We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked 3 rooms for a one-night stay as we were attending a family function in Duncan. I didn't have high expectations as I knew the site was situated just off a highway and had heard that there was a pub connected to the site. I was pleasantly surprised when our stay went off without a hitch! The BW Cowichan Valley Inn is excellent value for the $! Clean, cozy, quiet, well kept rooms. The staff were courteous and happy! Amazing customer service! As a smoker, at many hotels/motels, you are usually relegated to an uncomfortable, unkept area outside. At this site, you are offered a couple of picnic tables, often-cleaned ashtrays and gardens surrounding you. We only had breakfast at the restaurant. Everything was cooked to perfection and the meal was reasonably priced. We will definitely be returning to this site on our next visit to Duncan!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVIOwner, General Manager at Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel and service.

We're glad you appreciated the efforts we make for our guests who choose to smoke. We won't advocate it, but neither will we punish it. We tend to think that everybody should be treated with care and respect.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you travel again to our area. And thanks you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Kurt Pyrch, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Three of our family stayed at the Cowichan Valley Inn recently for 5 nights, we were there visiting other family. We were so pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. My husband was not in good health & they were very kind about all that. Just a great bunch of folks!! Right from the maintenance staff, housekeeping, front desk, wait staff etc. We had several family gatherings in the dining room & meals were excellent, service great! Rooms very clean, hotel quiet. We would definitely stay there again, & recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by highway noise, ask for a room away from the Trans Canada.It didn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVIOwner, General Manager at Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. We're not perfect, but we all try our best and it is very much appreciated when we hear that our guests have had such an enjoyable experience with us.

We hope you do stay with us again and we wish you well in all of your future travels.

Sincerely,

Kurt Pyrch
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I travel for business and the Best Western Cowichan Valley is nicely situated for my purposes on Vancouver Island. The staff is "First Class" It is the employees and the nice cozyness and quietness of the hotel that keeps me coming back. I will be going back to this hotel for sure, mostly because of how the employees take care of my needs and how they treat me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVIOwner, Manager at Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

On behalf of the staff, I would like to thank you very much for your kind words recognizing the efforts they make to turn our hotel into one you like to return to. All I get to do is enjoy the privilege of working with them.

We look forward to your next visit and wish you well in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Kurt Pyrch
Manager / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Be sure to check the windows when you stay at this hotel. The last two times I stayed there I checked the windows and found that the locks are broken or have been removed.

Staff were helpful in securing the windows so that I felt comfortable enough to stay the night.

Told the management the next morning but they were not concerned about the lack of security! They said it was a requirement by the fire Marshall. I checked with the fire Marshall and he said there is only a requirement that the windows not be secured such that it cannot be unlocked or require special equipment (a key) to unlock in the event of a fire. It should still be possible to latch the window so that it cannot be easily opened from the outside.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank Myteapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVIOwner, Owner at Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

I would like to thank the guest for their kind remarks about our staff service and their comfort. I must however take exception to the guest's statement about Management's concerns, which couldn't be more wrong. I would also like to thank the guest who keeps returning to the hotel.

She is right about what the Fire Marshal said. In older days, hotels would be built with physical barriers that in the eyes of fire safety officers became impediments to the ability of the guest to exit their room. We were happy to work with the Fire Marshall and removed the old style barriers and locking mechanisms in the interest of guest safety. This was about 15 years ago. There was no need or ability to rip out and retrofit new windows in the entire hotel when all that is needed to restrict movement of the window is an instantly removable wooden dowel that works as a physical movement barrier. It is what was recommended by the very same Fire Marshall and is also the best method of blocking a sliding window or door in your own home without installing a lock that might jam or restrict your ability to exit in an emergency. In other words, we did what the fire marshal told us to do. And they still work.

Additionally there are vertical movement restrictors inside the top track of the windows that make it very difficult if not outright impossible to lift the window when it is blocked in place. There are also framed screens in all of our windows and they are always checked by our staff.

As everyone knows or should know, there is no window that will fully withstand blows from metal objects like a crowbar or perhaps a baseball bat. No window lock in the world can stop that. But that has NEVER HAPPENED here nor has any room ever been broken into here in the 26 plus years we have owned and operated this hotel. That is because our rooms are actually SAFE and we operate a great little hotel. We also have video security outside the hotel that is recorded and monitored 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We also have staff on duty 24 hours a day.

So although we take our guests concerns very seriously, we also note that the concerns were voiced by this guest, who not only returned to the hotel but who was also staying on the second floor of the hotel, where use of a ladder or 'lift' equipped truck would be needed for a potential bad guy to start noisily breaking into the room. In the time since we made adjustments to our windows to meet the safety requirements as ordered by the fire marshall, we have had approximately 180,000 guests stay with us, without any incidents or troubles. We invite anybody staying in any hotel anywhere to always check their rooms upon arrival and if you have any concerns about your safety that are not properly addressed by the hotel and it's staff, to turn around and leave. Find yourself a place that answers to your needs because your needs as you and only you can see them are what is important to you. I am glad to hear that our staff were able to help this guest feel comfortable during her last stay here.

Sincerely,

Kurt Pyrch, Manager / Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel is located about one mile from the downtown core on the main highway across from the BC Forest Discovery Center and Information center.It is a very good location for tourists.
It has a dinning room ,pub and is a very nice place to enjoy a meal as it is not to expensive.
They also have a outdoor pool,the staff is very helpful and the accomodations are neat and clean.

Room Tip: I don't think there is any bad rooms,although the rooms on the west side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVIOwner, Manager at Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. We're not perfect but we do our best and the staff really appreciate hearing that their efforts were noticed.

We wish you well in all of your future travels and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Kurt Pyrch
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is pretty much your standard off-the-highway kind of hotel. Nothing to write home about, but a nice place with hot showers and comfy beds. Staff were very friendly, the room was clean, and overall this was a good stay in Duncan.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dustin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVIOwner, General Manager at Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review. You're right, we are not a high end super luxury hotel. We just try to do what we do well and provide a clean, well run hotel with the help of our great staff, and we thank you for noticing that.

We wish you all the best in your future travels and hope to see you again soon.

Kurt Pyrch, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I'm staying at this BW one night every week since nearly a year now and I'm always pleased by the quiet, clean and comfortable rooms. The staff is SUPER friendly, and the restaurant offers a good choice on the menu.

Definitely a recommended place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVIOwner, General Manager at Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review and for recognizing the efforts of our staff. We look forward to your ongoing returns.

Kurt Pyrch, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
30.3 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
26.9 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
1.8 mi away
Thunderbird Motor Inn
6.4 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn

Address: 6474 Trans Canada Hwy, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 6C6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range: £65 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Duncan
Duncan Best Western
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn Duncan, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing