We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for kids!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We only stayed one night on our way to Calgary, but this hotel was exactly what we needed! The breakfast was really good (hot scrambled eggs and cold boiled eggs) and the staff in the breakfast area were very friendly. The waterslide was perfect for a younger child because it did not go into the pool but rather had its own shallow stopping area. That being said, Mom and Dad loved it too! The only negative thing we experienced was in check in. We arrived quite late at night and did not have a reservation. We were given the run around with the rate and my husband told me the desk staff was not very polite about it (I was in the truck so I'm relying in his reporting to me on this).
The room we ended up with was amazing! We had a suite with two rooms and two king beds as well as a sofa bed. It was more than we needed, but would be great for a family.

All in all it was a great stay, and the only reason I did not give 5/5 was because of the check-in.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank run2live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    75
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
72
32
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed at this newer hotel for three nights. It is just off the Trans-Canada Hwy & has a brand new retail development within walking distance. The latter has all necessities incl grocery, restaurants, liquor, a huge Walmart, etc.

Decent value for a room with 2 queen beds & kitchen. It looked nice, was clean & quiet. No in-room safe to secure valuables though; something I think should be standard with these larger hotel chains. Lamp shades were pretty wobbly (something I always seem to notice) they should be repaired or replaced. The free continental breakfast was noteworthy & had a few little extras. In my opinion, hotel housekeeping & kitchen staff did an outstanding job!

On the negative side, was surprised to discover my credit card was charged full amount (three nights) when the room was booked online... one month before the trip! Not cool; something InterContinental Hotels Group (IHG) should iron-out. That aside, I would recommend and/or stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwimBikeRun_RMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penclawdd, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is one of the nicest Holiday Inn Expresses that I have stayed in. The rooms are bigger than European standard rooms that I am used to and equipped with a microwave and fridge.
Breakfast changes on a daily basis, on about a 3 day cycle. All staff were friendly, in the restaurant, on reception and the cleaning staff.
The only downside was the size of the gym. I've stayed in many Holiday Inn Expresses that don’t have a gym, so although on the small side, it was welcome to see one.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tym H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We had to pay over 200.00plus tax for a King sized bed. (NOT a suite.) The staff was very friendly and the location was good. It was also clean which is a plus. But overall very overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bidcoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlene C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Medicine Hat. I am unable to check the dates of your stay without your name information. Our rates do fluctuate with the demand in the city. You may have stayed with us during a time that was very busy. I appreciate the feedback on our property and am happy you were pleased with the cleanliness, breakfast and our staff. Should you like to discuss this further please call the property to see if you received any discounts that were applicable at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great hotel and Excellent room. Pool area was great and there was a lifeguard as well. Highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Had a suite and it was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifeisgood456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I like staying at the holiday inn. The staff are quite friendly, the breakfast was very good and most importantly the rooms were quiet, clean and spacious. The location is also quite close to dining and shopping. One thing that does concern me though is the price of the rooms. They are costly for a property like this and to be honest I think it is at least 30% too high. There are other new-ish hotels very close by which are far less expensive which may make me consider my options in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slidebite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Several times we have stayed at the Holiday inn express in Medicine Hat. We have three children and have found the hotel to be very accommodating to us as a family.

Key points for us is the cleanliness of the entire facility, especially the rooms. Secondly the breakfast is enjoyable and a perfect setup for us. We have not always used the waterslide and pool, but the times we have it is a lot of fun (but a little cold)

Our last trip was December 17th and the staff was very accommodating with setup of two real cribs, provided by the hotel. This was a nice surprise as most hotels only have the "pack and play's".

For the area it’s probably on the higher end of $, but for consistently providing a nice stay we have not looked elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cold_Calgarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
0.2 mi away
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#3 of 19 in Medicine Hat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
Travelodge Hotel Medicine Hat
#15 of 19 in Medicine Hat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat
Address: 9 Strachan Bay SE, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 4Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Medicine Hat
#4 Business Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Medicine Hat Alberta s newest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites.. You will find comfort and modern luxury at one of the most convenient locations in Medicine Hat. Located just off the Trans Canada Hwy #1 across from the Medicine Hat Mall and only 5 minutes from the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede grounds. You are within easy walking distance from the brand new Southland Crossing shopping and dining area. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Medicine Hat is 10 minutes from Medicine Hat's Historic Clay District and Medicine Hat's newest golf course, Desert Blume. Enjoy a swim in our crystal-clear pool, blast down our water slide, or relax in our whirlpool. Burn some energy in our fitness center and help melt the stress away. When it s time to get connected we know what you need high-speed wired and wireless Internet, cable, sports and movie channels. Start your day with our complimentary Express Start hot breakfast, with 57 different items and now 2 hot items each day. From standard rooms to kitchenettes to executive Jacuzzi rooms, KidSuites and our Deluxe Southland Suite-with a board room, we can accommodate any traveler s needs visiting Medicine Hat, Alberta! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Medicine Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Medicine Hat Hotel Medicine Hat
Holiday Inn Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Medicine Hat
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Medicine Hat Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing