We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Motor Inn(Chilliwack)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Chilliwack Hotel(Chilliwack)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vedder River Inn(Chilliwack)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SureStay Hotel By Best Western Chilliwak(Chilliwack)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Chilliwack)
US$80
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrison Lake Hotel(Harrison Hot Springs)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Glencoe Motel(Harrison Hot Springs)
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
115
79
23
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
79
23
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage hotelantique roomno elevatorclaw foot tubwood floorsturn of the centurycharming hotelcommon roomlots of historyhoneymoon suitestep back in timecharacter and charmheart of downtowngood nights sleepbeautiful roomquiet at nightstaff were amazing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in one of the heritage rooms and it was exactly like the professional photos on the website. I loved the century stylings: even the 2.5' x 2.5' "toilet closet" and the clawfoot tub right in the room. The wood in the hotel is gorgeous. The bed was mostly comfortable, but if you are very fussy about the firmness of your mattress, you might be disappointed. Fluffy pillows and fluffy comforter too. Upstairs neighbours were up early and since there are no carpets and old floors, it was a little loud too early for my tastes. Otherwise, the area was quiet at night.

Room Tip: Get a heritage room. Be sure not to get one over the pub. 3rd floor is quieter than 2nd.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thanks for your review - enjoyed reading it. Thanks for your affirmation that the web site correctly shows what the hotel and the experience of staying with us will be. When the rooms were re-done to the current layouts, creativity was required and hence the unique configuration in some guest rooms with claw foot tubs and 'toilet closets'. The rich wood contributes to the alive sounds so we are taking whatever steps possible to mitigate sound transfer so that you are able to enjoy the good nights sleep uninterrupted in the fluffy comforters and pillows. Thanks for staying with us - look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed recently in queen room with clawfoot tub, very quaint yet updated with modern heating/cooling, internet, high water pressure. Rooms was spacious, clean and peaceful. Staff were friendly and gracious. Keurig drink machine was a neat novelty.

Room Tip: See whats available to match your needs, note no elevator.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiffaniVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and for the careful review of our hotel and your experience here. Providing an experience with the character of the hotel yet the comfort expected is what we do want to make sure and provide for all. We do look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I loved the creakiness of the floors, the claw foot tub, down quilt, comfortable pillows, and transom windows above the doors. It made me feel as if I was going back to another era. The room was super clean, and the beds comfortable. I recently moved to the Chilliwack area and have eaten in the hotel restaurant several times on separate occasions and the food is always delicious, and well prepared.

A great place to stay in downtown Chilliwack at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a claw foot tub just for the experience.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraceT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for describing your experience here - some things do need to be experienced to be enjoyed! In addition to the character of the hotel, we do want to make sure that expectations of cleanliness, comfortable beds and great food in the café are also part of the experience. Again, thanks for your comments - we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Combine one of the best prices for a hotel in Chilliwack, great customer service, a comfortable place to stay, and a cool old hotel experience, and you have the Royal Hotel. Loved the old flooring, the high ceilings, and the ambiance. One anecdote to illustrate something about this hotel. It is an older building so the window was rattling a little and was bothering me as I tried to fall asleep, so I stuffed some paper into the crack and it was fine. The next day the cleaning lady noticed the paper, and had the window looked after, and it was perfect for night two. Great service!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for your comments. Hey, we want the whole experience of having stayed at the Royal to be, well... Royal! Are pleased that you chose to stay with us and enjoyed what we had to offer: our character hotel and location, our service, and great value. We look forward to having you come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Although the hotel was an older building, my hotel suite was nicely furnished. The smallest rooms are smaller than other suites I have stayed at but also more affordable and the room felt clean. The concierge team was friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located in a convenient location (i.e. downtown Chilliwack). Of the three other hotels/inns I have stayed at in Chilliwack, I would rank this one No. 1 based on the aforementioned criteria. For light sleepers, it can get a bit noisy in the morning (i.e. shower/faucet noises from adjacent suites, doors opening/closing in the hallways) but nothing a good set of earplugs can't adequately circumvent. My overall "Excellent" rating takes into account the value I got per money spent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks for providing your comments. Getting excellent value is so important - thanks for affirming for us that we are on the right track. Impeccable cleanliness should be the standard; the downtown location does provide for some excellent opportunities for shops and eateries, including the café and pub at the Royal. Being the older building that it is with it's wood floors and antique doors, the sounds of life are very alive in it although we are taking whatever steps possible to mitigate noise as much as possible. Again, thanks for your comments, we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews