The front desk ladies were very helpful and paid good attention to our requests.

Rooms:
The room was spacious and nice. They had discrete and modern furniture and decorations. There was a fridge and a microwave. The room also had two sinks. One in the bathroom corner and one in the separate room with toilet and shower. The room had a modern flat screen tv with a good selection of tv channels. It was possible to open the window and that was good because the aircondition was a little noisy during night time.

Breakfast was regular "motel breakfast".

Surrounding areas:
The hotel is a few minutes drive from downtown. There are plenty of options for food and also some shops in the area. We took a walk in the evening and we felt safe and secure.

We truely recommend the Econo Lodge and Suites in Lethbridge. We have been staying at several motels during our trip and this one felt like above average. We felt we got good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReiseKurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lethbridge hotels
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 20 in Lethbridge
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Lethbridge
Travelodge Lethbridge
#9 of 20 in Lethbridge
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Lethbridge
Super 8 Lethbridge
#14 of 20 in Lethbridge
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn And Suites
Premier Inn And Suites
#10 of 20 in Lethbridge
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Lethbridge
Ramada Lethbridge
#5 of 20 in Lethbridge
367 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lethbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 1124 Mayor Magrath Dr S, Lethbridge, Alberta T1K 2P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Lethbridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Lethbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Housekeeping Award in 2010 & 2011. We offer in room coffee pot, microwave, fridge, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, free in room WIFI. We offer free access to a pool and hot tub within a minutes walk from our establishment. Complimentary continental breakfast with waffles. We are located within walking distance from Henderson Lake, Henderson Golf Course, Japanese Gardens & several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lethbridge
Lethbridge Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing