We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but showing signs of age..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“OK but showing signs of age..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

As s business traveller I stay in this hotel on a regular basis. As time goes by I'm starting no notice that like me this hotel is aging. The smoke free rooms still have that
odor masked by coats of disinfectant, and the paint and decor is showing signs of better
days. The clientelle is usually ( not always ) quiet, so sleep is attainable.Beds are comfortable but the tvs are getting old. I find the pricing comparable to a 3 1/2 star hotel for a 2 1/2 star stay. As an afterthought , the internet, while free, has a weak signal, making for poor connectivity..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    134
    89
    47
    27
See reviews for
111
118
22
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed here two nights. We had asked for a playpen in our room for our infant to sleep in. With the playpen set up the door could not open because of the small size of the room. They didn't help us that night, but the next day the manager moved us to a bigger room which was still very dated, but met our needs.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer Alberta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2008

Stayed here while passing through to Regina on a business trip. The property is clean, though dated. My room had paint peeling on the ceiling of the bathroom and some mold growing under it. I'll mention it to the front desk staff, but other than that the service was friendly and the room was about what I expected for the area. It's not the ritz, but it'll do for a tired traveller.

  • Liked — Service was friendly
  • Disliked — It's dated.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tehsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2008

Hotel was well kept, but old and rooms showed the signs of it. Staff were friendly, breakfast was pretty good. Hotel felt very old, i'd probably look for somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lwu22qq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

Had a decent stay here. Booked a jacuzzi suite for a romantic getaway trip to Calgary. The jacuzzi suites are off the pool so it got quite noisy. The room was pretty good but a little damp and could use a renovation. But the complimentary continental breakfast was very good and the service was also very good.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosox1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliff
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

We ended up staying here on three different occasions. Each time, we got a room with an inside and an outside door. The outside door leading to the car was very convenient since we had to go around town several times a day. The staff at the hotel were very friendly. The housekeepers always said hello and gave you a smile. The front desk was more than happy to help you out with faxing, computers, or just getting around in Medicine Hat. They even held some mail for us that our family had sent even after we left the hotel. The complimentary internet access in all of the rooms was great, it saved us alot of time. They have two pools here, but we never used them. The exercise room had a treadmill and a 4 in 1 weight machine. The rooms were a little small. Everytime that we were there, we had to move the tables and chairs so that we could sit down and watch tv. The rooms come with a refrigerator and an iron. The complimentary breakast was very good, it's the best we've had. There was a selection of fruit, cereals, toast, and other breakfast foods like yogurt. It's a good place to stay if you're not looking for anything fancy.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chemicalguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2005

We were looking for a moderately priced room with a very reputable chain and settled on the Best Western Inn.
The room was clean and comfortable but a little small.
For a hotel stay where you will only be in the room to sleep, shower & change, this hotel will do just fine. Persons with disabilities or reduced mobility should ask for a ground floor room. Access to the second floor appeared to be only by stairs

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beezos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#2 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
#8 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country
Address: 722 Redcliff Drive SW, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1A 5E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
122 rooms including 25 Jacuzzi Suites. Free deluxe continental breakfast, two indoor pools and whirlpools, fitness room, 24hr business centre, free airport shuttle, guest laundry, free parking, in room movie & Nintendo system, fridges in all rooms, microwaves in most, in room coffee, free morning newspaper and free local calls. Close to Shopping, Dinning, Museum, Bowling, Parks, Golfing, Hospital, CFB Suffield and Cypress Hills Provincial Park. Visit us at the intersection of TransCanada Highway & 7th St SW. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sun Country Hotel Medicine Hat
Best Western Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sun Country Medicine Hat, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing