We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop-over in Chilliwack”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chilliwack
Certificate of Excellence
Manukau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stop-over in Chilliwack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We were heading to the Kootenays, and needed a bed for the night.
Having just left Vancouver Island straight after work, we figured Chilliwack is a good place to stop for the night, before driving on the next day.
Found this online at a special rate of $59 for a standard room. This includes parking, wifi and a cooked breakfast.
Kinda reminded me of a saloon, I guess its a really old building.
It's a really nice looking hotel, and the staff were very nice to deal with.
Awesome complinentary cooked breakfast, but this may change as the restaurant is going to be a separate business.
Will likely make this our overnight stop, on similar road trips. Likely try an upgrade to one of the nice rooms other reviewers have mentioned.

Room Tip: I stayed in the standard room, which is fair size and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieM0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    64
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
43
54
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed 1 night in a renovated historic room. We booked through Priceline and the hotel provided excellent value for money. The Hotel has been operating over 100 years so has some great history. The room was very clean and nicely maintained. We loved the spacious size and the claw foot bath was a highlight. The staff were very helpful, this was our first night away with a young baby and they made us feel at home, latching the door open for us as I brought in all the equipment one has when travelling with a baby! There is no elevator so that may be an issue for some people. Breakfast in the morning was good old-fashioned home cooking, prepared after we ordered it rather than being buffet-style. Parking is only on the street but the downtown was pretty quiet and seemed fairly safe- we had no issues. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would do so again. It also felt good to support a local and historic business and was a great change from the usual run of the mill hotel rooms that the chain hotels offer.

Room Tip: Book a restored room with clawfoot bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoriakiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

Enjoyed a pleasant 1 night stay in a charming 'antique room' in this restored hotel in Feb 2011. Have stayed in this hotel many times over the last 7 years and found good consistency in cleanliness, food and service. The street rooms can be a little noisy - however, the rooms facing the back are quiet. There is no elevator which could be an issue for some....but wasn't a problem for me as there are only 2 floors. Overall it is great value.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Clean, comfortable rooms. Conveniently situated with good parking.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdwilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Just spent a night at the Royal Hotel,after having spent a few days fishing in the area.Upgraded to an "antique" room
fancied the idea of soaking in a warm claw foot tub.The room was quite spacious,clean and served its purpose.Got off to a rocky start as the neighbours seemed pretty loud,banging doors,shouting.loud music etc.Fortunately this
never translated into anything major as I didnt hear a peep from them later that evening.Perhaps they all passed out in the downstairs pub.
The hotel is in a dicey area-hardly any restaurants of note in the area- I ventured out at around 8 pm in search of dinner,to be met with an army of menacing looking homeless people.Beat a hasty retreat to the hotel and had dinner at the Hotel's Royal Cafe-not recommended-I was the only diner.
The hotel is actually quite quaint and it certainly was an adequate stay- on the way to the hotel I passed the Vedder River Inn,which seemed much swankier and a lot closer to the Vedder River.Would give them a shot next time.
Should mention the free breakfast at the Royal is pretty good-toast ,sausage,hash browns,coffee,juice etc.
PRO's: Nice building,clean,friendly staff,good breakfast,fair
price (paid $80 for the upgraded room)
CON's: poor area,minute TV set,might have to put up with rowdy fishermen.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuckle154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

The Royal Hotel is a nicely restored old building with "regular" and "antique" rooms. The regular rooms seemed small and unattractive but the "antique" rooms were charming. The only disadvantage of our room was the street-front location, which was a bit noisy at night. The overall value is excellent as an outstanding breakfast is served: we were served well prepared and attractively presented plates of scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns and toast. Free wifi

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

I grew up in Chilliwack and was pleasantly surprised at the great renovation job on the Royal hotel. The old wood and historic atmosphere in the lobby and hall has been retained, but the rooms are totally upgraded. My standard room was small but contained everything I needed. The bed was very comfortable, and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Very comfortable and no noise from the bar that is attached to the hotel. Front desk were helpful and friendly. My only small quibble - the key to the great hospitality room (computer, fridge, microwave, sink and dining area) has to be picked up and taken back to the front desk every time you want to use it. A bit of a pain. Why not give the guests a key?
Lastly - full scrambled egg/hash browns/toast breakfast included, very tasty.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pentys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chilliwack hotels
0.2 mi away
Coast Chilliwack Hotel
Coast Chilliwack Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chilliwack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn By Hilton Chilliwack
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Chilliwack
Travelodge Chilliwack
#5 of 9 in Chilliwack
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Rainbow Country Inn
4.4 mi away
Vedder River Inn
Vedder River Inn
#6 of 9 in Chilliwack
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 9 in Chilliwack
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 45886 Wellington Ave, Chilliwack, British Columbia V2P 2C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Chilliwack
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chilliwack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At our charming heritage hotel in the heart of Chilliwack, we carry on the tradition of service and quality that began with our establishment over a century ago. Lovingly maintained with original antique appointments, our hotel offers a window into the past while providing the modern traveler with all the comforts of home.Our accommodations feature hotel rooms with authentic period details including hardwood floors, vintage furniture and clawfoot tubs, complemented by 21st-century perks like free Wi-Fi and flatscreen TVs. Located near the historic Five Corners in downtown Chilliwack, the Royal Hotel is surrounded by shops and restaurants that reflect the heritage of our original city centre. It's an easy walk to Prospera Centre, the Law Courts and dozens of other Chilliwack, BC attractions. The Royal Hotel is more than just a place to sleep. It's an experience. It's a gateway to the past and a place to celebrate the present. Most of all, it's a place to be taken care of by people who truly value your business. Every guest is special to us and every stay deserves to be unforgettable. Book one of our historic Royal Hotel rooms today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing