We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for business meetings”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Knight Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Knight Inn
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great for business meetings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I used this hotel as a venue for business related meetings over two days.
The rooms themselves are average, but as a meeting venue this hotel is great. The staff were exceptionally accommodating and took care of our every need. We had food provided (breakfast, lunch and supper) and it was well prepared, tasty and hot! (the food in the bar/restaurant downstairs is also very good).
We had looked at using other venues, albeit in Banff and Jasper, but this location was much cheaper and they truly delivered on service. I was very impressed and would definitely use this venue again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreckingLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CV_SASTRY, Manager at Black Knight Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Respected Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. Red Deer hotels def. are bit cheaper than the hotels in Edmonton, Calgary, Banff and Jasper and we always strive to provide the best service to all our guests.
I am glad that your group were happy with the hotel services and we would def. love to have your group back with us. I would also like to thank you for adding your comments about the food served in our banquets and in our restaurants.
with regards,
CV Sastry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    45
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
22
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I went there last month for a business trip. The hotel is well located. It is convenient - by a mall and several restaurants. Nothing to fancy but well maintained and cleaned. My bed was actually confortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelandK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CV_SASTRY, Manager at Black Knight Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the review of our hotel. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel.We look forward to see you back at our hotel and improve our ratings with you on your next stay with us.
regards,
CV Sastry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stay there when we visit Red Deer because it's one of the nicer hotels. They have a whirlpool tub and swimming facilities. It's clean.

Overall, the hotel is average. Decent, clean, good food, quiet. The bed is comfy.

The buffet is on Sunday, so if you don't have time to stand in line make sure to use room service. It's fast.

One warning... Be careful of the slippery floors by the whirlpool. My wife broke her arm there a few years back when she slipped and fell. The staff member at the front desk at the time was dismissive about it, but the next week a manager contacted us, She sent flowers and gave us a free stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWAB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CV_SASTRY, Manager at Black Knight Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for writing a review of our hotel. As you mentioned, we do have a hot tub and as most places, it does get slippery when wet. We do have signs posted as well to make sure that our guests are also aware of the fact.
I am glad though that we could get your business again at our hotel despite the accident that occurred on your last visit to our hotel. Also, as you mentioned , we do have Sunday Brunch and Lunch buffet throughout the week for which we have won numerous awards in the city. Due to this, our Sunday brunch can get a bit busy though we also take reservations to ensure prompt service to guests who might be in a time crunch. As you said , Room service is also a fast option and I am glad that you mentioned that as well in your review.
Once more thanks for taking time to review our hotel.
regards,
CV Sastry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We came here for a graduation dinner at the Black Knight inn. Though I am from the city, I have not been to this place for a long time. I had heard about their lounge but did not know much about the other parts of the hotel. It is a really beautiful hotel which seems to have got a facelift over the years.
The dinner was great and the staff were very attentive and friendly. I had some special requests for our dinner and they took care of it although we had not informed them earlier. I have been to other hotels/restaurant and the city and I receive a lukewarm response usually when I mention about my allergies request. The black knight inn was a different experience. The Manager not only changed my meal, but he also substituted my salads and dessert to accommodate my request on the short notice. The staff were very humble and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darryl n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CV_SASTRY, Manager at Black Knight Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Respected Mr. Darryl,
Thank you very much for this kind review. We have been renovating our hotel and we are very close to finish all our upgrades to make the stay of all our guests more comfortable ,
We also appreciate your comments on the service you got on your recent visit to our hotel. Reviews such as yours not only motivates us but also gives other guests a insight into our hotel. We really appreciate your kind words and we look forward to take care of you again at our hotel soon.
regards,
CV Sastry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is an older hotel that I haven't stayed at for a number of years. Most of the conferences I go to are in another hotel close by but it was booked solid. The last time I stayed here it was dated, run down and in need of a big refresh. I am happy to report that it has since undergone (and there is still some going on) upgrades and modernization. The rooms were quite appealing and the bed was very comfy. I also got a meal coupon for $25 so that is better than the breakfast buffets you get at the newer self serve hotels. Really wanted to try the pool as it is in a separate building and is quite big.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CV_SASTRY, Manager at Black Knight Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review for our hotel. I am glad that you appreciated the changes we have made since your last visit to our hotel. As you mentioned, we are one of the oldest hotel in Red Deer and have been serving in Red Deer for over 35 years. With our makeover, we have received a lot of positive feedbacks from all our guests including from you, and we are pleased that our efforts are being noticed.
As you mentioned, we do not want to limit our guest just to complimentary Breakfast as most hotel do and we wanted to offer them $ 25 credit towards the Food and beverage ( it can be a lunch, dinner or a few drinks ). Ultimately our goal is to take care of our guests and their needs and we are glad that we could do so on your recent visit to our hotel.
Once again, thanks for your positive review.
regards,
CV Sastry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have been coming to Red Deer for an annual conference for the last 19 years, and will continue into the future. In the early years, it seemed the breakfast room was full of conference attendees. Over the years as the hotel aged and new hotels went up the crowd diminished. This was one of my first years back to Black Knight Inn and I was impressed with the updating and renovations. Having a mini-fridge is a wonderful convenience. The rooms are clean and updated and the bed extremely comfortable. The parking is convenient and the staff are excellent.
My colleague and I opted both days for the hot breakfast buffet for speed and convenience, and the selection of fresh squeezed orange juice, bacon & eggs, and abundance of fresh fruit was wonderful. However, the price was outlandish and the reason other conference attendees do not frequent Black Knight Inn as readily as before. Other hotels in town offer a hot breakfast buffet with the cost of the room. Perhaps a group discount in the restaurant would cause me and other attendees to consider coming back annually. This is the only drawback in an otherwise, wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CV_SASTRY, Manager at Black Knight Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your positive review of our hotel. As you mentioned , we have done many upgrades to our rooms and our hotel to better suit our guest's need. Also, you mentioned about the breakfast being included in the hotel rooms itself.
For all our guest's who pay our regular guest's rate ( including the corporate rates ), we actually also provide a $25 Food & Beverage credit which can be applied towards your meal or beverages and which we found is more beneficial to the guest than just a breakfast coupon. Now, if the guest's room rate is already discounted though through their booking agents or third party reservation company, we are not able to provide the credit in that case, since we apply part of the discount directly to the room rates then.
On your next visit to Red Deer, please do give us another chance by booking directly to us and you will get a preferred rate apart from getting the $ 25 credit. Once more, thanks for your kind review and we look forward to take care of you again at our hotel.
Regards,
CV Sastry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

On our recent meeting at Black Knight Inn I was highly impressed with the excellent service provided. There was a power surge during the meeting and the immediate quick response of the staff was lighting up the conference room with candles. The Manager in particular was very professional in handling the situation and also offered to serve lunch ahead of time to save the our time during the outage in order to cover up for the meeting time later.

On my previous visit I had a bad experience whereby it was handled poorly and the other Manager was being rude and yelling at his staff. I had spoken to the catering team about the incident and this time I have clearly seen the difference.

A vast change was noticed this time with a positive attention to our expectations.

Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 162Mathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CV_SASTRY, Manager at Black Knight Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Respected Mr. Mathew,
Thank you for this review. We do take feedbacks from our guests seriously and try our best to resolve any concerns that they may have encountered on their visit to our hotel. I am glad that you had a very good experience in spite of the power outage we had in Red Deer that particular day.
Our Manager's and staff do try their best to provide the best service to all our guest's and if we do encounter any issues in providing smooth service , to provide the best possible solutions to our guests.
Your feedback is definitively positive and motivates us to keep providing our best service to all our guests. Once again, thank you for your kind review of our hotel.
with regards,
CV Sastry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
#2 of 29 in Red Deer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
#9 of 29 in Red Deer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Knight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Knight Inn

Property: Black Knight Inn
Address: 2929 50 Ave, Red Deer, Alberta T4R 1H1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Red Deer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Knight Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated independent full service hotel. Comfortable, Elegant, friendly home away from home element as soon as you walk through the doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Knight Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Knight Hotel Red Deer
Black Knight Inn Red Deer, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing