We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arrived a stranger, left a friend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Wood Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duncan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Wood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 18 Duncan B&B and Inns
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Arrived a stranger, left a friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Outstanding house, breakfast and hosts ... will definitely return. Modern, classy decor - very comfortable rooms - beautiful grounds with huge (1/3 acre) swimming pond - great location for all of Cowichan Valley - large, tasty breakfasts ... Rob and Suzie are doing a great job of making guests feel welcome. Thanks folks!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rickity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
57
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Great location on a seclude tree covered plot with a swimming pool (looks like a pond). Beautiful rooms with a perfect bed. Fantastic breakfast. Access to a games room with a big screen TV. Good for a home base for traveling or just relaxing. Rob made a reservation for us at a tasty restaurant, the Genoa Bay Cafe. Susie gave us a bottle of champagne as a honeymoon present. On top of all this, we saw two deer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suur_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed at Stone Wood B&B for three nights, attending a wedding nearby and we can’t praise it enough. First, the location: set in a secluded, beautiful and peaceful spot in the woods, yet near Duncan, a town with a rich history of native culture as well as all the modern conveniences. It is about 45 minutes' drive from Victoria. Instead of the typical B&B in the Victoria area, which is a renovated old house, hosts Rob and Susie built Stone Wood from the ground up to be a B&B (they live on the first floor). As a result, the place is new, with modern fixtures and numerous well thought out touches ranging from the layout to the furniture to free wi-fi. We rented the suite on the second floor, which has a separate entrance. It was very spacious and comfortable, just like a large apartment, with a full kitchen and a view of the gardens that surround the home. Hosts Rob and Susie were wonderful. All we had to do was mention anything and they immediately responded. They even made reservations for us at two excellent restaurants a few minutes’ drive away on the coast. And speaking of food, they are excellent cooks: breakfasts were gourmet.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidsad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

I was completely blown away by the impeccable service provided at the StoneWood B&B. The accomodation was beautiful to say the least, very modern, clean and friendly. Little extras were provided that made us feel like family rather than strangers. I would definitely return myself and without question would recommend the Lapsley's incredible B&B to friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmclark80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoges ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

My Husband and I arrived in Duncan 1 day earlier than expected with some friends. We called Stone wood and Rob and Sue were more than happy to have us check in earlier. We arrived at Stonewood and felt like we were immediately part of their family, we were greated with open arms, shown around the house and given the rules, the only rule being "Just don't curl up in my bed". We all unpacked and headed outside to the beautiful yard, complete with a beautiful man made swimming area. The rooms were spacious and very clean, the bed was like sleeping on a cloud, and the breakfast in the morning was absolutely amazing. We stayed for 4 nights and wished we could have stayed longer.
Rob and Sue, thank you for an amazing getaway we would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherisse74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoges
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

everything from the food to rooms to the view to the wonderful hospitality was great. we could not have had a better experience if we planned every detail. rob and susie were so gracious and made us feel right at home, actually better because we cant cook that well.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilLimoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Well appointed and spacious rooms, beautiful location, peace and quiet yet minutes from town. Rob and Susie are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts are the best we have had in a B&B. You won't be disappointed.
This place was designed as a B&B - the offered rooms are not someone's extra bed rooms. As a guest you have the option of conversation or not as the private entry leads directly to either the living room or your own room, which is large enough to host company or your own quiet thoughts. The breakfasts are pure quality with the owner taking pride in whatever he serves. In the Duncan area, you cannot do better.



B

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edieandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
3.7 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn
4.5 mi away
Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
6.7 mi away
Seasons Above the Bay Guest Suites and B&B
4.3 mi away
Thunderbird Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Wood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Wood Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stone Wood Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7338 Walton Mountain Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 5W8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Duncan
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the Chemainus/Cowichan Vallies. Minutes from the ocean, theatres, golf and shopping. Stone Wood offers a quiet rural location for your luxury getaway or intimate wedding. Awaken to a delicious breakfast then hike or bike the many trails at our doorstep, spend your days exploring this popular tourist area or just relaxing in the beauty and comfort of Stone Wood. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone Wood Bed And Breakfast Duncan, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing