We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our room card did not work and even after changing out...”

Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Reviewed 30 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojoreddeer, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojoreddeer, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Landed in Calgary by plane so going to Edmonton, too tired, stopped at Howard Johnson, boy!
boy! what a dirty room, hallway dirty, smelled like Pee and had dog hair on sheet, bathroom.
Read the reviews and it seemed,... but when came to motel, it was the ditiest motel ever been,
seems all reviews are done by owners. Came to front desk to check out and waited over 10min. and no one was there, got upset and left the motel.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms on 2nd building at the far end. Dity, smelly rooms and hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Rooms were large, clean and comfortable! Had a great sleep and found the staff very warm and friendly. Breakfast was ideal. Location was great. All in all a great place to bed down for the night - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stopped here with my family for the night and found the staff and particularl the manager to be warm, welcoming and so friendly. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast the next morning was plentyfulband set us on our way for the day. Would recommend to anyvweary traveller.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I obviously didn't get one of the renovated rooms.At first I was given a room that had not beed cleaned. The guy at the desk commented, when he was activating my room key, that the computer said it wasn't but everything else said it was, so hopefully... It wasn't. Went back, and he immediately apologized, and gave me a new room. It was reasonably clean. The bathroom was spotless, although the baseboards in the main room could have used a vaccuum. The carpet was also very old, and stained. Didn't really want to walk on it bare foot.
My 2nd night there, it was hot, so I turned on the air conditioning, and made it about 10 minutes before I had to shut it off, it was so loud. Sounded like a plane taking off. Definitely wasn't able to sleep with it, so I just had to throw off all the blankets.

Beside the parking lot where I parked (below my room) there was a dumpster, that had obvious signs of a homeless person living there (a line strung up, with clothes hanging on it), which I found a little disconcerting, and definitely caused me to not go out to my car to grab something I needed at night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites City Centre
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Red Deer
0.4 mi away
Days Inn - Red Deer
Days Inn - Red Deer
#8 of 29 in Red Deer
543 reviews
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Red Deer City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer

Address: 37557 Hwy 2 South | 71 Gasoline Alley East, Red Deer, Alberta T4E 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Price Range: £40 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to provide the BEST VALUE in accommodations in Red Deer. Our rates are very competitive, and includes a free breakfast, free wi-fi internet access, free local calls, and Wyndham Reward points. We have recently had substantial renovations to our lobby and our rooms have also been upgraded. We strive to provide the best in Value and Service to all our guests. We would like to be your hotel of choice so give us a try - you will be pleasantly surprised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Red Deer Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing