We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!! (grizzly lake trail)”

Tombstone Territorial Park
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Dawson City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!! (grizzly lake trail)”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We spent two days hiking here and it was the most incredible hiking experience we have ever had. We checked in at the visitor center before our hike to get our camping permit. The lady there was very nice and helpful, and the building is really nice. We did the Grizzly Lake trail which was just amazing. The scenery is out of this world, the terrain always changing, and you feel as though you're the only person in the world when you're sitting on the backside of a huge mountains baking in the sun....completely peacful and surreal :) We found the hike challenging. Its just under 12km each way, and you reach about 2600 feet elevation. About 2km into the hike the incline starts and doesnt end for another 2 km. Also a lot of the trail is walking over loose rocks or huge boulders so it was a challenge. The destination was worth it all though. Just make sure you are prepared. It gets pretty cold at night, also right before you get to the tent pads you have to cross a river and if the water is high you cant avoid getting wet so bring extra dry clothes. We saw marmot, pikka, ground squirrels, eagles and a mama black bear with her cub all along the way. Good idea to make lots of noise while you're hiking to warn bears that you're coming. I also really like the effort being put in to conservation here....I hope they keep that up and that people respect the area because it is a paradise :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelChick85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    19
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Courbevoie, France
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Saw a wolverine !”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We did the Grizzly Creek walk on July 31, 2013. The hike is gorgeous, that day it was very hot, so very hard especially when you leave the forest and there are no more trees to protect. But when you get to the viewpoint, seeing the mountains and the grizzly lake at the bottom, you feel like you will never forget that moment, and I won't. And we saw a wolverine just near the car park ! Amazing...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beatiful Views”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Great place, nice clean visiters center. Nice walk down ot the campgound. Just past the visitors center is a nice lookout to get some great pictures. On the other side of the road is a nice bluff that is a easy climb to get more great pics.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornbury, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The view from the main lookout will take your breath away. The Dempster highway is in great shape within the park boundaries, there is an interpretive centre with very helpful staff.....and the park is amazing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cantu, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Once-in-a-lifetime experience”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is one of the best place I've ever seen... You just can't imagine that something similiar could exists, especially when you are used to metropolitan skyline like me (from Milan, Italy). It is so beautiful that seems to be fake.
I've been here in summer, driving on a RV from Dawson City. Weather was not good, but at least it does not rain.
The most impressive thing is the colours: dark gray, yellow, different shades of green, all mixed up in a wonderful landscape. The wilderness of the park let you feel real nature, and gives you an incredible sense of adventure. And the intrpretive centre is a great addiction (as all Parks Canada centres) that enhance the expierence.Last but not least, to be there you should drive the Dempster Highway: great stuff!
Definetely somwhere to go: absolutely breathtaking.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Matteo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tombstone Territorial Park also viewed

 

Been to Tombstone Territorial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing