We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy, but Great fishing, Great Vibe, Wonderful Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in British Columbia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meadow Lake Fishing Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I took my two sons (ages 8 and 5) for a few days of fishing at Meadow Lake Lodge and we LOVED our stay. The cabins are not fancy, but the camp grounds and location are pristine. Other guys were very friendly, the hosts Uli and Francesca were outstanding - option of cooking your catch for breakfast or smoking it for us to take home. Good fishing on lakes that were very short walks from the camp ( 2 minutes) with a new row boat waiting for us. It was only a loon and us on the lake....caught 1/2 dozen rainbow trout...which jumped and fought like mad. Go for good fishing, pristine location and uber friendly hosts + fellow guests.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKap42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Meadow Lake Fishing Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

A week at Meadow Lake was a great experience for my mid-twenties son and me. We haven't been together much during the past few years, so it was great to be with him on the lakes of the area, and even catching a trout from time to time. The high country of the Cariboo Plateau in British Columbia where the lodge is situated is a wonderful place for scenery. The series of lakes near the lodge are virtually without other fishermen. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tookaykiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

A real fishing camp. Rustic cabins, walk into many beautiful lakes that you will most likely have all to yourself. The new lodge is great, the food is great and the hosts are even better.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fisherman503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I am new to the concept of a "fishing camp". Fishing is one of those activities that is connected with camping. What my son and I have found at Meadow Lake are wonderful friends, clean comfortable cabins, gourmet (or very close) meals, showers, short hikes through beautiful forests and best of all -- fish. Our hosts, Francesco and Uli are the most interesting and accommodating people - they really are like family. We will be going back for our fifth (or sixth?) year and we can't wait. It really is our favorite trip of the year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danh2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

My son and I have stayed at Meadow Lakes Fishing Camp every summer for the past 5 years. We absolutely love it there. Francesco and Uli are amazing hosts. The "American Plan" is really fun - all three delicious meals are included, and everyone sits together at breakfast and dinner and talks about their fishing adventures of the day. The outdoor deck, connected to the new luxury lodge and overlooking Meadow Lake, is unbelievable. Look at the photos! After dinner every evening there's a firepit and further discussion and relaxing.

There are many lakes to choose from, some right at the camp and others ranging from 20-60 minutes hike. The wilderness is pristine - we regularly see bald eagles, loons, ducks, and sometimes moose and deer. It's an amazing feeling to be in a rowboat, sometimes the only one on an entire lake, miles from civilization.

The rustic cabins are great, with beds, down duvets, woodstove, etc. After a big day, you can drift off to sleep listening to the loons call on the lake. Wow.

Included in the price is Francesco expertly smoking your trout to bring home. It is so good - better than smoked salmon in my opinion. They will also be happy to cook a breakfast fish for you in the morning. And you amost certainly will catch fish. We've never come home empty-handed. One year my son caught a "Wall Fish" - a 4 lb 12 oz trout!

If you love the outdoors, lake fishing, hiking, wildlife, or just plain relaxing and disconnecting, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmenInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

This was our third trip to Meadow Lake Fish Camp, but my wife first went in the '90's and some of our friends have been coming here, under a variety of owners, for 40 years or so.
Uli and Francesco have been our proprietors for the last several years and have made significant upgrades to the camp in that time.

The major draw of the camp is fishing the eight or more lakes that lie within a 2 to 30 minute hike from the camp for the mighty Kamloops Fighting Trout. The fish are all that, a pink salmon colored fleshed trout running from 10 inches to 4 plus pounds. (Canadian Fishing license required). The lakes are non-motorized for the most part, so we use rowboats to troll wet flies. The silence is serene, broken for the most part only by the call of the Loons. In fact the only hazard to the fishing is whether you can get your fish in the boat before the loon gets it or the Bald Eagle or the Osprey take it away from you and/or the loon.

Once caught, you bring your fish back and put them in the fish house with your cabin marker on it, and when you are ready to leave (if Uli has not already cooked your fish for breakfast for you) you will find that Francesco has cleaned and smoked.the fish for you and they are ready for you to take back home and share with friends.

The camp lies about 400 miles north of Seattle and is an easy day's drive. Four wheel drive is recommended for the drive into the camp from the highway, or Francesco will drive out and pick you up at Little Fort, BC about 20 K's away. The real charm of the camp, however, is it's rustic nature. You live in small log cabins, each with a wood burning stove to take the chill off in the morning (camp elevation is about 4500 feet above sea level.) The cabins are provided with bedding and towels, but no indoor plumbing. Hot water showers are available, but not in your cabin.

Last year Uli and Francesco completed a new lodge complete with wifi, solar power, etc that brings electricity to the camp. Uli fixes two excellent meals served family style each day and packs lunches for your backpack to take fishing with you. You really have reduced your self to two questions a day: "What lake do want to fish?" and "What kind of sandwich do you want to take with you?" The personable couple are most pleasant hosts, and Uli's weiner schnitzel is always a hit.

The new lodge provides a level of comfort for reading, painting or conversation, and a fantastic view over Meadow Lake, that was absent before the new lodge. However, the upgrades do not, in my opinion, detract from the charm or rustic experience of a classic fish camp. We are going back this summer and taking several of our friends who have never been.

Good camp style food, and plentiful, but bring your own wine and spirits.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeRyherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

This tranquil spot has it all for the high plateau lakes fisherman. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The lodge is comfortable with a great deck that offers a fantastic view of Meadow Lake. Evenings around the fire pit on the deck and the sunsets are magical.
The lakes are teeming with trout and offer great opportunities to catch a breakfast fish or a trophy.
Food is excellent European fare and plentiful.
Hot showers and flush toilets in the lodge. Cabins are rustic but clean and comfortable and have wood stoves to keep guests warm on cold nights. Although cabins are without plumbing, wash basins and fresh water are provided.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these British Columbia hotels
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
12.3 mi away
Montana Hill Guest Ranch
Montana Hill Guest Ranch
#1 of 9 in Bridge Lake
16 reviews
18.5 mi away
Seawood Bed & Breakfast & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Rivermount Motel
Rivermount Motel
#1 of 2 in Little Fort
58 reviews
17.9 mi away
Wettstone Guest Ranch
Wettstone Guest Ranch
#3 of 9 in Bridge Lake
8 reviews
16.2 mi away
Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadow Lake Fishing Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadow Lake Fishing Camp

Address: Box 38, Little Fort, British Columbia V0E 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,380 Speciality Lodging in British Columbia
Price Range: £54 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fish for the famous Kamloops trout that is known for its incredible size, fighting strength and tasty red meat.We provide you with everything you need to maximize your fishing experience: Accommodations, boats, fish cleaning/smoking/freezing, a full breakfast, packed lunch and a gourmet dinner, even transportation, all for one price.Come join our third generation guests and enjoy some of the most exciting fishing, scenic hiking and pleasurable relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meadow Lake Fishing Camp Canada/British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing