We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Chilliwack Hotel(Chilliwack)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vedder River Inn(Chilliwack)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SureStay Hotel By Best Western Chilliwak(Chilliwack)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Motor Inn(Chilliwack)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Chilliwack)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Harrison Hot Springs Resort & Spa(Harrison Hot Springs)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Harrison Lake Hotel(Harrison Hot Springs)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
117
79
23
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
79
23
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage hotelantique roomno elevatorclaw foot tubwood floorsturn of the centurycharming hotelcommon roomlots of historyhoneymoon suitestep back in timecharacter and charmheart of downtowngood nights sleepbeautiful roomquiet at nightstaff were amazing
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I recently returned from a fishing holiday in BC and I had the pleasure of staying at the Royal Hotel. The interior was like no other hotel I have stayed in, a real throwback to colonial times, with wood paneling and decor. The staff were friendly and willing to go the extra mile to accomodate our needs during the duration of my stay. The place has real character and is as far detached from the usual 'sterile hotel' as you could possibly imagine. It is nice to see someone is prepared to 'think outside the box' and give quality at a reasonable price. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Well, thanks for staying with us and enjoying the character and pleasantness of staying with us. Providing that quality alternative at great value is what we want to continue to do. While there is that "throwback", everything that is expected in a hotel room today is in place as well, as you noted so well. We'll look forward to your next return. Thanks for sharing your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I recently had a business conference at Harrison Hot Springs and decided to stay in Canada an extra day. To my utter delight, I discovered the Royal Hotel. I have always appreciated history and the efforts of the management to preserve the character of this hotel is amazing. And if that wasn't enough, Eileen, at the front desk was a joy. Not only did she show us several rooms to consider, she also gave excellent recommendations of where to go watch the game and get a 'beer and a burger'. She even called the place to make sure they had the game on!!
I will definitely go back to the Royal Hotel, as well as the Royal Cafe. Thank you for your generous hospitality. I felt right at home.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clonbur83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thanks for sharing your review - and for staying with us. Finding the right balance with keeping the history alive and being there 105 years later is the fun that we are having at the Royal. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the good food and the location for other activities. So did your team win? Thanks for your comments about guest service as well - we do want to provide that exquisite service that makes you enjoy your stay and want to come back. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This building has been remodeled but has kept some of the original fittings such as clawfoot bathtubs. Clean and spacious. No elevator but that did not inconvenience us at all.
The front desk staff were very helpful, pleasant and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again. Location very central.

Room Tip: If you are fit, choose the top floor if possible as it is quieter
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianONeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thanks for providing your review and enjoying the experience of staying with us. Actually, the claw foot tubs are part of the remodel. When the hotel was built, the only bathroom facilities were common "down the hall" type facilities! But the claw tub does reflect the period of the hotel. The central location to downtown with the cultural and sports facilities all nearby as well as some unique shopping does make for a great location. Look forward to your next visit here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed one night on a little getaway from the city. Room was very clean and staff were friendly and helpful. Had wonderful character and was much smaller than more modern hotel rooms; but still everything one would need (so happy there was a kuerig in the room) the only suggestion I would like to see is a newer tv as well as new pillows-ours were flatish. Great location with some lovely shops and great to have both a restaurant and a pub in the location.

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator so keep that in mind if you have access issues
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kymchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and to provide your comments. Making sure that the rooms meet your every need is important to us - so thanks for your comments. Another option for your next stay would be to stay in one of our Antique themed rooms that would be larger than the European sized Comfort room you had for this stay. Having the unique shops to walk to and the café and pub in the hotel does make for a great and relaxing getaway weekend. Thanks for staying - we'll look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Found this one out by a local who recommended it as we didn't plan on staying in Chilliwack. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The Hotel appears to have been refurbished recently, our room had a claw foot bath and toilet. We found the room spacious and comfortable. The cafe attached to the Hotel was good and the staff lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thanks so much for staying with us and providing your review comments. You are correct that we have refurbished the rooms to have them keep their historical character and yet be comfortable with the amenities and comforts you expect. The convenience of a good café that serves you well and with great food certainly makes the stay enjoyable and convenient. Again, thanks for staying - and hopefully we'll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews