We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First & Last time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2008

We stayed at hotel with my 9 year olds sports team and families. We selected the hotel because it had a pool & water slide. The pool is very small (similar to a backyard pool) and the water slide is very small as well. Because the pool is so small kids coming down the slide were running into other kids. We pulled our entire group out of the pool fearing a serious injury.

The hotel has had a recent facelift inside and rooms were very comfortable.
I travel a lot on business and this is the 1st time in 20 years that I have been asked to sign a damage waiver while checking into the hotel. One family had their 70 year old grandparents staying in a room. Before they would let them check out one of the staff went and inspected their room for damage...very insulting.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matata5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2007

We had blocked a group of rooms for our team at the Holiday Inn Express - Red Deer. The reservation manager was courtious and efficient. She followed through with all of our requests without a glitch. We were all placed on the same floor near all of out other team members.
All the staff was very responsive and courtious to all of our needs. They allowed us to use their lobby for a pizza party (they were even as nice as to take the pizza boxes to the garbabge for us!)
The rooms were exceptionally clean. We loved the bedding (which looked brand new, and the beds were super comfy!).
Upon check out the staff was delightfully thoughtful. They asked us how our stay was, and we told them we would definatly stay here/refer this hotel to everyone we knew.
I would highly recommend this hotel for any group. Two thumbs WAY up!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank soccormom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Red Deer July 8 and 9. I booked online but confirmed over the phone. We asked for adjoining rooms or rooms beside each other. At check in they were not able to provide us with these.

We arrived approx. 3:30 to be told our rooms were not ready so we decided to spend some time visiting family. We were not told why the rooms were not ready at such a late time.

We were also not told that the hotel was under major construction. Before swimming at the hotel pool, we asked if the pool was open and they told us yet, but when we all arrived to swim they said, "sorry it's closed" They did pay for us all to swim at the rec centre in Red Deer though, but it was an inconvience to pack up and head over there.

I think all in all this is probably a poor two star hotel and you would be worthwhile checking out a newer hotel in Red Deer. The hotel management should be letting people know that their hotel is under major construction, or at least be offering discounts to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JamieMarieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Olds, Alberta
112
Reviewed 6 May 2005

We stayed in this hotel one winters night when the roads were too treacherous to continue travel onto our destination in Edmonton. The room was nice, but VERY loud! We could hear the people above us coughing and walking around almost as if they were in our room. People were constantly trampling up and down the hall ways and that sounded like they were walking right through your room. We were awoken at three in the morning when noisey people were walking through the hallway and talking. Our room had a window that you could look into the "health club", I thought this was strange. I didn't use it for this reason, who wants people watching them while they are working out!? When staff asked us how our stay was and we said "too noisey", they did not feel the need to ask how they could correct our unhappiness! Overall, we will NEVER stay in a Holiday Inn Express ever again, nor will we ever give a Holiday Inn a shot either! Holiday Inn really dropped the ball with this one!! You pay too much money for a what they offer!

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2004

The rooms are nice and clean and they have wireless internet which is nice. Good Breakfast. THe Pool and Hottub are right at the front of the hotel by the lobby with a glass wall. If you sit in the hot tub your nice bod is on display for people checking in. The pool area also semed a little unkept.

2  Thank Family_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2004

My son's hockey team (7 and 8 year olds) stayed at this hotel while we were in Red Deer for a tournament. We, the parents, found the staff to be unprofessional and unresponsive to our needs. From check-in to check-out they were completely discourteous, after complaining to management we were told we were welcome to checkout if we were not happy and they would be kind enough not to charge us a cancellation fee. We have stayed at this hotel before with no problems, unfortunately the 14 families involved with this stay will never stay in a Holiday Inn again. It would be my recommendation, that if you are in a group to check with the hotel before booking to clarify how accommadating they plan on being.

14  Thank robbielou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South
3.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
#3 of 29 in Red Deer
955 reviews
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer North
0.9 mi away
Days Inn - Red Deer
Days Inn - Red Deer
#10 of 29 in Red Deer
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Red Deer

Address: 2803 50th Avenue, Red Deer, Alberta T4R 1H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Red Deer
#6 Family Hotel in Red Deer
Price Range: £62 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Red Deer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Is The Number One Choice Among Red Deer, Alberta Hotels For a comfortable stay at a central location, visit the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Red Deer, Alberta. Our hotel's location is halfway between Edmonton and Calgary off of Highway 2, making it easier to travel to and from the surrounding cities. Leisure guests will benefit from our location just minutes from many area golf courses, the Matchbox Theater and the many shopping options at Bower Place Shopping Center, South Point Common and downtown Red Deer. Lodging here also puts you just minutes from Westerner Park, Bower Ponds, Discovery Canyon Park and Heritage Ranch, which offer numerous activities throughout the year. Business travelers enjoy being in close proximity to Trican, Focus Corporation, Nova Chemicals, BJ Services, Telus, Canadian Tire and other businesses in downtown Red Deer. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour business centre with copying, faxing and printing services available. With our free Express Start hot breakfast bar, saltwater pool with a water slide, sauna, hot tub, private courtyard, car plug-ins and a 24-hour fitness centre, our hotel in Red Deer offers the amenities you need and want. Rooms feature a work area with free high-speed, wireless Internet access, triple-sheeted beds, a microwave and a fridge. Our Red Deer, Alberta hotel's staff eagerly await your next visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer Hotel Red Deer
Holiday Inn Red Deer
Red Deer Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing