We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to be over during the holidays” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 18 Duncan B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to be over during the holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed at Holmesdale House for a few days over the holidays while visiting family. The house was beautifully decorated and cheerful. I have a number of dietary issues and Cassandra was able to handle them all and still made amazing food. The room I stayed in was very comfortable and cozy and made my stay very relaxing.

Room Tip: All the rooms have ensuites and the place is very sound proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollyane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
35
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glencoe, MN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

I know that my review is late, but better late than never. We had stayed at Holmesdale Bed & Breakfast for three nights in August, and they were very accommodating. We had travelled to Duncan for a family funeral. Having missed one of the ferries and arriving late was no problem for them, even helping us with directions. We received a nice welcome & great hospitality for our entire stay. We received several great recommendations of events & such around town. The breakfast was wonderful each day, even on the final morning of our stay when we needed to leave extremely early. I would highly recommend for others to stay here during your next visit to Duncan.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2, which also has another small room for an additional fee. It worked out wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clear Lake Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

My husband and I spent a glorious five days at Holmesdale House while visiting our son. The breakfasts that Cassandra prepared were fabulous! She was also very helpful in suggesting places to go and visit.
Our room with a king size bed and ensuite bath was very comfortable and spacious. The sitting room outside our bedroom was very quaint and served our needs well.
Also, the location of Holmesdale allows you to walk downtown or to enjoy the many nearby trails.
We would highly recommend this B&B!
Dave and Jan Burt
Clear Lake, Ontario

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Wonderful people, sumptuous breakfast, great location. Very spacious and confortable. Our daughter missed a breakfast and they packed a breakfast for her. Very nice historic house. The owners were very helpfull and we enjoyed talking to them.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights. The bed was much better than those you find in chain hotels. The house has a great old feel but it's kept up very nicely. Would definitely stay again if I ever made my way back to Victoria. This location offers free wifi. Make sure you tell the hostess if you have an allergies to food ahead of time. We did not know what we would be eating the next day. Lucky for me it was nothing I couldn't eat and it was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabdarider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Very quiet and comfortable rooms, excellent food, they were even quite willing to cater to my dietary challenges. Owners were very friendly and knowledgable about the area and things to see and do. My stay was all that I could ask for and I would come back the next time I am in the area

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

The home was extremely clean. It was very close to all the amenities i.e. shops, parks, etc. I have recommended Holmesdale to many friends and will continue to do so. I will definitely reutrn!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
1.1 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn
0.9 mi away
Thunderbird Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
0.6 mi away
Falcon Nest Motel
Falcon Nest Motel
#4 of 5 in Duncan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1058 Holmesdale St, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 4Y7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Duncan BC, the Holmesdale House is a Victorian residence build by Rev. David Holmes in 1881, but fully upgraded modern luxuries! Nestled in the Cowican Valley, the Holmesdale House provides an excellent launching pad to see vineyards, totem poles, lakes and sea side, walk the Canada trail, try some golf and much much more. Close to Queen Margaret's Private school, and the Cowichan Hospital, the Holmesdale House offers a charming luxurious accommodation whether visiting loved ones or enjoying the abundant recreational opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast Duncan, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing