We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a quick stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Calgary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine for a quick stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We booked two rooms, the family suite and a room , over the Labor Day weekend. We were in town to visit friends and needed someplace just to sleep. We liked that Imperial isn't a chain hotel and includes a continental breakfast.
The family suite worked out great as is just off the pool area and the room was just around the corner. The room didn't have AC but it was on the shady side of the building and was quite cool and when I asked at front desk they offered to move me and/or give me a fan.
I took the fan and as we were only around in late evening, it was fine. The young adults enjoyed pool and sauna and continental breakfast saved a few dollars although Tim's is right across the street and Perkins nearby so we only had the hotel breakfast one morning.
The rates were cheap and the room was clean and the service was pleasant...add the bagels and cream cheese and coffee available in the a.m. and I would recommend this as a place to stay for a short visit

Room Tip: Ask for AC unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnoliad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harp N, General Manager at Imperial Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our breakfast,pool, and sauna.
We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    64
    33
    12
    24
See reviews for
51
45
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at the Imperial Motor Inn, Medicine hat, Alberta between 15-20 Aug 12.

We first stayed there in July 2000, and it was nice then. It's a great place to stay. The staff were really helpful and the complementary breakfast was also excellent. We had a room on the 2nd floor, 252. It was lovely, and the noise level (as you get in any hotel) was minimal.

The Hotel is not the Hilton or the Ritz, but it is the Imperial, and I am not deriding it in any way by saying that, and for the price we paid, $76.00 per night, well who can argue with that? You can also use the computer at the front desk for internet access for free!

They have an ice machine, pop machine, a laundromat and a nice pool, hot tub (aka the bubbly bath!!), and sauna. The Hotel also has a very good policy regarding pet dogs.

From the outside the Hotel still looks the same, but I can assure you it's a really nice place to stay. We absolutely loved it, and the staff were top notch, kind and helpful. I could go on and on, but if you go to Medicine Hat, try it for yourself. In my opinion, you won't be disasppointed!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the Hotel are niminally quieter, but the Hotel is off the main road in any case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTrain546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harp N, General Manager at Imperial Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you found our colleagues to be friendly and accommodating and that you chose to spend your week at our hotel. We appreciate all your comments for your stay.We sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Clean rooms, free breakfast and a pool - less than $90/night (booked via internet) - The desk clerk recommends using Booking.com because if something comes up, the motel can refund you at pretty much any point. Situated across from Tim Horton's and so many shopping malls. Great way to break up a long trip on a shoe string budget. The new owners started only this June and it seems so far so good. The staff is great. Very friendly and helpful if a little bit overworked. They manage to make the place feel very homey and welcoming. Everything is a bit worn and dated, but very clean and comfy. Do bring some slippers along as the carpets are very worn. The staff can really do very little to keep them feeling and looking clean. The beds were lovely and they had both soft and firm pillows to pick from. The kidney shaped pool is warm, chlorinated, and deeper than expected (swim goggles and floatation vest would be good for small children). There is a whirlpool attached and a sauna room just behind with change rooms for anyone coming from a room that does not have hallway access. Bring a towel as there are none at the pool. The motel seems to have been built in pieces that don't all attach to the front desk or pool area, but this helps to keep down hallway noise. If you prefer a quieter space, you can escape to a separate sauna and whirlpool just on the other side of the breakfast room. According to the manager it is open to all ages and not just adults. However kids under 12 can't regulate their body temperature in intense heat, and shouldn't be in them for more than 5 minutes at most. Didn't go into the weight room or laundry rooms, but I walked past the doors so they must be there. Fridge and microwave need to share the same plug in, but they are easy to switch and work great. Air conditioning wasn't working on our second stay, but we didn't need it that night. Breakfast room is spacious with good selection of continental mainstays that get replenished right up until 10am so you don't need to rush to breakfast. Kind of a pity that the kitchen isn't being used at all. Late check out was no problem. A great break at a great price.

Room Tip: Chose upper level rooms for extra quiet. Lower levels let you park right in front of your door for e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prairie_Sunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Imperial Motor Inn was clean and comfortable. It is especially suited to dogs, with outside entrances and very little traffic, at least where we were. Nothing fancy but excellent for the price. The only thing that prevents me from giving it a 5 is the continental breakfast. I avoid any grains, so all I could eat was the fruit and the eggs. The eggs were made from powdered and not very nice. Other than that, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AriaDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Good overall experience. Nice room, good service. Laundromat on the premises was an unexpected bonus. Would stay there again. Pricing was reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Blenheim_ONJdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Clean rooms, comfortable beds, wonderful pool area, hot tubs and sauna and excellent hosts. This must have been a 1st class place when it was first built. It has been kept up but doesn't look like much has been done for upgrades -the new owners said they would be doing some renovations to make it look more modern ( we didn't think it needed it). They have a beautifully designed hotel to work with.

A bonus was the simple breakfast = toast, eggs, cereal and fruit and good coffee. Great value. The best experience we have had for the price. We would stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Bottom Line - two dirty rooms and a terrible nights sleep do not equal a great stay or good value.

I happened upon the Imperial Motor Inn after searching for a place to stay in Medicine Hat on my way back to Winnipeg. The generally positive reviews combined with an incredible low price on one of the travel websites led me to select this hotel. What a mistake. The carpets in the first room I was given had not been vacuumed and had deep stains...and a large dead bug on the carpet at the edge of the bed just behind the bedspread. The second room, while cleaner at first glance (there were signs of vacuuming), on closer inspection, there was a half eaten ju-jube between the night stand and the bed...clearly highlighting the not so thorough cleaning job. I slept very poorly that night, hyper aware of anything that might be lurking in the sheets or in the room and a nagging feeling that something might be nibbling at my feet or legs. To be fair, there wasn't anything...but the poor cleanliness of both rooms just left me expecting something.

On the plus side, the front desk clerk was extremely friendly and helpful....first when I had to change rooms (he was extremely apologetic), second when the room keys for the second room did not work (again, very apologetic...and he walked me to the doors to ensure the keys worked), and finally when I brought him the ju-jube from the second room. He indicated that hte owners do not do the cleaning and that they would speak with the cleaning staff. If this is representative of what was advertised as "New Management", there may be some hope that they can keep a reasonable standard of accommodation for this older property. The Wi-Fi worked fine and the continental breakfast was also fine...all the usual fare served in styrofoam and plastic.

I've already highlighted the key downside. The hotel has seen better days. Also, the "hot breakfast" that is advertised is really just a continental breakfast with the addition of scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harp N, General Manager at Imperial Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit. We regret to learn that your experience was less than exceptional and we greatly appreciate your comments and feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay, we are working very hard to keep the hotel clean and an enjoyable place to stay.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Medicine Hat hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
2.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
#8 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Medicine Hat Inn & VLT Lounge
Medicine Hat Inn & VLT Lounge
#10 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
#15 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Motor Inn

Property: Imperial Motor Inn
Address: 3282 13 Ave SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners and management. Imperial Inn is completing major renovations to proved our guest with clean modern facilities. New carpet, bedding, drapes, air conditioning, 35 renovated kitchenettes complete with laminated flooring and full size fridge and stove. We offer hot items in our Breakfast Bar. Fresh coffee served 24 hours. All rooms are equipped with coffee pots, microwaves, fridges, high speed internet and hair blowers. Beefeater Steak House on property.We are walking distance to Tim Horton's, London Drugs, Co-op Market Place, Liquor store, Pizza Hut, Ralph's Texas Bar and Steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Medicine Hat
Imperial Motor Inn Medicine Hat, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing