We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rickyland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed here for the water park. The room was clean the beds were ok. The food was average in the restaurant. There were a lot of kids birthday parties and busy because it was spring break. the hot tub was not working. This is an average hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here with my wife and kids on a leisure trip. Great room with balcony overlooking the water park. We ordered a "Family Package" that included 1 night, movie, free breakfast buffet, and pizza & pop. This was a very good deal for the price, as we had 3 kids with us and they all received the free breakfast. The kids had a lot of fun in the water park. The food was good (not great), but the buffet breakfast was much better than any continental breakfast. The rooms were clean (except some black marks on the carpet on the balcony), and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only problem I had the whole time was with the movie... It would lag and freeze throughout the movie and made it frustrating to watch. I called the front desk and they sent a handyman up within 10 minutes. He tried his best, but it still didn't work perfectly. We mentioned it a checkout and were told that other guests had the same problem and that they were getting the company to come and fix it.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for a balcony over the water park. Their "Family Package" is a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

My family and I always stay at the Medicine Hat Lodge when we want to spend the night in Medicine Hat. We love the rooms the atmosphere the staff. Everyone is friendly, it's comfortable and the complimentary breakfast is also good. The kids love the water slides. The pool is a comfortable temperature and the hot tub is my favourite spot to relax. They have room options to meet anyone's needs.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicinehatlodge, Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hello Lagasse family.
Thank you for making the Medicine Hat Lodge your hotel of choice, we are always glad to see you and your family. I am pleased to hear that you not only enjoy your visits, but find out deluxe continental buffet enjoyable. We take pride in all our services and it is nice to hear when a guest values those experiences. Congratulations to both your daughters for winning individual silver medals at the Badminton Tournament this weekend.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Sincerely
Steve Batten.
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The stay was for business with a non profit organization where there were pre planning meetings and the convention for three days. There were amenities close by like Safeway, Target and Sobeys who had gluten free items. There was also someone at the hotel that was the contact for gluten free concerns and assistance. I did not eat many meals at this location, found there was lots of potential for cross contamination that most gluten intolerant people are concerned about, when food was presented. The banquet meal had a reasonable selection of food choices for everyone, however one gets tired of being offered fruit as a desert when there is nothing else the hotel is able to offer.
The rooms were spacious and clean. If you are looking for hot water for a bath or shower, the delegates were commenting that it did not happen. I went to the front desk at the end of my stay (should have done it before I was told) and the hotel representative said to come to them sooner.
The service at the front desk, the event planners and the staff who took care of the convention part were very good. They provided the best service possible. The draw to this facility is the water slides and this is appealing to families and sports teams. Good job!
If I was not gluten intolerant, would probably not eat at the Lodge, the buffet had all high carb dishes and the menu had mostly deep fried choices of entrees.
If you come to the casino to gamble, not sure what this facility provides but would like to see a toll free phone number for those with gambling addictions to call.
Move forward points:
Hot water for showers and baths.
De caf coffee offered in the rooms and in the lobby. (It was nice to have this in the lobby)
Better menu selection for heart health and gluten free.

Thank you

Kim

Room Tip: If you have children, the rooms along the pool may appeal to you, but not to those who want sleep. Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were weary travelers coming from Brandon, Manitoba on our way home to BC, and decided to stay in Medicine Hat. Never had a reservation. This place was wonderful right from check in to check out. Just loved it. We even got a hot breakfast the next morning. Loved it, would stay again.

Room Tip: If you have problems walking, ask for a room near the elevators as you may have a ways to walk other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicinehatlodge, General Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hello Weary Traveller,

I can Imagine driving from Brandon MB, to Medicine Hat must have been taxing and I am pleased to know you found your experience at our hotel to be an excellent one! I hope the remainder of your trek went well and we will look forward to seeing you the next time you venture our way again.

Best Wishes,

Jason Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Have had the privilege of staying at the Medicine Hat Lodge, and also to have meals there. It is a great place.

The food is really good in the Jungle Café with a variety of Entrees available as well as a Buffet.

The staff in the restaurant, is fantastic. They make you feel welcome and go out of there way
to ensure you are being well looked after.

On a number of occasions even the Management has come around to Tables asking
if you are being looked after and if everything is satisfactory.

Highly recommend this spot.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank R J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicinehatlodge, General Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hello R J M,

I am pleased you experiences at our property have been positive ones and I will make sure I pass on your comments to our restaurant personnel! Your kind words are greatly appreciated and please feel free to check out our new restaurant changes this 2014 which will see us renovate and expand both our Buffet Restaurant and Steak House!

Take care and we will look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Jason Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We just returned from a three night stay at the Medicine Hat Lodge. We were there for my daughters ringette tournament and we were not alone, the place was packed with ringette players and their families.
In a word this place was Great! It was in a Great location for shopping, eating and travelling to the rinks and getting back on the highway when it was time to leave.
The facilities were also great if you have kids. The pool with water slide was a big hit and the included breakfast was convenient.
The rooms were ok, not great though. Ours was a pet room and seemed a little "worn out" compared to the non pet rooms.

Room Tip: When choosing a room i would suggest avoiding the rooms that face the pool. We had many friends stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medicinehatlodge, General Manager at Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Good Day,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our property and am glad you and your family found your experience “top rate”. However, I regret that you found you room to be simply OK and I appreciate you letting us know as guest feedback is the most efficient way for us to evaluate our services!

I am excited to say we will be finishing our room upgrade project this month and this will specifically target the room type you stayed in. So far we have received very positive comments regarding the room changes and we would be happy to get your opinion the next time you plan to visit Medicine Hat.

Best Wishes,

Jason Fraser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#3 of 19 in Medicine Hat
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Medicine Hat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 1051 Ross Glen Dr SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 3T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Price Range: £76 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa is southern Alberta's only four star resort and largest entertainment complex. We are proud to offer a variety of amenities including guest rooms and luxury suites, banquet & meeting facilities, a buffet restaurant, lounges, fine dining, giant indoor water slide park, exercise facility, one of Canada's top spas, a full service casino and so much more! We have something for everyone, all under one roof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino And Spa
Medicine Hat Lodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Hotel
Medicine Hat Resort
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing