We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is in a good location and I had a comfortable stay here. The room I had was spacious and came with the usual amenities including free WiFi. The staff were friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was quite good. Overall, the property is clean, but compared to other properties I've stayed at it looks tired and is overdue for some upgrading.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

The Medicine Hat Lodge is a comfortable stay with good service. They have fresh fruit in the lobby at all times and a great hot continental breakfast. The rooms are spacious, updated, and clean.

The only problem with the room was that the bed sheet kept coming off as they seemed to be a little too small for the size of the mattress.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leeza9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is adjacent to the TransCanada Hwy on the eastern outskirts of Medicine Hat.. There are several interesting attractions in the city but the hotel itself is surrounded by the usual honky-tonk. You will need a car to get around. The hotel has a number of good sized meeting rooms and free WiFi.

The hotel rooms a fairly large and the large bed is comfortable. The rooms offer the usual amenities. The standard bathroom does not have any grab bars to assist people who may need some support. The decor is tired and there were several minor maintenance items that had not been looked after.

The hotel has a large number of rooms overlooking a pool and waterslide. The exterior-facing rooms have small openable windows. The restaurant food is ok and there is a modest complimentary breakfast buffet. In general the staff are very pleasant to deal with.

My sense is that this hotel needs a major updating of both the rooms and the public areas. If this is not done it will have to move down-market to survive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaskatoonWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

No access to outside with no air conditioning so it was sweltering hot with no air flow. To top it off, people were partying all night until kids were playing in pool by 8am. Worst hotel sleep ever! One working elevator made for long waits, but front desk lady was very helpful when needed to go back into room after check out. Coupons for breakfast were good, but there was no bacon, and when we ordered it on side, it tasted microwaved :(
I would not book room near pool and check air conditioner before going to sleep

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andi0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was staying in the Hat/Lodge on 3rd night after upgrading my room the police were called I spent the night in jail, naked from the waist down, broken wrist from being cuffed. The lodge charged me for night in jail and made 2 invoices 2 seperate visa numbers on file. In the morning I was escorted not to hospital but to Sask. (born in Calgary). I was also told never to return when I have family born, living nearby. Interesting note it is illegal to skateboard in Medicine Hat so watch your children. The lodge itself smelt like someone had a bull in the public showers. The elevator stunk of grease and did not work properly. My room was facing west and smelt of cigars. I tried to eat at other restaurants but only 1 available. Manager was obnoxious, felt I was taking advantage of him and facility. I will never ever go back, although embarassed I want all to realize that it sucks......

Room Tip: I would choose something newer - same price.good, I like we think alike ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We usually stay here when we go to Medicine Hat. I called instead of booking online and got the "stay and play" package which includes casino coupons and deluxe free breakfast. This is a very good deal. The staff were accommodating and every one that works there is so friendly. The rooms are older and our window did not work well, but we left a note to make maintenance aware. Beds are good, clean and there was shampoo, conditioner, lotion etc. Now what I thought is a very nice touch is the lemon ice water and fruits across from the front desk. Yes the hallways can use a face lift, but I don`t sleep there.

Room Tip: Call and ask for a package
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaretha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The staff were amazing, and I find that makes or breaks a hotel for me. Room service was awesome. We needed more blankets and pillows and they came to our room in a flash.

My sister and her husband, my mom and dad, and my husband, kids and I had three rooms in a row. I don't think my room was vacuumed or if it was, it was a rush job, and the bathroom tiles looked gross (looked to be old, not dirty), but otherwise it was quite clean. Looking at everyone else's room, which was the same style as ours, everything looked fine, so I think it was just our room.

The pool was really neat, but they really need someone to watch the water slides. They need someone at the pool period. The place is too crowded to have no one there to enforce the rules.

We would stay there again. The price was nice. I suggest booking through the hotel as I am told that is the only way you get the free breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootsnbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#3 of 19 in Medicine Hat
892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
3.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
#10 of 19 in Medicine Hat
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 1051 Ross Glen Dr SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 3T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range: £80 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa is southern Alberta's only four star resort and largest entertainment complex. We are proud to offer a variety of amenities including guest rooms and luxury suites, banquet & meeting facilities, a buffet restaurant, lounges, fine dining, giant indoor water slide park, exercise facility, one of Canada's top spas, a full service casino and so much more! We have something for everyone, all under one roof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino And Spa
Medicine Hat Lodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Hotel
Medicine Hat Resort
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing