We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 17 Duncan B&B and Inns
Upper Darby
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

This B&B was terrific. The owners, Cassandra and Chris could not be more welcoming and Cassandra makes a delicious and varied breakfast menu.
The grounds are beautiful and the decor is terrific. It is a place I will return to many times.
Bill O'Connor

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfobao2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
35
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

We spend just one night at this lovely B&B. Beatiful and spacious room with king size bed CAD$ 150. Gourmet breakfast was perfect. Loved the company of the chatty host Casandra. You will love this place!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFB41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

My wife and I enjoyed being among the first to visit this new b&b and are coming back for sure the next time we are in the area. The rooms are bright, very comfortable, up to date, and yet still keep the historic feeling of the house.The surroundings are peaceful, and the food is to die for! Our hosts were extremely helpful, friendly, and knowledgable about events and attractions in the area. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macksonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

I recently stayed at Holmesdale House, a first class B&B in Duncan, British Columbia. I would highly recommend it. The house dates from 1881 and was the home of the first Anglican Minister to settle in the area, Rev. David Holmes. It has been beautifully restored and retains all of the charm of the period. Yet it has been upgraded with modern amenities that make for a comfortable, first rate Bed and Breakfast. Our hosts were very attentive and made our stay relaxing and a joy. The breakfasts were fabulous and they were more than happy to cater to our particular dietary needs. We also took advantage of their optional pre-booked dinner. This turned out to be a great choice and exceptional value for a 5 star meal. This is a destination not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredandgolfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

I've never been a fan of staying at a B&B because of the lack of privacy. With Holmesdale House you get nothing but privacy. The rooms are a good distance a part, private baths, quaint and clean. Wonderful hosts and a quiet spot. You can feel the history as you walk through the house.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scamfreesuccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
1.1 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chemainus Inn
0.9 mi away
Thunderbird Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
0.6 mi away
Falcon Nest Motel
Falcon Nest Motel
#4 of 5 in Duncan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1058 Holmesdale St, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 4Y7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Duncan BC, the Holmesdale House is a Victorian residence build by Rev. David Holmes in 1881, but fully upgraded modern luxuries! Nestled in the Cowican Valley, the Holmesdale House provides an excellent launching pad to see vineyards, totem poles, lakes and sea side, walk the Canada trail, try some golf and much much more. Close to Queen Margaret's Private school, and the Cowichan Hospital, the Holmesdale House offers a charming luxurious accommodation whether visiting loved ones or enjoying the abundant recreational opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmesdale House Bed & Breakfast Duncan, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing