We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable suite.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chemainus
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable suite.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Chemainus Best Western Plus and found the room to be very clean, probably one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in. The staff was friendly and accommodating and our stay was pretty event free, other than the people upstairs stomping back and forth into the night, and again early in the morning. I believe it was a softball tournament that weekend so that may explain the rowdiness.. The bed was very comfy, and the a/c quiet so we were not disturbed with it coming on and going off during the night. The only thing we did not like was the coffee in the suite (tasted like dirty socks) and their buffet breakfast. When I got to the dining area there was no coffee, no eggs and the sausages and bacon were raw looking. I discovered they microwave the bacon and sausages and I just find that gross... the bacon was fatty and looked like it had just been taken out of the package and the sausages were that grey color they are when they are not cooked. I like my sausages browned and bacon well done, but not crisp, and I guess microwaving just doesn't give you that. The toaster was turned way way down, so it took me about 4 tries to get my bread half way toasted. We opted in going out for breakfast to a restaurant nearby after our first morning. Otherwise, a very nice place to stay and close to the highway for a quick getaway in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maitiemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainushotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that breakfast was not to your liking its hard to find the right state for bacon we do try to vary it. I personally like it wriggly but understand that many people like it well done. AS to the sausages - I am currently reviewing how they are done.
Your feedback is always welcomed its how we learn to improve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    125
    22
    2
    0
See reviews for
153
222
16
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

With the Chemainus Theatre Festival practically next door; there is a guaranteed accommodation base for this well-run Best Western Plus.
We arrived to a friendly welcome and a two bedroom suite. More space than we really required and we certainly did not need three flat screen television sets. It did set the mood. It was positive
in all respects.
We had ample time to settle in before going to the Chemainus Theatre for a buffet dinner in their dining room and an excellent production of Les Miserables.
The complimentary breakfast was basically the standard fare, but some items, like the scrambled eggs were better than most.
The overall rating is based upon a very efficiently run operation, without any faults.

Room Tip: For your best buy, explore hotel discounts and theatre-linked offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainushotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review we look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Island trip with my boys. Combined business and leisure. My boys are hectic, so they loved the pool! We stayed in a two bedroom suite with kitchenette which was perfect. Two little guys on the sleeper couch, one with me and my older son and his girlfriend had their own room. We were stoked to discover the Xbox Live worked on the complimentary WiFi :) The staff were awesome with them and very accommodating. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainushotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and nice to know that our internet WiFi kept up with Xbox Live - keep on gaming :) !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is kept busy by theatre goers, so they can, and do, price it higher than it is worth. That being said, it is the nicest hotel in the area. It is clean and everything looks new. I would normally give it a higher rating, but I think it is fair to expect granite counters and luxury shower stalls for the price you must pay for this hotel on the edge of a small village where property is less expensive. If returning for another theatre getaway we would probably stay there again because, as I said, it is very nice, just overpriced and there is little competition.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cordova_Bay_Folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainushotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, your comments have been duly noted in regard to our rates, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north vancouver
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

New hotel with nice facility, check in staff not very friendly. Issues with our group booking with credit cards and hotel points. Some of us received points and some did not? None of us could use our own credit cards to pay, this was a huge issue. Internet did not work well which was another big issue. Rooms were decent and the property was clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithfamily64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainushotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment, with respect to your group booking I do apologise for the confusion. We did on many occasions advise your coach, prior to arrival, that most sport team groups book as a group with individual pick up, he however wanted to book as a group with one payee getting a better rate, we also pointed out that BW points would not be applicable. Even when you were here we talked to your coach about the situation and he confirmed to keep it as he negotiated with a single payee.
We are sorry that this caused so much confusion and hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were very pleased with the total experience of this hotel. The room was had a nice balcony with a terrific panoramic view of the Mount Breton Golf Course and surrounding terrain.The buffet breakfast was the best we have encountered of its kind over our past may years of travel. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Chemainus Theatre where we enjoyed a production of Les Miserables. The hotel stay and show made for us a relaxed and very enjoyable getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ken094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainushotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, very much appriciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were returning from a long trip, including several ferry trips. This location was the last on our agenda. It was centrally located for the event which we attended. I remembered this hotel from our previous visit to Chemainus, as I thought it resembled either a mansion or a modren castle. The grounds are well maintained and resemble existing flora and fauna. Beautiful, current, clean, luxurious accomodations for a very reasonable rate! Service with a smile and additional amenities... well worth it! Wished we could stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainushotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chemainus
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
Address: 9573 Chemainus Road, Chemainus, British Columbia V0R 1K5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Chemainus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chemainus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top choice among Vancouver Island hotels, the Chemainus Inn is a Best Western Plus hotel with suite-style rooms, and both 4 Green Key and CAA/AAA 3-Diamond ratings. During your stay our friendly staff will do whatever they can to cater to your every need. We offer a complimentary hot buffet breakfast, high-speed internet, indoor pool, hot tub, exercise centre, and convenient parking, plus many other amenities designed to keep you comfortable. Best of all, we offer a wide variety of Vancouver Island hotel packages that allow you to save money and get the most out of your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chemainus Hotel Chemainus
Best Western Chemainus
Chemainus Best Western
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing