We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business trip and meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As soon as I arrived, the staff was welcoming and wanted me to know my training meetings for the next three days were going to be well serviced. When we checked out the meeting room, we asked for a small rearrangement of the tables and chairs and the staff quickly made the change. We anticipated about 25 attendees per day to our training seminars.

During all three days, the staff checked on the food and beverages to ensure everything was to our expectations. I really have to say the chef made some really great lunches for our group, something different and delicious each day. We were very pleased with the attention to detail given our group.

I also stayed at the Holiday Inn and my guest room was very nice, with great care taken by housekeeping each day. When I come back to Red Deer, I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Roger Y,
Thank you for your review! I am glad our team took care of yours so well! I know our sales and catering as well as our banquet team always ensures every need of our guests are met. I will make sure to pass your comments on to them.
Also, thank you for your compliments on your guest room. I look forward to having you come back again in the future. Next time you will have to try the great food in our Boulevard Restaurant by the same chefs that made your banquet dinners! Thank you again!
Yours in hospitality,

Emily Mena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice hotel and friendly staff. Parking lot was packed, which is a usually a good sign. Room was large and very well kept. It is a bit of a pain to get back to in you drive into Red Deer. You have to take the back road, but after the first trip, no problem.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear nonskim,
Thank you so much for your review about our hotel! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you liked your room. I know our housekeeping is always on double time, ensuring that all of our guests rooms are spotless,
Next time you come to stay, give our restaurant a try! We have award winning Chef Emmanuel David and his culinary team in our kitchen, always creating new dishes that our guests love! Thank you again for your review, and I hope to see you again soon!
Yours in hospitality,

Emily Mena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I recently stayed at his hotel for almost a week while my mother was in the hospital. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms were excellent. The staff in the restaurant was excellent and the staff made me feel welcome. I would recommend this hotel to fellow travellers. The hotel is a short distance out of Red Deer but access is very good. I didn't use the pool or spa facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darcy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Darcy H,
Thank you for your review about our hotel! I am happy that we were able to accommodate you for your solo travel to Red Deer. I hope that on your next trip, you will be able to experience our water park. with either your family, or by simply relaxing in our hot tub. We also have a complimentary business center, so if you do happen to travel this way on business, your needs will be looked after.
Our chef in our restaurant has 5 star ratings and I am gad you were able to enjoy his great dining selections. I will ensure to pass your compliments on to him.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Yours in hospitality,

Emily Mena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was our second stay at the Holiday Inn and we are already looking forward to our next trip! We were greeted by friendly staff immediately and we were even given an upgrade to make our hotel experience more fun for our children!! The water-slides and pool were clean and so much fun. We also enjoyed a FANTASTIC meal at the restaurant. Again, our children's needs were met right away and we were also treated to an amazing meal. We HIGHLY recommend this hotel and their restaurant!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Brandi H,
Thank you so much for your review! It is so great to hear that your family had such an awesome stay with us! Our water park is the biggest indoor park in any Red Deer Hotel! Our maintenance team is always working hard to ensure it is in top condition!
Next time you come to our hotel, aim for a Friday or Saturday as our Chef, Emmanuel David, has his mouth watering Prime Rib on special!
Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to your next stay here with us!
Yours in hospitality,

Emily Mena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here as we were in town for my daughter's dance competition and it was wonderful! The staff were all very friendly and nice. We had a basic room with two queen beds and it was huge! The bathroom was also a good size! The beds were very comfortable! Loved the down duvet covers and all the different types of pillows! I was very impressed that we had a Kuerig machine instead of a cheap coffee maker you would normally see! The pool was great! The kids had a good time and loved the water slide! I appreciated that every morning they had a great breakfast buffet set up in a room for all the dancers and their parents! We ate at the hotel restaurant called the Boulevard.. very good! The Chef himself even came out to say hello to the guests and ask how the food was which I thought was excellent customer service! Only downside is that is it right off the highway but its only a couple mins drive into town! Overall I thought this hotel was excellent value for the service and amenities! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovesoccer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Lovesoccer75,
I am so glad to hear how excellent your stay was! It is encouraging to hear such positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Yours in hospitality,

Emily Mena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a five night stay that resulted in a raving review for Holiday Inns & Suites! Our room was part of a group booking. Very fair group rates were negotiated that included a nutritious breakfast prepared especially for our group each morning. We had requested early check-in and when we arrived our room was not ready and wouldn't be ready by the time we had agreed on. They knew i was starting to panic so they came up with a solution that worked for us all. I was most grateful! The rooms were good size, nice and clean as was the pool. The machines in the fitness room, all good quality and looks into pool area so you can work out and watch kids at same time. The restaurant's menu had a great variety for adults and children and the food was delicious. Our servers were accommodating and noted the included gratuity for parties over a certain size, something I truly appreciate. Check out was quick and easy and they weren't pushing us out the door to get housekeeping in. All in all a great stay. Will definitely go back next year for the same event.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side seem to be quieter; less highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryCathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear CalgaryCathie,
Thank you so much for such a positive review! I am so glad that we were able to help you out quickly and accordingly. It is great your family was able to utilize and enjoy most of the amenities we have here at the Holiday Inn Red Deer South. I will make sure to pass your comments on to the rest of my team.
Yours in hospitality,

Emily Mena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a very nice place to stay however I totally disagree with instilling a 3 day minimum stay rule for the Ag Show PLUS over doubling the price during that time period. Leaves a bit of a sour taste!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Linda S,
Thank you for your feedback. I will make sure this information gets passed on to my sales team.
Yours in hospitality,

Emily Mena
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
5.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
#2 of 29 in Red Deer
903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Red Deer
3.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer
1.3 mi away
Days Inn - Red Deer
Days Inn - Red Deer
#8 of 29 in Red Deer
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South

Address: 33 Petrolia Dr | Gasoline Alley, Red Deer, Alberta T4E 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Red Deer
#2 Family Hotel in Red Deer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Red Deer
Price Range: £73 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Red Deer South, Alberta, Canada. Conveniently located directly between Calgary and Edmonton, Red Deer combines the convenience of urban amenities with the quaintness of a rural life. When in Red Deer don't miss Heritage Ranch, Discovery Canyon, Canyon Ski Hill, Bower Ponds, and the many more exciting parks and attractions that are sure to entertain. The interesting architecture of St. Mary's Church and beautiful Waskasoo Park round off this list. Red Deer is located within a half an hour of three lakes of note, Sylvan Lake, Gull Lake, and Pine Lake. These lakes offer excellent boating opportunities and are often bustling with activity during the warm summer months. Red Deer and the surrounding area are also home to a myriad of local shops, restaurants and cafes, which all add to the personality of the area. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Red Deer South is located at the south end of the city in "Gasoline Alley", a popular stop for passers-through, loaded with restaurants, cafes and pubs. We're also within walking distance to the Galaxy Cinemas, Westerner Grounds and less than 10 minutes from the downtown area and only five minutes from the Red Deer Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Red Deer South Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing