We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic Experience!!!”

Great River Fishing Adventures
Ranked #1 of 13 Tours in Chilliwack
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1988, we are one of the largest fully guided sport-fishing operators on the Fraser River and it's tributaries. Every year, thousands of tourists from all over the world visit us to experience the world-renowned fishing and natural wonder of the Fraser River in beautiful British Columbia. This calm water fishery features over ten species of sport fish and year round opportunities for the novice and expert angler alike. We fish the #1 Sturgeon, Salmon and Trout rivers in the World. We specialize in multiple styles of fishing to meet the needs of any angler. Have you ever caught or touched a real living Dinosaur? We specialize in targeting White Sturgeon, a species that can grow over 20 feet in length and over a 1000lbs. These magnificent creatures make spectacular jumping displays and runs that will excite every angler. We also fish for all 5 species of Wild Pacific Salmon and boast the largest and most experienced team of fly fishing guides on the entire river. We exclusively travel to the Upper Pitt River and Lillooet River to chase sea run Dolly Varden, Bull Trout, Rainbow and migrating Salmon. When fishing with us the opportunities are endless and each adventure is personally customized so you can focus on the reason you are here......to fish!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic Experience!!!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Got to the launch location at 745, boat was ready to rock and roll! Our guide John was full of energy, animated, and wonderfully knowledgeable. We caught 3 fish in a 4 hour tour, 2 of which were over 6 FEET LONG! The entire experience was excellent and professionally coordinated. I would highly recommend this fishing trip to anyone!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    41
    3
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lima
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Father's day trip!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My brother and I booked a 6 hour sturgeon fishing trip with Great River Fishing for a Father's day gift for our dad. Matthew organized the trip for us, getting us prepared and set us up with Ben as our guide. Ben was a great guide, he was very knowledgeable, had some great stories and has his special bait that the sturgeon love! We had a beautiful, clear day on the Fraser, it was a slower start in the morning as the sturgeons were just biting, but not wanting to eat, but Ben kept taking us to new spots and finally we found a spot where they were hungry. We ended up bagging 3 in that spot, with our Dad bringing in a 6.5 footer to finish the day!!!

Definitely recommend both Ben and Great River Fishing, we had an amazing trip and will be back again for sure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank roscoe9_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Absolutely fantastic! We showed up at at about 07:45 for our 08:00 departure. The boats were there, in the water, ready to take us. John was our guide - super nice and very welcoming guy. John knows his stuff. We talked his ear off with all sorts of questions about fishing in the Fraser.He was more than happy to answer everything with a smile. We purchased the four hour trip for two people from Groupon - $200. This is a GREAT deal. About 90 minutes in we hooked into our first Sturgeon - it was about a 30 lbs fish. Nothing big for a sturgeon, but still a thrill just to catch one. Shortly after - BOOM! A 6'7" sturgeon was breaching out of the water not far behind us. All four of us (two other really nice guys were on the boat with us) took turns fighting the monster. After about 30 minutes we got the fish in. We read the electronic tag, measured it, and released it after taking several pictures. According to the size chart, it was about 150 lbs. Our day could not have got any better, when five minutes later, we hooked into another one! This one took about 20 minutes to get in. Measured in at 6'4" - nearly as bug as the previous one. We were beyond thrilled to have caught TWO monsters in such a short period of time. I never knew four hours could pass so quickly. Thanks again to John for such a fantastic experience! You will be seeing us again soon :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nik12345918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Success!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We took my Dad sturgeon fishing for his birthday this June. We had a great time. Our guide, Ben, was very knowledgeable and easy to chat to. We ended up hooking a 6.5 foot sturgeon! Ben talked us through how to reel it in and even took some great photos for us. We had an excellent day on the river. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“TRIP BACK IN TIME”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Fishing with Great River Fishing Adventures has always been well worth the 2-1/2 hour drive from Seattle; amazing fishery, great guides, excellent gear. This past trip was by far the best. We went with Curtis on a long but gorgeous boat ride across a lake to a river that NO ONE else was on. We never saw another human all day. (Ask Dean what river we were on--it's against the fisherman in me to give away such a perfect, unspoiled location). A beautiful day to be fly casting for cuts, bows and bulls; of which I got a few of each. Pretty good for a relative novice. Curtis was very helpful, providing instruction and some great stories as well. Can't wait to go again. I hope not to see you there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W, Owner at Great River Fishing Adventures, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Tim, thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we are thankful to have you as another long time friend and client of the GRFA family. Yes, this is a very incredible wilderness river experience and if anyone wants to fly fish it with us, they can contact us. Teaching and making every angler proficient in their preferred method like fly casting in this case, is what our goal is each and every day. Showing you places that are not spoiled by mankind and are like fishing 100 years ago is something that most never forget. We look forward to having you back next year and fishing up there in our wilderness fly fishing camp for 3 days <")))><DW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great River Fishing Adventures also viewed

Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 

Been to Great River Fishing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing