We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room with poor service”
Review of Vedder River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vedder River Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Chilliwack
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average room with poor service”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The room was a bit small than expected. No microwave and had to go to the office to use it. Service was poor from the moment of reservation to the time to check out. Had to wait the whole day and had to call seven times just to get the reservation confirmation emailed. The gentleman at the front desk upon arrival was polite and helpful but the lady on the next day was unfriendly and cold. Overall, wasn't much of a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ananas103_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vedderriver, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
We are sorry to hear our service was not exceptional. Your indication of staff will help us review this situation with them. We have a variety of rooms, and not all have microwaves at this time. We thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    61
    28
    6
    11
See reviews for
40
50
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have stayed here near a dozen weekends over the last year because the Vedder offers something that's hard to find. And that's a wheelchair accesable suite with all the fixings. Like a roll in shower with the correct plumbing, proper wall bars around a raised toilet, recessed vanity and enough space. The rooms are fairly spartan, but that helps us as laminate floors in the travel areas are better than carpet. To top it off, they put the bed on rails rather than the standard box so that the legs of the portable person lift ( to transfer from wheelchair to bed) would roll under the bed. Sure, some of the extra amenities found in higher end motels are missing, but then the price is right, so we are getting value and good service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vedderriver, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always happy to hear any suggestions for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The Vedder presents nicely with good landscaping and nice looking rooms. My room was clean and had plenty of space. However, the lighting was very dim. I wasn't able to find Kleenex in the room so had to make do with toilet tissue or run to the car to get my own tissue. Breakfast was not included. There are restaurants in the area, though. There was some confusion about price when booking because the on-line rate wasn't stated clearly and differed significantly from the rate quoted by Vedder over the phone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canonista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vedderriver, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will take all your comments into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed two nights here so we got a good feel for the rooms, staff, and location. First of all the staff was great at the both check in and check out. There is no restaurant to eat at but the hotel does offer discounts at two places just a short walk away. They did offer coffee and fruit in the morning. The rooms were clean and nicely updated. the heated bathroom floor was a nice touch. The only drawback was the walls were thin and you could hear talking and foot steps from above. Also the first night a group of teenagers were there and they were very noisy. All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyTRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vedderriver, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Every response is important , to help us continue to improve our guest services.

Sincerely

Leslie Schopf
Vedder River Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I travel extensively throughout North America for sales and have stayed at a plethora of hotels. Some great and some horrific. There are really only 3 things that make a hotel room good in my book. 1. Bed - it has to be comfy and clean 2. Room - is it in shambles? does the heat/AC work?
3. Internet - is it fast and reliable?

Vedder River Inn met all three of my criteria and then continued to wow me.
Not only was their front desk staff friendly and accommodating, but they also had a 2 computer business center in the lobby with a nice 3 in 1 printer!

Not bad for $75/nt!

I would definately stay here again and would recommend this to all.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor if you don't want to walk up some stairs, but ask for a top floor if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0adwarri0r_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vedderriver, Public Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Super to hear thanks for taking the time to write a review. We will make sure your top three list is continually met for each guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Room was nice and clean plus a good size for the 2 of us. Bed was very comfortable and our room also had a tv and fridge. Bathroom was a good size with a shower and clean towels. One thing I would say is the room lacks character, maybe a bit of colour. The only thing is that in the night the fridge did seem loud which woke me up a couple of times. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included but it is only mainly a coffee and a muffin. Close to shops and restuarants.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second level which was quite, the only time you heard someone was when they wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vedderriver, Public Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Chilliwack.

Sincerely,
Leslie Schopf
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This is a very affordable, clean and well located hotel. After traveling across Canada to relocate in chilliwack, we needed to stay for 5 days waiting for our new place. It was just perfect. We got the exact jr. Suite I requested, with a small kitchenette and all the services needed. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is always parking and it is located along the most important avenue of the city. By Staying here you get a 4 stars hotel for the price of a 2 stars one. You can't get better than that!
Thank you.

Room Tip: 247 is like a small apartment that feels like home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vedderriver, General Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Here at the Vedder River Inn all of the staff thank you for your wonderful feed back. Your input is important to us. Our goal is to thrive for better customer service and to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We are happy we could make your transition to your new home an easier one welcome to Chilliwack. :)

All the best and take care.

Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chilliwack hotels
3.4 mi away
Best Western Rainbow Country Inn
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 9 in Chilliwack
177 reviews
4.2 mi away
Coast Chilliwack Hotel
Coast Chilliwack Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chilliwack
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn By Hilton Chilliwack
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Chilliwack
Travelodge Chilliwack
#6 of 9 in Chilliwack
401 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chilliwack
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedder River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedder River Inn

Property: Vedder River Inn
Address: 5788 Vedder Rd, Chilliwack, British Columbia V2R 1C4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Chilliwack
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Chilliwack
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vedder River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 50 unit Chilliwack hotel, 5 minutes south off of HWY #1, Exit #119. Nearby Cultus Lake, Canada Lands, and the Vedder River. Luxury suites available. Multipurpose room also available for small meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vedder River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedder River Hotel Chilliwack

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing