We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I booked this hotel for our hockey team for a weekend in March. What a great choice! I honestly can not think of anything that would not make me want to come back. The hotel is brand new - modern and welcoming. We had a suite with a king bed and a separate room with bunk beds for the kids. The beds are incredibly comfortable - we all had a fantastic sleep. The room was huge with a great little kitchenette, a keurig coffee maker (what a treat), a large bathroom with many nice little touches. It was very clean and as well. The kids loved the pool and waterslide.

What really makes this hotel though, is the attentive staff. From the first initial contact regarding booking teams, to the front end staff to the restaurant staff - everyone was happy and so accomodating to our every need. The chef even stayed later to feed a team of hungry athletes and parents after their normal hours and came out to shake hands and ask how our stay was going. That is what I call service! We also had a team meal catered in a separate room, and again it was fantastic.

I will definitely book this hotel again! Thank you Keerthi and staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needthebeach06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear needthebeach06

On behalf of our entire team I would like to thank you for your kind review. It’s wonderful to know that your stay was enjoyable. Our associates work hard to provide a pleasant stay, so we are appreciative that you took the time to review our hotel. Your feedback allows us to monitor the guest experience. Thank you for choosing us while in Red Deer.

Regards,
Jerry R M
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

I made a one night stay here on a business trip. Looks like the hotel has only been open since the start of 2012 I would guess. Very new feel.

Bed was excellent. Two types of pillows which were labeled. Loads of space in the top floor room I had (512, faces north). I found the room quiet with little hallway noise. Generous bathroom and overall room dimensions. Nice flat screen TV, Hotel internet worked great. The heat/AC seemed to stay on even in auto mode so I just shut it off when I went to sleep. Room had a good coffee maker and small fridge.

Front desk staff were efficient and friendly when I arrived and quickly called for a cab when I went out for dinner. I did not try the on site restaurant. If you do not eat there, figure on driving to any other 'sit-down' restaurant. Lots within a 5 minute drive.

Only knocks, the parking seemed to be in short supply. Looked as if there was a meeting(s) going on during the day.

Very pleased with my stay and I got a great prepaid rate.

Room Tip: None of the rooms face straight to the highway. Even numbered rooms face north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maplehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Maplehawk

On behalf of our entire team I would like to thank you for your kind review. It’s wonderful to know that your stay was enjoyable. Our associates work hard to provide a pleasant stay, so we are appreciative that you took the time to review our hotel. Your feedback allows us to monitor the guest experience. Thank you for choosing us while in Red Deer.

Regards,
Jerry R M
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Very welcoming and modern hotel that opened in October 2011. Had a very large room; king size bed with a selection of pillows that were labelled firm or soft; couch; good sized workstation, mini fridge and microwave. Well appointed bathroom. All very clean and comfortable. Even though the hotel is close to Highway 2 the highway noise is not intrusive. The exercise room is reasonable for a hotel of this type - couple of treadmills, a bike, an elliptical trainer and a dual cable multi-gym. The lounge/restaurant was very inviting but didn't get an opportunity to try the menu - will have to find time on the next visit! Only two minor criticisms, the jets in the hot tub are not very strong and the hotel is a little difficult to get to when arriving from the north on the highway. Perhaps they'll be able to put up some clearer signage in the spring. Will stay there again when next in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear al500

On behalf of our entire team I would like to thank you for your kind review. It’s wonderful to know that your stay was enjoyable. Our associates work hard to provide a pleasant stay, so we are appreciative that you took the time to review our hotel. Your feedback allows us to monitor the guest experience. Thank you for choosing us while in Red Deer.

Regards,
Jerry R M
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Staff are very friendly and helpful
Restaurant serves superb food
Room staff is courteous and do a great job making up the rooms
Lee G.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Lee G

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer on Tripadvisor. It is great to read such positive words about your experience at our property and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again. Should you wish to make a reservation, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly, so that we can make your next stay even more memorable.

Sincerely,
Jerry R M
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed here twice while passing through red deer. The staff upon checking in where very welcoming and made sure that i was enjoying my room throught the stay which was refreshing compared to other hotels in the area. great fitness room with brand new facilties and pool hot\tub\waterslide!.......rooms are very contemporary and spacious. Everything is brand new :)
the restaurant downsaatirs food is great and they have an impressive wine list which i loved!!!!!
I'm very happy that i came across this place. and will def be returning :)

Room Tip: executive suite is very very spacious.......great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear carina c

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer on Tripadvisor. It is great to read such positive words about your experience at our property and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again. Should you wish to make a reservation, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly, so that we can make your next stay even more memorable.

Sincerely,
Jerry R M
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here while attending the Scotties. Room was beautifully appointed, and quiet. Dinner and drinks at the hotel were excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kisiwaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear kisiwaga

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer on Tripadvisor. It is great to read such positive words about your experience at our property and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again. Should you wish to make a reservation, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly, so that we can make your next stay even more memorable.

Sincerely,
Jerry R M
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Definetly would recommend this hotel for their friendly staff and amazing service.

The room with the bunk beds is fantastic for family travel and quite spacious. The other rooms were clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable.

Our children really enjoyed the water slide.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcpbskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Mcpbskids

We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing your kind words regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. We strive to deliver the most unforgettable experiences to all of our guests and it is incredibly rewarding to read that we succeeded in doing so.

It would be our utmost pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you again, should you desire to visit our beloved capital once more. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly, should you wish to make another reservation.

Warmest regards,
Jerry Manyimbiri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
5.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
#2 of 29 in Red Deer
941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
#7 of 29 in Red Deer
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Red Deer
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South

Address: 33 Petrolia Dr | Gasoline Alley, Red Deer, Alberta T4E 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Red Deer
#2 Family Hotel in Red Deer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Red Deer
Price Range: £68 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Red Deer South, Alberta, Canada. Conveniently located directly between Calgary and Edmonton, Red Deer combines the convenience of urban amenities with the quaintness of a rural life. When in Red Deer don't miss Heritage Ranch, Discovery Canyon, Canyon Ski Hill, Bower Ponds, and the many more exciting parks and attractions that are sure to entertain. The interesting architecture of St. Mary's Church and beautiful Waskasoo Park round off this list. Red Deer is located within a half an hour of three lakes of note, Sylvan Lake, Gull Lake, and Pine Lake. These lakes offer excellent boating opportunities and are often bustling with activity during the warm summer months. Red Deer and the surrounding area are also home to a myriad of local shops, restaurants and cafes, which all add to the personality of the area. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Red Deer South is located at the south end of the city in "Gasoline Alley", a popular stop for passers-through, loaded with restaurants, cafes and pubs. We're also within walking distance to the Galaxy Cinemas, Westerner Grounds and less than 10 minutes from the downtown area and only five minutes from the Red Deer Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing