We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of small perks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Home Inn Express Medicine Hat
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Medicine Hat
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lots of small perks!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Older, but clean, comfy bed and it's the small extras that made our stay wonderful. Very fresh baked cookies for the taking in the lobby (so yum!) and iced tea, tea, and coffee - 24/7. Then the continental breakfast room in the morning had paper bags to take our breakfast (and snacks for the day) with us! Again the pastries and muffins were fresh and yummy, you could make toast, had juice boxes to go, granola bars, and apples/oranges. The front staff were friendly and helpful. We will stop here again - with our CAA discount, it was an affordable and comfy travel stop!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal M, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear LoisWinnipeg,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our cookies and our 'To Go' breakfast. Hopefully we will have you stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Crystal Mytton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    167
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
174
148
36
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I arrive later in the evening and upon check in was told I didn't change my room reservation. The girl kept insisting I didn't call. They said they could put me in a smoking room. I said that's not acceptable. It did teach me to take a name when making changes. I am sure she still would try and fight me. Disappointing. I will not be staying here any time soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank articusblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal M, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Articusblue,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept my apologies that we were unable to provide a non-smoking room for yourself. We very seldom have any discrepancies with changes to guest reservations. If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me at the hotel at (403)527-1749. I would be happy to speak with you.

Sincerely,
Crystal Mytton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
320 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Not having stayed in a Motel 6 for many years, I didn't expect much from this one. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that it was fairly competitive with brands that are generally perceived to be a bit higher-end. Our room was somewhat cramped: It had only one bedside table, and limited place to hang clothes. The towels were also quite skimpy. More important, however, the room was was fresh and clean. The motel's location is right across from a shopping mall, so you won't be finding great views from your window (our room looked out on Honda dealership), but it's conveniently close to Highway 1, and within a brief walk to Medicine Hat's vastly over-rated but #1 (Thai) restaurant.

The included breakfast was minimal at best - muffins, toast, cold cereal, and fruit. There's no place to eat in that area, so the breakfast is "take-out" to whatever location you find more appealing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganBanjoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal M, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear MichiganBanjoMan,

Thank you for leaving us your comments and feedback. We are happy to welcome you back to the Motel 6 brand and are glad that you found our location convenient for your stay! We hope to have you stay with us again next time you are in Medicine Hat.

Sincerely,
Crystal Mytton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Like a breath of fresh air. Our small but perfect little room was just what we needed for our three night stay in Medicine Hat. Exceptionally clean! Always fresh coffee in lobby, and nice to go breakfast ( toast and muffins coffee and juice) we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal M, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Skovie,

Thank you for leaving us your wonderful feedback! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room and our 'To Go' breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Crystal Mytton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here for one night on July 2, 2014.
There are a lot of conveniences to this property. Firstly, the price! Which is very reasonable and includes a take and go to your room/road continental breakfast. They also have coffee and ice tea available 24 hours a day which is especially nice for early risers like me.
Secondly, it is easy to find off the Trans Canada Highway # 1 which was my mode of travel the next day to Calgary
The room was very quaint in size and utilitarian as I titled this review. I happened to luck out as Wednesday was customer appreciation night and i obtained a free beer in room 113 between 5-7 P.M.
I would stay again at this motel if traveling through Medicine Hat!.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal M, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear PaulTing,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to visit our Guest Appreciation! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Sincerely,
Crystal Mytton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. We had family of 6. We got adjoining rooms. The rooms were small but clean. Front desk friendly. I didn't see a continnental breakfast but we were all given water when were checking out, which eas nice. Nice for the price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal M, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Dawn C,

We appreciate your comments regarding your family's recent stay with us. It's so nice to hear that you found our hotel to be a good choice for your family. We offer our 'To Go' breakfast every morning from 6am to 10am. It is located on the first floor not far from our lobby area. We hope to have you and your family stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Crystal Mytton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Past experiences with motel 6 lodgings have been less than satisfactory. It appears that the company is making great strides in providing a budget-priced motel that is clean, very modern, great service, good continental breakfast, quality amenities, etc. the only thing missing from room was a coffee maker which is no problem because coffee is always available in the lobby. I was truly pleased with the room and cleanliness and how modern it was. Definitely worthy of a 5 star rating. RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrandstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal M, General Manager at Home Inn Express Medicine Hat, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Thegrandstan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay at the Motel 6 Medicine Hat. We were very happy to hear that you had a great experience at our hotel! We look forward to having you stay with us again and hope that your next stay is even better.

Sincerely,
Crystal Mytton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Medicine Hat hotels
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Medicine Hat
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Medicine Hat
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Medicine Hat
Days Inn Medicine Hat
#3 of 19 in Medicine Hat
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Medicine Hat Lodge Resort, Casino & Spa
3.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
3.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
Ramada Limited Medicine Hat
#8 of 19 in Medicine Hat
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Inn Express Medicine Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Inn Express Medicine Hat

Property: Home Inn Express Medicine Hat
Address: 20 Strachan Crt SE | Highway 1 at Dunmore Road, Medicine Hat, Alberta T1B 4R7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Medicine Hat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Medicine Hat
#3 Family Hotel in Medicine Hat
#5 Business Hotel in Medicine Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Home Inn Express Medicine Hat 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Home Inn Express Medicine Hat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Medicine Hat Hotel Medicine Hat
Motel Six Medicine Hat
Medicine Hat Motel Six
Medicine Hat Motel 6
Home Inn Express Medicine Hat Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing