We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely - but with some reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast Chemainus
Ranked #1 of 10 Chemainus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Finding out that we had to share our bathroom facilities (i.e. shower) at check-in was not acceptable. There were no locks on the bathroom (on our side) or the bedroom. For a couple of older ladies travelling - this was not acceptable. The suite was lovely, breakfast was great and we loved Chemainus. The listing needs to be up front and tell guests that they will have to share their bathroom. I would rate this accommodation as 7.00 (due to the bathroom situation) - if this had not been a problem this hotel would receive a higher rating.

Room Tip: Check with the owner about the bathroom facilities if you don't want to share a bathroom before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglerock13, Owner at Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast Chemainus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Thanks so much for the review. We strive to take care of all of our guests to the utmost satisfaction. Based on your review, we have now added a separate bathroom with separate shower for the Iron Chateau making it into a full on-suite. This should resolve any issues with the shower, as each room has it own bathroom on suite, and a bathroom for any of their visitors. There are now 3.5 bathrooms for 2 rooms. Hope to see you again sometime in the future. The bedroom doors do have locks on them, however, they are not a typical lock since they are high quality door knobs, so I can understand why you may have missed them, unfortunate that you did not ask me, I would have been glad to show you the lock. We also publish in our “Guest Tips” booklet in each room how the locks function, it appears you may not have read the “Guest Tips” booklet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

There is a reason you see all the excellent reviews! Our trip was awesome! Thanks so much Jim & Katrina for sharing your beautiful home with us for our six night stay. The house is beautifully decorated, the view of the ocean "outstanding", Cook Beach is just across the street and a short walk down a pathway, the beds were very comfortable, the breakfasts totally yummy (thanks Jim!) and the house is very clean! If you are coming as a couple, stay in the king room. If you are coming as a family, the other bedroom could be used for the kids. About a 10 minute walk to downtown Chemainus, where there is local pottery shops and excellent coffee/bistro's. Nice spa's and most definately.... peaceful. Eagle Rock is a beautiful place to kick back and enjoy the ambience of Island living... Thanks again Jim & Katrina! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglerock13, Owner at Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast Chemainus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

It was certainly a pleasure to have both of you stay in our bed and breakfast. Really enjoyed our morning conversations. We hope to see you again when you are in Chemainus. Keep in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We had a very nice stay at Eagle Rock B&B in charming Chemainus. Jim and Katrina have a lovely home with a fantastic view of the ocean. They are friendly and helpful hosts and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NCudmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglerock13, Owner at Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast Chemainus, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

What a pleasure it was to meet you both. Katrina and I had such a great time visiting with you. When I visit Winnipeg, I will be sure and say hello.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Yes Yes! Would it be because of the warm welcome from Jim and Katrina? Their beautiful home? The oceanside location? The luxurious, spacious bedrooms? Jim's great breakfast? The answer is YES!! to all of them. This is a gem in hiding. We will tell our friends about it and we hope to return as soon as possible. Thanks Jim and Katrina for a delightful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglerock13, Owner at Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast Chemainus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

We very much enjoyed meeting you both. Conversations were stimulating and lots of fun. Keep in touch. Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Having never stayed at a B&B before, we may have just be converted. The rooms are beautiful,clean and had everything that we needed. I could have sat at the window seat forever,looking out at the ocean.Jim was very welcoming, making us feel that we were staying at a friends home. Thanks for a pleasant stay Jim. See you again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riverite2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglerock13, Owner at Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast Chemainus, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

What a delight it was to meet and serve both. Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed overnight on a trip to the Chemainus Theatre and the visit worked out really well. We had an opportunity to share breakfast with Katrina and Jim who proved to be both gracious and hospitable.

The house is new and very attractive with ready access to the ocean for kayakers and walkers. The bed was great and there was loads of room to lounge around.
WiFi and TV were provided and everything was clean.

The only drawback I can think of is that if both rooms are occupied then each would have a bathroom but it would be a shared shower.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglerock13, Owner at Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast Chemainus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

It was a pleasure to meet the both of you and my wife and I very much enjoyed our conversations, and the invitation to eat breakfast with you. Regarding the shared shower, to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us, we typically only have one guest at a time. We advertise both rooms for couples who are traveling together and wish to stay at the same Bed and Breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

There is a reason this B&B is top rated with every review being excellent. Eagle Rock is perched on a 20 foot rock overlooking the ocean and has a stunning view of the Georgia Straight, and Whistler Mountain range. The rooms are clean, very comfortable and well furnished with every amenity you could need. Your morning will begin with a great breakfast, cooked to order. I had the luxury of selecting what I wanted to eat and when. When you’re ready to start the day, you are just minutes away from hiking, kayaking, a walk on the private beach, wine tasting and restaurants. Perhaps most importantly, Jim and Katrina make you feel incredibly welcome and an honored guest. They know the area well, answer any questions you may have and will go out of their way to ensure your stay is perfect. You will not be disappointed staying at this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azwildcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chemainus
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
18.7 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Cove Inn
Castle Cove Inn
#8 of 10 in Chemainus
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.5 mi away
Two Eagles Lodge
Two Eagles Lodge
#1 of 1 in Union Bay
275 reviews
82.4 mi away
Reef Point Oceanfront B&B
Reef Point Oceanfront B&B
#3 of 30 in Ucluelet
144 reviews
98.5 mi away
BriMar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast Chemainus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast Chemainus

Address: 10150 Island View Close, Chemainus, British Columbia V0R 1K2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Chemainus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Chemainus
Price Range: £72 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast Chemainus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast, Vacation Rental Home in Chemainus British Columbia. We are a bed and breakfast where guests can enjoy luxury, privacy and comfort. To ensure this we have only 2 rooms allowing our guests the upmost privacy. We offer our guests not just a "room", but 1200 sq. Ft. Of luxury accommodations that include a private living room and dining room, ocean views with a beach that is just a few steps away. In addition to the elegant bedrooms, our guests enjoy tastefully furnished living area dressed in dark walnut hardwood floors, accent lighting, and granite breakfast bar with two10 foot window seats overlooking breathtaking views of the ocean. We are one of the few locations on Vancouver Island with beach access that will lead you to a semi private beach (only 50 feet away). You are afforded a private entrance so that you may enter and exit at your leisure. We provide an allergy friendly environment that is scent/pet/smoking free, recreational vehicle and boat Parking, central heating and air conditioning with a HEPA filtration system, on- demand hot water, wifi, Ipad, telephone, fax, copier, and use of our washer and dryer complete with iron & board. Our guests also enjoy our Concierge Services helping them to take advantage of all that Chemainus and Vancouver Island has to offer. This Seaside vacation home is a favorite for travelers seeking a beautiful, quiet, and scenic nature-filled destination. Chemainus Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast offers the best features of Hotels, Bed and Breakfasts (B&Bs), and Vacation Rentals providing comfort at a reasonably price for ocean-view luxury suites. Amenities include: Hearty breakfast, luxurious bathrooms, large shower, laundry, cable TV, gourmet kitchen, ocean-views, high-speed secure Wi-Fi,telephone that includes free local and long distance calls, and a private computer and printer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eagle Rock Bed and Breakfast Chemainus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Rock Bed And Breakfast Chemainus Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing