We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting & eclectic people”

The Penny Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Lethbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Picture Butte
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting & eclectic people”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I've been going to The Penny for years. The coffee, sandwiches and pastries are great (especially the ginger snaps), and it attracts a variety of people. You never know who you'll see there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy Place”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Friendly staff and a warm and cosy atmosphere make the Penny Coffee House a great place to hang out. I've only had a few things to eat and drink here, but the quality was pretty good overall. I did have a hot drink with whipped cream that tasted a bit past its due date, but that was a one-off experience.

The sausage rolls are terrific!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lethbridge's coffee place”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Living in Vancouver, we have a multitude of excellent coffee places to choose from. Penny Coffee House rates with anything we have here at home, in terms of coffee quality, ambience, and service.

In fact, they might surpass our local places in one respect: they use a lid for the take-out cups that has a sliding cover for the opening. My wife - who knows about these things, tells me that this type of lid isn't cheap, and is not often used, for that reason. Good on Penny for taking care of the small details!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“French Press Coffee Heaven”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

You won't get a better cup of french press coffee unless you make it yourself at home. Any bakery choice from their showcase is made from scratch and you can certainly tell by the quality.Also to choose from, many different quality teas, iced drinks and a variety of different coffee variations. Excellent value all around! remember , it is a coffee house, not a full fledged restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agassiz
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is SUCH a good place, wonderful drinks, great baked goodies and scrumptious homemade soups, salads and sandwiches!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Penny Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to The Penny Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing