We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint friendly motel”
Review of Satellite Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Satellite Motel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint friendly motel”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The satellite motel is a hidden gem for bargain hunters looking for a place to sleep. The owner is super friendly and the rooms were old but super clean and in great condition. I paid $55 for one night vs 110 at other hotels in the hat. Great motel highly recommend if your passing through and looking for a nice inexpensive place to rest.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctowntrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
8
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We arrived in Medicine Hat late on a return trip home from the U.S. We checked Expedia and couldn't find anything for less than 109.00/night -they call it the "Alberta boom". Expedia doesn't list every property so we took a chance and checked it out. Clean, well kept, comfortable beds, affordable (we paid 55.00/night) nothing fancy. The owner/manager is what sets this place apart from the rest. This will become a regular stop each spring for these Snowbirds!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

It is a no frills motel. The owner is pleasant and helpful. The place is clean. Good selection of channels on the television. This is an older establishment and probably does need some updating. The nightly rate is very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Satellite Motel is a great bargain if all you need is a place to sleep. We were passing through Medicine Hat from Saskatchewan to BC and we were perfect content with our room. It was fine for kids, super clean & had a working TV, fridge and good heat/AC. The beds are good enough. ANNND it was $100 cheaper that the Days Inn we stayed in coming the other way. We're not big on people soup pools anyway. Continental breakfast is included but it's...not good. Maybe best to skip it? Oh, and the owner is super friendly and helpful. Save your $ and crash at the Satellite!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaikman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Bad timing to be passing through when the Stampeed was on - all the big hotels were full. We ended up at the Satellite for one night for $65. The room was very clean, beds comfortable, air conditioning worked and the continental breakfast was included. That was all we needed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DJ9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Here for business and only paid $50 plus tax on a weekday night. There is a lot of competition and motels in Medicine Hat so prices are low.
It's quiet too.
You get a microwave and refrigerator.
The bed was a little too firm for my taste.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vegasbuffet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Great beds. Nothing fancy, but cheap, clean & quiet. Fridge and microwave in the room. There's even a BBQ you can use to save more money. PVR with the tv too! Plus a continental breakfast included in the price. Great location too. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shmookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
1.8 mi away
Imperial Motor Inn
Imperial Motor Inn
#11 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
#8 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
#15 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Medicine Hat
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Satellite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satellite Motel

Property: Satellite Motel
Address: 1705 Bomford Cres SW, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1A 5E8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Satellite Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Hotel and Lodging, Renovated Rooms, NEW Beds, Free WiFi, Free Breakfast, Pet Friendly, Full-Service Housekeeping, Weekly/monthly rates, Bus/Truck Parking, Laundry Facilities, Smoking Rooms, barbecue facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Satellite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satellite Motel Medicine Hat, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing