We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fine for an overnight stay”
Review of Motel 6 Red Deer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Red Deer
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Red Deer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A modern motel situated amongst a large number of big box retailers just off the Calgary/Edmonton Highway at the south end of Red Deer. The room was small but clean with flatscreen TV, refrigerator, shub/shower but no iron or ironing board. Breakfast was included. Complimentary cookies, fruit and internet available to guests. There is also a laundry. Staff were helpful. The motel welcomes dogs and we noted several guests with lapdogs. However the concept is not one that endears us - I saw one relieve itself in the foyer and the owner just walked away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John_M255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Motel 6 Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear John _ M.

Thankyou for taking the time to make and submit a Review and score on TA , we sincerely value your custom and comments.

As we are a budget Hotel , we have rooms sized accordingly and of course try very hard to keep up our standards and are continuually striving to upgrade and improve.

Our pet Policy means we have many guests with dogs and sadly the owners lack of responsibility occassionally ' comes to the fore ' . Our front desk staff took care of the problem you highlighted and again , we apologise.

We hope to see you again in Red Deer ,if so, please make yourself known to me and my wife Barbara.

Kind Regards. Jim Archer. GM Motel6 Red Deer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here for one night and to be perfectly honest there is better out there for not much more money.
The staff are really nice and the place is clean, but its very basic, needs updating and is right on the highway which of course is noisy, but if you really aren't worried about those things then Motel 6 is ok. They say that a breakfast is included, but its really only a few baked goods and tea and coffee, nothing to write home about.
I personally wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side to the highway would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClarenceClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Motel 6 Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Clifton.

Thankyou for taking the time to respond on TA.

We are sorry that your guest stay was not to your satisfaction , we usually compete well with our peers in the Budget Hotel stakes here in Red Deer.

Our hotel is close to the highway , but traffic noise varies , something we cannot control.

Our breakfast is basically 'bag and go ' with a variety of fruit, muffins, cereal bars , toast , coffee boxed juices on offer and is Free to guests, again we receive few complaints.I suspect a ' full service ' hotel is best for you .

Yours truly. Jim Archer. M6RD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Family emergency took me to Red Deer.
Used bookings.com to confirm and book room. Manager would not honour the confirmed reservation and booking because the price from them was too low. Argued and paid more.
I was promised refund of difference by booking agent.
The room was clean. Two doubles and a desk.
Decent sized washroom with a corner tub/shower combo.
Small flat screen TV, fridge & microwave.
In shopping heaven...Like being in retail outlet mall splendor. Driving optional.

Room Tip: Highway loud stay on front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmithsFallsCanadaDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Motel 6 Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Smiths falls.

Thankyou for responding on Trip Advisor.

Your approved rate via Bookings.com is currently under review by M6 Brand as the rate quoted was not correct as pointed out by myself on the night.

We will advise status following the investigation.

Yours sincerely. Jim Archer GM M6 Red Deer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

While on business in Red Deer my company booked me and bunch of my co-workers into the Motel 6. My room was OK with a small fridge and microwave, The bathroom was clean and tidy. The air conditioner worked very well and I was quite comfortable and slept well. The room had two queen size beds. All of the rooms were marked as non smoking but you could easily smell cigarette smoke in the hallway. The ladies on our trip were very disappointed with their rooms which were apparently quite dingy and small. One of the ladies did not stay the night and moved to the Day's Inn next door. The free breakfast was very weak. Toast, granola bars, and kiddy juice boxes. Not one of my better hotel experiences.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captains_Rum_Punch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Motel 6 Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Captain rum.

We thank you for your review and apologise that your guest stay did not come up to some of your colleagues and your expectations.

We accepted the booking / reservations on behalf of your Company in good faith having described our facilities, which measure up well with other Budget Hotels locally and usually satisfy our guests.

Your colleague who checked out into our sister Hotel Days Inn , merely stated she did ' not do ' Budget hotels, but did not complain.

We hope that your travels allow you to find Hotels to your liking , so good luck for the rest of the year.

Yours truly. Jim Archer. GM M6RD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

After 8 days in Calgary in different hotels this is by far the best and least expensive. The staff are so freindly , rooms clean and bright, the continental breakfast as good as any others and they even offer you a brown bag for those on the run ---unbelievable

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Motel 6 Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Bryn S ,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on TA, we really appreciate your comments and I will pass them on to our team , who try very hared to make our guests welcome and the stay enjoyable.
Hope to see you again sometime and please introduce yourself to me .
Kind regards.

Jim Archer. General Manager. RDM6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just spent a week at this hotel. Staff (Donna & April) were extremely courteous and ready to assist!! Rooms were exceptionally clean!! The chambermaids were always friendly and very helpful. Beds were very comfortable. Coffee was always fresh as well as the cookies! Fresh fruit was a nice touch. Laundry room is onsite and it was very clean!! We will stay again!!

Room Tip: There are malls all around you, very convenient. Not far to the bus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrstravellinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Motel 6 Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Mrs Travelling Lady.

Many thanks for taking the time to add a Review on this website , we appreciate your scores and positive comments.

Our staff and try really hard to make our Hotel comfortable, clean and freaindly and I will pass on your report to all, they will be further motivated to do well.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Yours sincereley. Jim Archer. General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Small guest rooms but a good place to stay if you are not hanging out in there during the day. It is reasonably priced and has friendly helpful staff. A small guest room was used for a continental breakfast buffet. Coffee, cookies and fruit available in the lobby all the time. I appreciated having a frig and microwave and being able to use the laundry room. Located near highway 2 and stores.

Room Tip: perhaps quieter on main floor and near the reception- slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim A, General Manager at Motel 6 Red Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Wanda Victoria BC.

Many thanks for taking time out to review our Hotel on TA.

We welcome your comments and as always make every effort to ensure that our guests are comfortable and well looked after , but cannot do much about our room sizes. particularly our Queen rooms , especially adjacent to our stock / storage rooms whch are a bit smaller !

We look forward to being of service again and will place you in a larger room wherever possible.

Yours truly. Jim Archer. General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Deer hotels
0 mi away
Days Inn - Red Deer
Days Inn - Red Deer
#8 of 29 in Red Deer
549 reviews
4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
Radisson Hotel Red Deer
#2 of 29 in Red Deer
941 reviews
2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Red Deer
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Red Deer
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Deer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Red Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Red Deer

Address: 5001 19 St | Hwy 2 north Exit Gaetz Ave/south Exit 19th St, Red Deer, Alberta T4R 3R1, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Red Deer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Red Deer
#10 Business Hotel in Red Deer
Price Range: £30 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Red Deer 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newer hotel located in Red Deer's newest shopping district. We offer clean, comfortable, accommodations for the traveller who is watching their money! Each room is equipped with a small fridge, microwave, flat screen TV. Pets stay free, we always have a treat at the front counter for our 4 legged friends. A large green space on the west side of the building to walk your pets. We will even supply the doggie bags for clean up. At Motel 6 we welcome our guests 24 hours a day with a comfortable, pet friendly environment at the lowest rates of any national chain. Relax and enjoy all that Motel 6 has to offer. Relax and enjoy in our modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Red Deer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Red Deer Hotel Red Deer
Motel Six Red Deer
Red Deer Motel 6
Red Deer Motel Six
Motel 6 Red Deer Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing