We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Knight Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Knight Inn
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Certificate of Excellence
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel has a beautiful lobby - great restaurant and food. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean, but could use some updating.

Not cheap - but average for a good hotel in this city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kraut_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    45
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
22
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I've stayed in a number of Red Deer hotels and this has been the best for me. The room I had was clean, quiet and not exceptionally dry, as so many hotels are in the winter. (They do humidify - I asked about it.)

The buffet I've had more than once (and have taken customers there too). It has excellently prepared food and is good value.

I used the hot tub this visit and found it clean and hot - as it should be.

I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vdberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I did some work for a client in Red Deer, and they agreed to make hotel reservations for me. I tend to prefer to stay at chains as you know what to expect and are ensured a basic level of service and quality.
I drove up and was a little worried. The hotel is not new, and I was thinking the rooms, bed, furniture, etc would be the same. The front desk staff were friendly, got me checked in and on my way in no time at all. I could not believe the size of the room when I got in there. I had only one bed, and it looked like the room needed another one. There was some furniture in there, but it certainly could have been better furnished (not that my needs that stay needed it).
I was very surprised that the rooms were so well updated. New TVs & furniture, a very comfortable bed. Shower and bathroom were clean and updated. I slept quite well and had no issues at all.
I had colleagues stop by the next morning for a meeting, afterwards they used the restaurant without me there and experienced terrible service. With their comments I would be choosing another of the many restaurants nearby. The hotel is located in a great spot, close to shopping, restaurants, Westerner Grounds, and easy to get in and out of the city with easy access to the QE2 right there.
Would not hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ft_Garry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We were in Red Deer for a wedding. it's not a very big place but we still managed to have a great time. The hotel is right on the main strip inn Red Deer so you can miss it. There is a great restaurant in the hotel and the pool is well maintained. No big slides but still so much fun. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. The hotel could use some updates but over we had a great time. The staff is also very helpful and friendly. Can't really beat the price either.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ern678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed at th Black Knight Inn for two nights while attending a conference in Red Deer. The hotel was passable - it was clean. But that's about all I can say. Facilities were not oustanding. Hotel rooms were dated. I would pick a newer hotel in Red Deer for probably close to the same rate.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

We had to stay overnight in Red Deer because of the poor weather conditions on the way to Canmore. After checking out a few hotels in the area, we decided on the Black Knight and were not disappointed. The hotel felt cozy and inviting right from the lobby (I am sure the fact that it was -25 C outside had something to do with that too!). We were greeted by a friendly front desk lady who patiently answered all my questions. The room was large, the bathroom was removated, and we were also pleasantly suprised by a 40" flat screen LG TV. There was a bit of a strange rumbling noise when I turned on water in the shower, and the thermostat did not seem to respond well to my adjustments (the room was actually almost too warm, although it was freezing cold outside).
We also thought the hot buffet dinner at the hotel's restaurant was fine for the price ($18 per adult), with a large variety of salads, two choices of soup, roast beef, chicken and ginger beef with a few sides.
I would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scythian41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

the staff here is excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Food was great. And the pool and hot tub is alot nicer than most hotels. I was however very offended that all the christmas decorations were up before rememberance day. Two words. Tacky, and rude. It is beatifully done but for a nice of a hotel as this one i wonder why most of the decorations are so old like the same ones have been used for 20 years. There is just to many. I really hate saying its ugly cause there was obviously alot of work put into it. But it is ugly. I was also disapointed that there is not any in room movies anymore. I slept on the third floor and i wish i brought a air mattress because i slept on the floor. Which was far more comfy than the so called. I wont stay here again untill either the rates are reduced. Or major renovations are done

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stealmyfate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
#2 of 29 in Red Deer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
#9 of 29 in Red Deer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Knight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Knight Inn

Property: Black Knight Inn
Address: 2929 50 Ave, Red Deer, Alberta T4R 1H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Red Deer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Knight Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated independent full service hotel. Comfortable, Elegant, friendly home away from home element as soon as you walk through the doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Knight Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Knight Hotel Red Deer
Black Knight Inn Red Deer, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing