We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating & Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a five night stay that resulted in a raving review for Holiday Inns & Suites! Our room was part of a group booking. Very fair group rates were negotiated that included a nutritious breakfast prepared especially for our group each morning. We had requested early check-in and when we arrived our room was not ready and wouldn't be ready by the time we had agreed on. They knew i was starting to panic so they came up with a solution that worked for us all. I was most grateful! The rooms were good size, nice and clean as was the pool. The machines in the fitness room, all good quality and looks into pool area so you can work out and watch kids at same time. The restaurant's menu had a great variety for adults and children and the food was delicious. Our servers were accommodating and noted the included gratuity for parties over a certain size, something I truly appreciate. Check out was quick and easy and they weren't pushing us out the door to get housekeeping in. All in all a great stay. Will definitely go back next year for the same event.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side seem to be quieter; less highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryCathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear CalgaryCathie,
Thank you so much for such a positive review! I am so glad that we were able to help you out quickly and accordingly. It is great your family was able to utilize and enjoy most of the amenities we have here at the Holiday Inn Red Deer South. I will make sure to pass your comments on to the rest of my team.
Yours in hospitality,

Emily Mena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a very nice place to stay however I totally disagree with instilling a 3 day minimum stay rule for the Ag Show PLUS over doubling the price during that time period. Leaves a bit of a sour taste!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Linda S,
Thank you for your feedback. I will make sure this information gets passed on to my sales team.
Yours in hospitality,

Emily Mena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I've now stayed in this Holiday Inn twice. Each experience was similar. Overall, the hotel is very nice. It's pretty much brand new so the accommodations are what one expects in a new hotel. The location is convenient in terms of being just off of Highway 2. Unfortunately, in Red Deer this also means that you are in need of your car to get to any shopping or restaurant destinations. There is nothing within walking distance if you are looking for an alternative place to eat or need to shop or pick up those things you may have forgotten.

Having said that, the restaurant in the hotel truly goes out of its way to provide exceptional service. The food during both my visits was typical hotel fare but the service truly shone. And while one would expect since you are in a hotel, that the clientele would not be the local folk….however during this visit some of the clientele in the restaurant were locals...which to me is a statement that the service and offering here is worthy of them supporting.

My recommendation is that for an overnight stay in Red Deer, this location is great. If you are staying more than one night and don't mind driving to shopping or other eating locations....it is also great. But if you like to get out and walk to restaurants, shopping or just to clear your head after a day of travel, this location does not offer that convenience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marathonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear marathonguy,
I will for sure agree in saying that the Boulevard Restaurant does an exceptional job! It is unfortunate that we are a little out of towns but our team is always willing to help call a cab or show bus routes throughout the city. Thank you for your recommendation on our hotel. I will pass this on to our team.
Yours in hospitality,

Emily Mena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It's always a pleasure staying at this Holiday Inn location as their staff are very professional and so eager to welcome you to their hotel. From the minute that they greet you at check in till the time you depart, all your needs are seamless to handle and fulfilled to the 9th degree. Rooms are always impeccably clean and so warm and comforting to stay in. The "Boulevard" restaurant offers very fine dining and service with any choice of selection, especially the "salmon" which is my #1 choice when I stay at this hotel...unbelievably the best that I have ever tasted!! "Five Star" rating on all occasions and is the hotel of my choice whenever I stay in Red Deer!!! Bobby D.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelsoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear KelsoD,
I am happy that you always feel so welcomed to our hotel when staying here. We know we must be doing something right! We are very lucky to have Chef Emmanuel and his team in our Boulevard Restaurant, they are such a talented group. I will pass your comments on.
Yours in hospitality,

Emily Mena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After four nights at the Holiday Inn I could not be more impressed. I held several meetings in the dining room at breakfast and lunch and could not have been accommodated better. The food choices, preparation and service were all first class. My room was spotless and very well equipped for comfort and work. The location was great for my purposes - very close to Westerner Park. Throughout the hotel the staff were warm and welcoming, cheerful, smiling and eager to ensure my stay was the best they could make it. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freewind8299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear IslandFling,
Thank you so much for you review! I am glad that our team was able to accommodate all of your needs no matter what the circumstances were. We are so proud to have the team we have here. I will pass this on to them.
Yours in hospitality,

Emily Mena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have been utilizing this hotel since it opened in Red Deer. The rooms are very clean, large, beautiful and quiet. The food is as Amazing as Chef David is. Wine selection is great.The owners are so personable, staff friendly and always helpful. Our Christmas party was held there and it was awesome. We lunch there at least once a week and most of our out of Country personal are booked there for their stay. We have special request from the owners of our company to book them into the Holiday Inn South when they visit Red Deer.
Thank you for your great service,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Amanda G,
Thank you so much or your great words about our property! It is great to hear that your company right to our owners enjoys their time spent here, no matter what the occasion is! It is always our pleasure to ensure your stays are always comfortable. I will pass this on to the rest of my team.
Yours in hospitality,

Emily Mena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Manager of a hockey team - I have to say this was the best experience I have had dealing with and staying in a hotel. Minette and staff were amazing. The property was clean and wonderful. The hotel welcomed our team (and 7 others) making our stay delightful!! The private buffet breakfast was the icing on the cake! Would defiantly stay here again, as a team and with my family!! Thanks so much Minette and staff!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Keri H,
Thank you for your review! We are very proud to have Minette as a part of our team! We all work very hard to make sure each and every guest has a 5 star experience and I am so glad that you did! Our hard work is all worth it in the end! I will pass this on to the rest of my team.
Yours in hospitality,

Emily Mena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
5.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
#2 of 29 in Red Deer
927 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
Sheraton Red Deer Hotel
#7 of 29 in Red Deer
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Red Deer
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South

Address: 33 Petrolia Dr | Gasoline Alley, Red Deer, Alberta T4E 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Red Deer
#2 Family Hotel in Red Deer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Red Deer
Price Range: £66 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Red Deer South, Alberta, Canada. Conveniently located directly between Calgary and Edmonton, Red Deer combines the convenience of urban amenities with the quaintness of a rural life. When in Red Deer don't miss Heritage Ranch, Discovery Canyon, Canyon Ski Hill, Bower Ponds, and the many more exciting parks and attractions that are sure to entertain. The interesting architecture of St. Mary's Church and beautiful Waskasoo Park round off this list. Red Deer is located within a half an hour of three lakes of note, Sylvan Lake, Gull Lake, and Pine Lake. These lakes offer excellent boating opportunities and are often bustling with activity during the warm summer months. Red Deer and the surrounding area are also home to a myriad of local shops, restaurants and cafes, which all add to the personality of the area. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Red Deer South is located at the south end of the city in "Gasoline Alley", a popular stop for passers-through, loaded with restaurants, cafes and pubs. We're also within walking distance to the Galaxy Cinemas, Westerner Grounds and less than 10 minutes from the downtown area and only five minutes from the Red Deer Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing