We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50/50”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Reviewed 12 January 2011

This hotel had its good points and its not so good points, but overall, not so bad that we wouldn't stay again.
We decided to take a chance on this hotel after reading the reviews because of the waterpark for the kids, and it did not disapoint! The pool and area were always clean, and the attendants were always on task and easy to talk to with any concerns at all. We had a 10yr old and an 11mt old with us and the waterpark was very enjoyable for everyone.
The first room we stayed in was a standard room, which turned out to be too small for all of us for the 3 days we were going to be there. We spoke to the front desk and had no problem at all getting a suite which suited us better (they let us look first) for the rest of our stay which included an extra night after getting snowed in.
The front desk staff was pretty hit and miss though, none of them were rude, but out of the 3 we encountered only 1 was overall pleasant. The rest got the job done though.
The rooms were kinda rough around the edges and could use some upgrading (some have been already) everything in them seems pretty well worn but still in usable shape. One of our blankets had burn holes in it but the staff replaced it immediately. The fridges and microwaves are new and very clean. Tub looked kinda gross but was clean.
The continental breakfast was fine, there were a few items we chose to steer away from, but there were enough options that no one went hungry at all.
So if you are not looking for anything "top of the line" and aren't really picky then this is a good affordable place to stay, especially if you are going to want something for the kids to do.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2010

I will never recommend anyone to stay at this hotel, as the staff had no class, and full of sass and did not give a care about your stay or your concerns.
After complaining my room was 26 degree on night which was -4 outside and the air conditioning did not work, I was told to open my window. Funny thing was my window did't work and didn't have screen.
I was told maybe for the next nights stay my family should find a different hotel to stay in. Can you believe this....in this day an age.
I wrote a complaint to the Travelodge website about my stay, got an email back stating I wouold recieve a call from the general manager who wants to hear about my experience, well I never recieved this call.
The hotel is old and smells of an old hotel. If you like to wake up to the sound of yourr neighbors flushing the toilet or having a shower you are in luck. If you are looking for a hotel with ZERO customer service and ZERO class for everything else, there this is the right place. My family moved down the street the following night to the Best Western and had an awesome stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We got storm stuck here during the winter of 2010.

They allowed us to have our dog, which was good. The pool and waterslide was sooo much fun.

The guests across the hall were terribly noisy all night , to the point of which i complained to the front desk ( which I dont usually do )

I got a horrible sleep , and complained again when it was time to pay , and they took 20.00 off the cost of the stay.

Close by were a few restarants , and it aws easy to find.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

After a bad experience the night before in Drumheller hotel we very much enjoyed our stay at the Travelodge. We had the pool and waterslide to ourselves and the staff helped us out when we needed it. The rooms weren't bran new but nice none the less, wireless internet, compared to the night before when we couldn't even use the pool or hot tub and no internet and for $35 more.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddnrenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We found the hotel to be clean, the personnel friendly, the rooms clean and the beds comfortable. We had supper in the lounge and had great service and the biggest taco salad we`d ever seen!! Would have liked to have used the hot tub but too many kids in it...perhaps a couple more hot tubs would be a good idea. If you`re looking for golden plated luxury don`t book a Travelodge but if you`re looking for a relatively quiet retreat from the highway the Travelodge is a great place to recouperate!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabycakesHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharkie789, manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2009

Dear guest,

We are so happy that you found a relaxing spot here in Medicine Hat. You are right, that IS a long drive from Manitoba!

We appreciate all of your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you next travel to Alberta!

Best regards,

All the staff and management!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

This used to be a great hotel that I stayed at when I was younger. When business took me back to Medicine Hat, this was the first hotel that I thought of. Strangely enough, the service was better than some 4 or 5 star hotels and resorts that I have stayed in. They were polite, quick to help and overall, amazing.

The hotel itself is stuck in the sixties. Unfortunately there aren't many options in Medicine Hat and this is still one of the better ones. The rooms weren't really all that quiet (trait of all older hotels) but the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were spotless, with an amazing shower!

Don't expect the ritz, but still not all that bad - although they are slightly overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeminiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharkie789, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2009

Sydney,

Thank you for recently voicing your opinion. At the Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, we value your input and find your honest opinion to be a valuable tool to improve our hotel.

We are working on improving out hotel and look forward to having you back in the near future to witness the positive changes in our hotel.

Thank you again, Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I booked this hotel to gain Wydam reward points...this hotel in not in the program. We will not be booking here again. TL needs to re-think there opting out of the program. This hotel is very outdated and is over priced

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt.mr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharkie789, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat in August 2009. We truly take all of your concerns seriously.

Travelodge Hotels and Thriftlodge locations across Canada do not accept Wyndham guest rewards, however, we allow you to "double dip" by earning up to 4000 HBC reward points per stay, as well as 10 points per dollar for Travelodge Guest Rewards.

We hope this gives you something to look forward to during future Travelodge stays within Canada.

We wish you safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
3.4 mi away
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
0.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
#10 of 19 in Medicine Hat
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Medicine Hat
441 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat

Address: 1100 Redcliff Dr SW | Alberta, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1A 5E5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Price Range: £46 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat you will find all 85 of our guest rooms to be clean, confortable and easy on your wallet. We have many amenities to ensure you feel like you are at your "home away from home". From our indoor waterpark with waterslide, hot tub and kiddies wading pool to our buffet breakfast or our extensive menu in the lounge there is something for everyone. We are suited for all your travel requirements from business to teams or just for that special weekend getaway. Our breakfast room serves a flavorful Hot Full Breakfast Buffet daily from 6:30 am to 10:00. Come and relax in the our wonderful lounge, Bar 403 with its amazing patio. Great food, great staff, great patio and great fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Medicine Hat
Travelodge Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Travel Lodge
Medicine Hat Travelodge
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing