We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, cheap, solid.”
Review of Imperial Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
North Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean, cheap, solid.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great stay....cheap, clean comfy bed, quiet. Nothing fancy but staying overnight on travel worked out deadly. Free continental breaky was nice touch. I would stay again. Overall I would say this is excellent value for the dollar. The area might seem a little sketchy but all in all a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harp N, General Manager at Imperial Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with the Imperial Inn in Medicine Hat. We pride ourselves on providing a safe, clean, comfortable and affordable place away from home. Your comment on the area being sketchy is confusing. There are no sketchy areas in Medicine Hat and our location is just off the Tans Canada in a mix of residential and commercial shopping district. We have on site one of the best restaurants in Southern Alberta. I hope on your next visit you have the opportunity to experience our beautiful city. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    64
    33
    12
    24
See reviews for
51
45
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night on the May long weekend and found that the new owners have been investing quite heavily in updating the rooms. Very good job on their part. We did experience an issue with the housekeeping not having cleaned completely and that was the only reason we left. We like the place and will try them again as they work through the issues that any new owners face. It is excellent value and a good location. The staff were good people. Give them a try next time you are in Medicine Hat.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harp N, General Manager at Imperial Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with our property. I can rest asure you that the housekeeping dept has been advised and they have taken extra care to ensure this will not happen again. It is with feedback like yours that insures us to provide our guest with a safe, clean and comfortable place to stay. The renovations include, new furniture, paint, new bedding, new carpets the buidling has been painted. Our Breakfast room has added breakfast items in a completed renovated area. We are excited to provide our guests with the new look. We look forward to welcoming you and all guests to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

The staff were very nice and very accommodating.. The room is dated but clean and the linens are very nice... The only complaint I have is that my room was the last one next to the back exit door.. That door does not close properly and if you don't know or care for that matter to close it, anyone can walk into the hallway from the rear parking lot... Which is not a busy high traffic area, and not visible by the front desk... As a woman traveling solo across Canada, security and safety are priority...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Angel866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harp N, General Manager at Imperial Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
I have made the front desk manger aware of your concerns and we agree and we will provide extra care to solo travelers and their security. Since your stay, that room and many others have been renovated with new carpets, furniture and TVs. We hope you have had a wonderful experience traveling accross our beautiful country. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed there on April 6 and 7 for a bowling tournament and had a pleasant experience. Staff were very accommodating and extremely pleasant. Room I had was very clean but could be updated. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. I found the breakfast enjoyable and staff were very quick to clean up to accommodate any new guests that were coming in for the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfnut01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harp N, General Manager at Imperial Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for providing feedback on your stay. I have passed on your positive comments to our hard working staff. Since your stay our rooms have been updated by adding new furniture, carpet and bedding. The new owners are renovating many areas that required updating. We have one of the best indoor pool areas in town and are happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return to our community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Not at all worth the price. The rooms were small and poorly cleaned. There was a sock under one of the beds that was there longer than we were. There were no smoke detectors or fire sprinklers. There were no fitted sheets on the beds. The toilet paper in the bathroom was not replaced before we got there and was almost gone. The bed covers were stained. There was a loud fight at closing time of the bar next door. The doors that open to the outside have handles that unlock the deadbolt and are easy for children to use. This means that if you have kids that are old enough to reach a door handle they can very easily get out of the room.

Room Tip: To choose a good room select a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malthuzian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harp N, General Manager at Imperial Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, We have taken your comments to heart and have advised each dept. Fitted sheets are not standard in any hotel room, we have new bedding in all rooms. Each of our rooms is equiped with smoke and carbon monoxide detectors. The photo shows the doors in the process of being painted, our property is going through major renovations. All rooms on the inside have dead bolts for the saftey off all guests including children. We are sorry that you did not have a postive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Medicine Hat hotels

Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Loved our stay here. Front clerk friendly, Housekeeping staff friendly and very prompt to accommodate. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. It was very clean. Rooms are in need of update but in very clean condition. Curtain liners were holes from sun rotting them away, time for a new ones!
Found the breakfast good although some of our party thought it was just average. I was happy with eggs, bagel and orange for breakfast. Good coffee. Enough to get you kicking in the morning. Initially picked this hotel though here and was a good rate.
On a downside the first night we had about 7 kids total staying on both sides of us. They started at 5:30 am and ran and ran up and down the halls. It really rattled the room. We did phone and complain but by the time we did, we were told quiet time is between 11pm and 7 am. We put up with it quite some time before we phoned. We did enquire if they were staying the second night because our next request would have been to move but thankfully they were moving out that day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rangerpippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harp N, General Manager at Imperial Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
I have passed on your comments to our staff, thank you. I happy to tell you from your comments all our curtians and liners will be replaced. Since your stay our rooms have been renovated, new carpets, furniture and bedding. Additional items have been added to our breakfast bar, five kinds of cereal, pastery, apples, real orange juice all in a newly renovated breakfast area. Your feedback helps us provide a clean comfortable stay for our valuable guests. We look forward to your return to our beautiful community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Motel is old and dated.bed was comfy but bathroom was tiny and old.cut the shower really short..Prob would not stay there again.they definitely need to do a few renos on this place.only paid 90 bucks but still seemed like too much for a place like this

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harp N, General Manager at Imperial Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are please to advise you that renovations have taken place over the winter and all our rooms have had a make over, including new carpets, bedding, furniture and tvs. The new owners are addressing many areas that need TLC. We hope if you are back through our beautiful city you will choose our newly renovated property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
2.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
#8 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Medicine Hat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
#15 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Motor Inn

Property: Imperial Motor Inn
Address: 3282 13 Ave SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners and management. Imperial Inn is completing major renovations to proved our guest with clean modern facilities. New carpet, bedding, drapes, air conditioning, 35 renovated kitchenettes complete with laminated flooring and full size fridge and stove. We offer hot items in our Breakfast Bar. Fresh coffee served 24 hours. All rooms are equipped with coffee pots, microwaves, fridges, high speed internet and hair blowers. Beefeater Steak House on property.We are walking distance to Tim Horton's, London Drugs, Co-op Market Place, Liquor store, Pizza Hut, Ralph's Texas Bar and Steakhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Imperial Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Medicine Hat
Imperial Motor Inn Medicine Hat, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing