We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dance competition”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dance competition”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just spent 4 nights for a Dance competition and had a great stay. Rooms seemed to be updated although we had an old style TV. Very accommodating and polite staff. Really good hotel for groups. Dining was open until 10 which works when you are on a variable schedule. Morning buffet was very convenient and had a good variety. Probably only complaint was food was average both in the restaurant and especially in the buffet. Have stayed in other years and I was always impressed with the quality of the morning buffet but this year dissappointed. Given it was included with my stay it would not stop me staying here again. Heating cooling unit worked great in our room and was fairly quiet

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor courtyard double room it was lovely. The suites are nice but very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnnJ142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
JoAnnJ142,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to the Red Deer Lodge Hotel. The Courtyard rooms did get updated in 2009 with furniture with the exception of the TV's in the guest rooms. We do have a few rooms with flat screens and are working towards getting the rest of the rooms completed. I do apologize the food this year was less impressive from your previous stays. Without more details on what was missing, it is difficult for our culinary team to propose changes. We appreciate your business and would love the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    126
    96
    66
    33
See reviews for
157
64
19
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary AB
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed two nights for a small conference, Friday & Saturday nights. Lots of parents with young children in the pool meant the restaurant / atrium was a noisy place. The frequently refreshed buffet allowed a wide choice at most meals and service was good and servers friendly.

My sixth floor non-smoking tower room was quiet compared to the atrium rooms but suffered from older mechanical equipment noise and noisy people at the elevator (my room was next to the elevators). On arriving the room smelled of chemical air freshener, resolved by opening the window. The hotel emphasizes 'green' living and encourages recycling and minimizing staff action if it isn't needed. The room itself was comfortable and well equipped but is showing its age - loose power outlets (dangerous!), noisy ventilation and HVAC equipment, bathroom fixtures showing wear and tear with regular usage. Internet service is free (wifi and wired) in the rooms and meeting rooms, but my computer gave dire warnings about insecure public service; I had to over-ride 'safety' settings if I wanted to use the service. This just after the Heartbleed incident!

The hotel accommodates smokers and welcomes pets - but keeps them on separate floors from non-smokers & non-pet owners. Good policy!

Our conference room was well equipped and serviced with refreshments; again internet access was available and included (or 'free?'). Meeting rooms were locked when not in use, so security was reasonable.

Room Tip: Tower, away from the elevators. Make sure you ask for what you want re: pets, smoking, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryMark42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
CalgaryMark42,

We appreciate all our guests and the feedback they provide and I want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Red Deer Lodge Hotel. The Tower area tends to be the quieter floors as it is away from the pool area which is well attended by our younger guests especially on weekends. The Tower rooms do contain furniture older than the Courtyard rooms that were renovated in 2009 and the Housekeeping team work to keep the product as clean as possible. Our Maintenance team does complete visual inspections of the rooms and since we do not have a room number, I am confident they locate the loose power outlet and repair or replace it. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when you are travelling in the Red Deer area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our hockey team stayed here a few weeks ago. We checked in a night before the rest of the team and were woken at 7:15am to loud construction on the roof above our room (jackhammers) . Management dealt with It great and made sure that the rest of that weekend they were working on the roof later.

Breakfast that were included for our team were fantastic, Great variety at the buffet. We also rented a social room for our team to use on the Friday and Saturday night. A defiant must do for any team coming. Great for a place to all socialize.

The rooms are outdated for sure and defiantly need to be updated with new TV's. Also bedding sucked as the fitted bottom sheets are not deep enough so the first morning our sheets were off of the bed. Housekeeping tried to help find something but in the long run we just took the flat sheet and turned it the wrong way to we could tuck it in better and that worked for us. Rooms were clean upon arrival and house keeping were very friendly

Room Tip: Rooms in the courtyard facing the pool are very warm, rooms facing outside were cool according to te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alitrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
alitrem,

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent visit to the Red Deer Lodge Hotel. We value our guest's comments and views. It provides opportunity for us to review processes or procedures. I do apologize for the early morning wake up disruption. There was a miscommunication with the contractors on the allowed start time for noise. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the ability to meet with the rest of the team in a separate meeting room. I will pass on your comments regarding the bedding to the Director or Rooms to determine a solution to the fitted sheet concern. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed one night on a business trip that occurred when the hotel was filled to the brim with kids and families attending a hockey tournament. I wasn't inconvenienced in any way by the rambunctious children which, in my opinion, showed that the hotel was very effective at meeting the needs of a wide variety of guests. The staff were great at check in and check out and the restaurant managed to keep the service at a high quality despite the large numbers in attendance. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. I am not a fan of pools in the middle of the restaurant area so didn't go swimming, but it looked clean and large enough for many, many little hockey players. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 651brendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
brenda054,

Thank you for your feedback on your trip to the Red Deer Lodge Hotel. This past weekend we were very active with families and teams enjoying their time with us. I am very happy to read your stay was comfortable and our Associates provided outstanding service. We appreciate you selecting our Hotel and look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed twice. Staff was very nice. We preferred the lower room with pool access. Staying in the tower was noisy and it needs some upgrading. But was still okay. Great place to stay with kids. Really enjoyed salt water pool and very good breakfast buffet!! Great rates!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Bran7,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Red Deer Lodge Hotel. We enjoy reading all our guest reviews and appreciate the feedback we receive. Please consider staying with us again when travelling in the Central AB area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Last week end we had a show in Red Deer we chose the lodge as they promoted a hot buffet breakfast was included . We could have stayed at other properties that also included breakfast
but the hot breakfast caught out attention.
Well that was a mistake , first day fruit was melons second day watermelon was all that was there at first then they brought out some other fruit that when you took a bite your tough was tingling either because of preservatives or that it was turning They were offering yogurt both bulk and cups after I had been through I went back to get a yogurt and of course there was non left. . The only thing they offered for meat was sausages, no Bacon either day. The sausages were cold and tasted like cardboard.(both days) Then the eggs were slightly warm . Pancakes two in the dish did not look appetizing .l must say that they did offer option of making your own waffle ,toast .
Sorry I will try anyplace else but the lodge in the future not because the rooms were bad they were clean service was good but in all the years I have traveled I have never been so disappointed with an included breakfast .,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 65ref1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
65ref1,

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to the Red Deer Lodge Hotel. I am glad to read the guest room was clean and comfortable and our Associates, and their service was pleasant. I must apologize for the dining experience you encountered during your stay for the daily breakfast buffet. I will be investigating with our culinary team and the Food & Beverage Manager why the offering appeared to be lacking variety. We do offer one meat choice per day and should rotate through a few choices for our guests that stay for multiple nights. We do appreciate our guests passing along their observations as it allows for the Management team to assess our service model. We know you have choices in Red Deer and would like the opportunity to serve you again when travelling in the Red Deer area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed for two nights at this hotel. staff was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. When booking they advised me that they were booking me into a room overlooking the atrium. It didn't really click in that this would be noisy. Not enough noise to complain but enough to be a negative. Old tube style T.V.'s? It's 2014...you can't buy them anymore and this hotel should be able to afford a decent TV for a room with their rates. Ordered room service twice and it came quickly and efficiently. The food was terrible though. The burger was dry and the French onion soup was the worst I've ever had. I would not recommend the food and was disappointed.

Room Tip: window to the street not to the inside of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
kelly j,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Red Deer Lodge Hotel. The Associates of the Hotel are indeed friendly and work towards creating a memorable visit for every guest. The rooms that overlook the Courtyard with the tropical plants do offer our guests a break from the winter conditions this time of year. It can see more activity at times with the pool and the number of guests enjoying the area. I do apologize your in room dining experience was less than fantastic. I have shared your review with the team of the Hotel for training and service quality conversations. The tube style TV's do provide a unique feel to the guest rooms and we do have a plan to address them in the future. We look forward to serving you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
2.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
#2 of 29 in Red Deer
878 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
#7 of 29 in Red Deer
473 reviews
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Red Deer
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Red Deer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer
Address: 4311 49 Avenue, Red Deer, Alberta T4N 5Y7, Canada (Formerly Red Deer Lodge Hotel and Conference Centre)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Deer Hotel
Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing