We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of HEAVEN on Earth!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in British Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Piece of HEAVEN on Earth!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I spent the last 5 days at Heaven on Earth! My goal was to see wildlife and I achieved that goal the moment I landed. Before dinner we take a short boat ride and encountered a black bear. During the next 4 days the experienced guides sought out and found more bears...(black and grizzlies with their cubs), wolves, eagles, orcas, humpbacks, dolphins and seals. I also viewed bears from a boat in an estuary and from a bear stand.

On top of the wildlife the accommodations were superb. The lodge felt like home. The meals (breakfast & dinner) were served around a dinner table with wonderful conversation among the guests. Lunch was served either on a boat or a dock during a break in a tour. The food was divine! The owners of the lodge, the guides and cook (more like chef!) greet all the guests at the dock when the float plane arrives. Upon arrival all guests are served freshly caught seafood appetizers (i.e. prawns, crab, etc) along with a variety of cheeses and crackers. The rooms at the lodge were very comfortable...each with its own restroom.

If needed the lodge does have wifi but believe me you won't want it! If peace and quiet is what you want and the ability to commune with nature then this is the place for you! I can't wait for my return trip.

Many thanks to Angus, Krystle, George, Madeline, Clint and Emily for the best vacation EVER!

Room Tip: All the rooms at the lodge are wonderful. The lodge does not have a swimming pool but does have a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
29
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

You start with a float plane trip - awesome views across the island, mainland, straights and inlets.

The lodge is small/friendly/cosy and delightful. Food always good - picnic lunch soo impressive. Bedrooms a little small but you don't spend much time there. Mainly you are out on the water looking for wildlife. As it was June we were looking for mother and cubs plus eagles. We saw 2 sets of grizzly mums and cubs, 1 black bear mum and cubs, several other juveniles and males, lots of bald eagles including with fish - watching for up to an hour each. The bears were 10 meters away! The trip to find whales produced Hump backs and a side trip to Telegraph cove. Everything we wanted. Plus it was just amazing being in Knight Inlet - scenery is spectacular.

Angus is doing a great job; he is very knowledgable and keen for you to see what you came for. The lodge is more like a 'home stay' than a hotel (unlike the other option at knight inlet).

Yes its expensive but great wildlife experiences often are. Ensure you have lots of storage in your camera and binoculars! Get the 4 night package if you can.

Room Tip: ask for the separate cabin - right by the water. Its compact but the views are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broaden-the-mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

There were many 'firsts' for us on this trip! First time in a float plane - what a great experience that was. First time on an island in British Columbia - what beautiful scenery. First time seeing Grizzly Bears - fantastic views and a lot less commercialised than other operators - small groups and our own viewing platform. But what pulled the whole thing together was Angus and his team. We were made so welcome and enjoyed great food and good accommodation. Besides the bears we had a great whale watching experience and the wild river day was magical - we could have been the only people in the world within the rain forest. We would recommend this trip to anyone with a real enthusiasm for watching wildlife and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelte, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The Grizzly Bear Lodge (formely known as Knight Inlett Lodge 1)

What should I write about it.................IT’S GREAT.
I think it was August 2003 when we first stayed in then the Knight Inlett Lodge.
We have had such fine memories that we made the decission that a visit to the Grizzly Bear Lodge must be part in our 25 wedding anniversary worldtrip.
In this trip, 2011, we visited new locations where we’ve never been and locations which we visit during our 25 years of marriage and been special for us. It says enough about the Grizzly Bear Lodge if you planned it in a very special occasion such as a honeymoon.

What makes the Grizzly Bear Lodge so special. First of course the trip by floating plane to the lodge. Then the quitness at the lodge, the friendlyness of the owner and the employees, the view over the water, and so on. But most of all you are a human being and not a number. Why are you not a number. It’s very simple the owner don’t want more then max 12 people in his lodge.

There is just one thing that is very important to know. If you are used to stay in fancy and luxury hotels and you don’t want to make compromisses between being in the wild and fancy and luxury hotels don’t go to the Grizzly Bear Lodge.
But if you like warmth, coziness, friendly and a personal approach then go the lodge and you will love it.

But you also will love the food. The food is so good and fresh that you have to stop with Montignac or other diets. The most beautifull thing you can experience is, when you have your picknic on the water in the boat, that suddenly a humpback whale passes by within a short range.

I said boat. Ok that’s a other thing thats makes Grizzy Bear Lodge very nice. Mostly you are going on Whale watch or on Grizzly Safari with just four people and a guide in a boat. In 2003 we were a day on the water with only the guide. The personal approach makes it sometimes possible to adjust the program to your needs.

Of course everyone who reads this wants to know what about the animals. Oh, yes they are there. We have seen, especially in 2003, lots of Grizzly bears with cubs. Further we saw black bears, killer- and humpback whales, lots of bald eagles, seals, porpoises and deer.

Honestly I’ve to say that we don’t have any complains or one thing where we have our doubt about. We still have to thank Angus the owner, the guides Glenn and George, Clifton the man in the back, who takes care of everything and there is one person you never forget if you have eaten at the lodge, her name is Madelin.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jakeman061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We visited Grizzly Bear Lodge in September 2007 after finding out when was the "best" time to see lots of bears. I am fortunate to have experienced some wonderful wildlife trips and there is no doubt that this one was truly amazing. The flight over by float plane and the delicious welcoming seafood meal, the very comfortable lodge set back from the shore with breathtaking views across the water. The meals were magnificent and we described Madeleine as a "chef" rather that a "cook". All the guides were friendly and knowledgeable making all the trips memorable. When we stopped for lunch in the middle of Johnston Strait I did not expect to see a whale and calf go swimmimg past us!
The Lodge was very quiet and serene and there is no doubt in my mind that having only a small number of guests, about 12, is preferable to one with a much larger group. This also meant that when we went on day trips there were only two of us in the boat.
Going on wildlife tours can sometimes be a challenge because sightings cannot be guaranteed but for us the whole experience was wonderful.
( I could not send this unless I filled in the "When did You travel? section which only covered the lst two years. We were there in 2007)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeltieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolleshunt Knights, Essex, U.K.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

It’s very difficult to do justice to Angus and his team at the Grizzly Bear Lodge; suffice it to say that I have been there for the last 2 years and am booked to return again this September! It is worth every penny!

I have travelled to some beautiful and very unusual places over the years, but nothing compares to this area and its breath taking beauty. It is by far the most wonderful, serene area I’ve ever visited.

The Lodge has every comfort and the team there simply can’t do enough to make your trip as memorable as possible. The food is second to none. Madeleine excels herself in the kitchen and the term ‘packed lunches’ takes on a whole new meaning!

I could never tire of the wildlife trips; and every trip is different. To be sooooo close to bears, whales, eagles, dolphins, herons etc. etc. - is the most wonderful experience. Angus and Glenn have always gone the extra mile. You couldn’t ask for more.

I cannot praise the people, area, wildlife – whole experience – enough, and can’t wait to return in September!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

i went to Grizzly lodge with my old 80 years aunt and we enjoyed a lot.We saw grizzlys, black bear and killerwaves ! We had a guide who was driving a boat all day long just for ourselves.The people working in the lodge were very nice and the food excellent.Very beautiful also to get there by seaplane.We reserved on line from Italy and we got all we were hoping for and more!!!
Lavinia

Room Tip: There are just a few rooms, ok for such a far location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillasvlei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these British Columbia hotels
0.0 mi away
Blackfish Lodge
Blackfish Lodge
#46 of 273 in Vancouver Island
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
321.4 mi away
North Country Lodge
North Country Lodge
#1 of 3 in McBride
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
152.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
172.4 mi away
Atrium Inn Vancouver
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
864 reviews
322.0 mi away
Best Western Sicamous Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari

Property: Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari
Address: Knight Inlet | Johnstone Strait, British Columbia V9N 8Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 1,342 Speciality Lodging in British Columbia
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sailcone's Grizzly Bear Tours, Lodge and Safari offers grizzly tours and grizzly bear watching from viewing stands and wildlife tours for black bears, killer whales (orca) humpback whales, dolphins, stellar seals, sea lions, black bears and eagles. Our grizzly bear tours are conducted on Canada's famous natural fjord known as 'Knight Inlet BC' and on the salmon rivers that flow into Knight Inlet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari Canada/British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing