We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tired Next day!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chemainus
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I specifically ask for a quiet room and ended up next to noisy stairwell and a hotel full of teen hockey players!!!This has happened to me once before.Why do hotels put these groups ahead of their regular guests.I am so tired today!Screaming and yelling(inside/outside),running up and down the halls/stairwells,playing in and hogging the elevators etc. and all this well into the night!Who is supposed to be watching these kids?I also found some of the furniture very worn,including the bed,very soft.Positively,the hotel offer all was very nice and the staff were wonderful.Pretty good breakfast,too.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garyrwb912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChemainusBC, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2011

Rest and relaxation is very important and we totally understand your disappointment. We have zero tolerance for noise and hold the coach accountable if we have noise issues. In fact we refuse the team for two years if he/she does not control his kids. The room types needed which are spread all over the hotel and occupancy levels makes room blocking very difficult. Our sincerest apologies, as you can see from all other reviews your experience is not at all like us. I will have a look at your room to figure out what you saw but the bedding is new yet we understand bed comfort is a very personal thing, your bed does have a 3 inch topper which might not be what you liked. Please do not hesitate to personally connect with me. Lou R GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2011

This pleasant hotel in Chemainus is across the street from a liquor store and pub. The fairly new, pet friendly hotel has an indoor pool and jacuzzi and very well equipped fitness room. There is free wireless throughout and a lobby based terminal and printer. Breakfast of waffles, eggs, fruit, sausage etc is included as is a free newspaper. My modern room had a separate sitting room, a two burner cook-top, micro, fridge, two non HD tube TV's on multi-channel cable, two phones (one of them wireless), room safe, iron and board, coffee/tea, hair dryer and a very comfortable bed. The hotel offers massages. If there is a negative it is the very noisy in-room heat and AC unit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlegreVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChemainusBC, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2011

Dear previous guest.
Our team very much appreciates your kind comments and observation.
That heater / airconditioner will be looked at and replaced, take my word for it.
Lou R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The two ladies at the desk when we arrived were so friendly and nice to us,
The hotel was decorated for Christmas with a beauiful tree in the foyer. We even had a "little Christmas" tree on our dining table in our suite! It sure gave us a "home feeling".
There were two big windows and french doors out to a nice balcony overlooking the harbour with it's working people loading lumber at the dock. We truly enjoyed the suite.
The bed was nice with two big pillows, not the "flat nothing" pillows you get in many hotels. After a good sleep we went downstairs to an eating area and helped us self to a beautiful breakfast with everything.You could even make your own Belgium Waffle!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkgalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChemainusBestWestern, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Thank you for your very kind rating via the Tripadvisor survey site which I received today.

Thank you so much, we will pass the survey on to our staff; they I am sure will also be most appreciative.

Feedback from our guests is an important tool for us in evaluating our service and facilities.
Guest direct feedback is often the only way that we hear from valuable guests such as yourself, and is a way for us to become aware of inefficiencies that may have crept into our people oriented service operation. Again thank you for your compliments!!
Lou R. GM


We hope to see you back soon enjoying yourself at our Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Well, I've never stayed here before. Upon arriving, my 1st impressions were "wow, very nice". The lobby is spacious and well decorated. The staff is very friendly & helpful. The room I was in #321 has 9 foot ceilings and very nicely laid out. The hotel hallways are maintained well. There is an indoor pool. The conti/breakfast is from 7 - 9 and it has a good selection. The parking is not bad. This is perhaps the best Best Western on Vancouver island. 10 minutes to Duncan and 20 minutes to Nanaimo. I give it 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benPrinceGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChemainusBC, Manager at Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Thank you so much for your comments about our Best Western Plus. The team appreciates it!!
Lou R. GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We have been to the BW Chemainus Festival inn, and this is our second visit. We had 4 adults in the family suite and it was very well set up. Kitchen, sitting room & 2 bedrooms,& one bath. It would be nice if they had 2 baths for this type of room. There is no balcony nor special view. The room met our needs. We enjoyed the excellent breakfast that was offered. We were most thankful to the General Mgr for helping us find an item we had lost. The mgr & stafff were excellent in their effort not to give up and went the extra mile it assist us. Therefore, how can one say this place is not a great place to stay when the GM sets such a good example of customer service to his staff. No wonder it is #1 choice in Chemainus. Upon return to the VI, we would not think twice to reserve a room at this hotel. Highly recommend and look at their wonderful packages being offered.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazzle-free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChemainusBestWestern, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2010

Thank you very much for telling your online community about our cozy upscale Best Western in Chemainus. This is your second great reveiw of our Hotel and I trust you noticed since 2007 we now have a taxi shuttle, which you requested during 2006 and breakfast is now a full continental buffet. Lou R. GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My sister and Brother-in-law from Powell River, niece and great niece from Moose Jaw and myself from Kamloops, stayed in a wonderful suite on July 2, The room was spacious, and had all the comforts of home. I must remark on your staff, they were the best, especially, the 2 young ladies upon check-in and check-out.
Breakfast was great, great value with room price.

I will return again, thank you for the great stay and the kindness shown to my young niece.

The Keeping's, Kerney's and D Costain

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DodieKamloops_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChemainusBestWestern, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2010

Thank you very much for your observations and comments about our staff team, hotel and breakfast. We will pass your comments on to our team who will no doubt also be very appreciative. It is nice to continue to get such great comments. We too love our hotel and Chemainus. Lou GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

...has everything but a view.

Stayed here August 13, 2010 with my two sisters who were attending a concert at the Cowichan Exhibition Park.

The rooms were immaculate (very important in a hotel) and the duvets and the beds very comfortable. One thing I noticed was that there was a great variety of lighting from floor lamps to task lighting over the stovetop (provided by the microwave - including a nite lite setting). Most hotels have inadequate lighting, but this hotel has done a very good job of lighting the room.

The kitchen was very well equipped and had a microwave, fridge and dishwasher (all stainless steel) as well as a small 2-burner stovetop.

The bathroom was small, but again, very clean, and it did have the newer curved shower curtain rod (makes the shower feel much roomier).

Staff was great. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyReidFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChemainusBC, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2010

We appreciate your review, did you know thatmost of our rooms are "suites" with kitchennette?
Thank you for telling your online community about our cozy and elegant Inn. From the top floor you can see the water and via several rooms you see the golf course which is across from our Inn. Lou R GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chemainus
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,542 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 47 in Victoria
2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kiwi Cove Lodge
#1 of 1 in Ladysmith
91 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn

Address: 9573 Chemainus Rd, Chemainus, British Columbia V0R 1K5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Chemainus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chemainus
Price Range: £82 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top choice among Vancouver Island hotels, the Chemainus Inn is a Best Western Plus hotel with suite-style rooms, and both 4 Green Key and CAA/AAA 3-Diamond ratings. During your stay our friendly staff will do whatever they can to cater to your every need. We offer a complimentary hot buffet breakfast, high-speed internet, indoor pool, hot tub, exercise centre, and convenient parking, plus many other amenities designed to keep you comfortable. Best of all, we offer a wide variety of Vancouver Island hotel packages that allow you to save money and get the most out of your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chemainus Hotel Chemainus
Best Western Chemainus
Chemainus Best Western
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing