We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awsome staff”
Review of Motel 6 Red Deer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Red Deer
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“awsome staff”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

we stayed here from june 21 to the 23. chose this motel because we are smokers and they had smoking rooms. rooms are a good size & have a good working fridge and was very clean plus they had great wifi in the room.we arrived early around 11 am and thye still checked us in right away. my wife told the lady at the front desk we where there for my birthday.when we came back to our room after 8 there was a basket c/w card filled with numerous handy items for my birthday,what a nice surprise.we where sort of towels, called down to front desk and they brought up some within 2 minutes.stall are super friendly & helpful.next time in red deer we will defitinly stay here

Room Tip: we where on 3rd floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigedd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Motel 6 Red Deer, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Edd1947

Many thanks for taking the time to submit a Review / comment on the Trip Advisor site.
We really appreciate your valued comments and will be passing on this review to our staff.

Our team try very hard to make our guests comfortable and to enjoy their stay at our Hotel , so we will all be motivated by your kind comments.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely. Jim Archer. GM. M6 Red Deer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    44
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
26
30
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

i have stayed in motel 6 in red deer several times with no complaints...but this past week-end i booked in through expedia.ca....and i will never stay at that hotel again..it is under new ownership so i suppose it has new staff....the front desk staff were wonderful....but the room was terrible....we went shopping in the afternoon and came back to the room for a rest....is hard to rest on a pillow that is so dirty it's stiff....contacted the front desk staff and they came and changed out the pillows...then we went out for more shopping and dinner and came backk to the hotel to sleep....i should have checked the whole bedding when i found the pillows but didn't ...got ready for bed and turned the covers down and lo and behold there was dried blood on the quilt....so threw it on the floor and crawled into bed exhausted and slept.....the price charged by expedia was $30 more than i regularly pay and the room definitely was NOT up to standard....lord knows what other cooties were crawling around in the bed with me....then i went to shower and there were stray hairs in the ba
th tub.....neither of us has black hair so would imagine the hairs belonged to prior guests....so you take your CHANCES when you stay here...Beware.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheresmycoffee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Motel 6 Red Deer, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest.

I am very sorry that your stay at M6 Red Deer was unsatisfactory , we sincerely apologise that our normal high standards were not met.
I would have hoped that you would have asked to see me when these serious matters were in need of repair and I urge you to do so in future as I could have rectified the problems immediately.
As for your Expedia rates, sadly they charge what they feel is appropriate in the market place , often above our rates, so it is best to ask us first.
Can you please call me on the phone number below to discuss these matters further ?

Yours sincerely. Jim Archer . GM - Motel 6 Red Deer . 403 - 340 - 1749
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Va
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

In Canada at least, Motel 6 has gone on a new building spree. There are new multistory hotels all over the place. We booked this hotel in Red Deer because it was the least expensive chain motel. The room was large and had a fridge; the bathroom also large. The entire facility was very clean. This location also offered a continental breakfast for free. A good location at the south end of the city with tons of nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geographer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Motel 6 Red Deer, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Geographer 08.

Many thanks for taking the time to make a comment and score our Hotel positively on the Trip Advisor website

We make every effort to make our guests stays welcoming , comfortable and an enjoyable - value for money experience and I will pass on your favourable remarks to our housekeepers and front desk staff , who will be further motivated to do a good job.

We hope to see you again sometime and please be sure to ask for me so that I can meet you first hand.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We had not booked before we arrived but the receptionist found us a room for ourselves and our 2 dogs. The room was clean and the bathroom spotless, There were several other dogs and owners staying at the hotel but we didn't hear any barking.
Would definitely use this hotel again, the staff we met were polite and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Motel 6 Red Deer, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Jan B.

Many thanks for you positive Review , we appreciate you taking time out to give us a mention on TA.
We are pleased your stay was satisfactory and that the accommodation for you and your pets worked out well for you and we appreciate your kind comments about our rooms and staff.

We are always striving to to improve our service and I will pass on your comments to all staff.

We look forward to being of service to you again.

Yours sincerely. Jim Archer. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I selected this hotel for the reasonable price and was very happy. The room was quiet, comfortable, and very clean. Easy to access from Highway 2 and Taylor Drive. Close to lots of shopping. The staff at front desk were friendly and helpful. Will stay here again and have recommended it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Motel 6 Red Deer, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Kathyh.

Sorry to be tardy in reply , I thought my note had been sent to you shortly after your visit.

Many thanks for taking the time to submit a Review / comment on the Trip Advisor site.
We really appreciate your valued comments and will be passing on this review to our staff.

Our team try very hard to make our guests comfortable and to enjoy their stay at our Hotel , so we will all be motivated by your kind comments.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincerely. Jim Archer. GM. M6 Red Deer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outlook, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We booked for non smoking queen and got smoking and 2 double beds. Tiny room but will admit it was clean. Partiers next door were very loud and kept us awake between 2 - 4 am. Staff asked them to keep quiet but it did not help. Room was hot and we opened the window but we were right on the busy freeway so that noise kept us up as well. So the room was hot, smelly and noisy. The beds were not very comfortable either. The breakfast was in a tiny room and low on supplies. Never again! Not worth the hassles for a lower price.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, Manager at Motel 6 Red Deer, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Laurie W.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for your experience during your stay. The hotel was quite full that evening and we did our best to mitigate the noise levels in the hotel. We would appreciate if you could contact us privately with your phone number so we can discuss this matter with you personally and hopefully regain back your confidence for future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Red Deer
2.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites City Centre
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer
4.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
#2 of 29 in Red Deer
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Red Deer
Days Inn - Red Deer
#8 of 29 in Red Deer
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Red Deer

Property: Motel 6 Red Deer
Address: 5001 19 St | Hwy 2 north Exit Gaetz Ave/south Exit 19th St, Red Deer, Alberta T4R 3R1, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Red Deer
#10 Business Hotel in Red Deer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Red Deer 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newer hotel located in Red Deer's newest shopping district. We offer clean, comfortable, accommodations for the traveller who is watching their money! Each room is equipped with a small fridge, microwave, flat screen TV. Pets stay free, we always have a treat at the front counter for our 4 legged friends. A large green space on the west side of the building to walk your pets. We will even supply the doggie bags for clean up. At Motel 6 we welcome our guests 24 hours a day with a comfortable, pet friendly environment at the lowest rates of any national chain. Relax and enjoy all that Motel 6 has to offer. Relax and enjoy in our modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Red Deer Hotel Red Deer
Motel Six Red Deer
Red Deer Motel 6
Red Deer Motel Six
Motel 6 Red Deer Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing