We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful farm family experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duncan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 17 Duncan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have just returned from two days at Fairburn Farm.

Our children most enjoyed bottle feeding the young buffalo, sketching the animals, and the gorgeous house and acres of land.

The family who run the farm work well together, are all very friendly and work hard but are at great ease to share their knowledge and information. All 5 of us were delighted with the trip.
The house is lovely and very old, the breakfast is home made and charming and all our family 'felt like part of the farm community.'

Go hoping for a real farm and you will be delighted.
( We had an early dinner at Genoa Bay Cafe and saw great star- views as we returned home so recommend those too) Bring some warm clothes for star gazing and early morning milking...
Really wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

Yesterday, some of us took a trip down memory lane. Well, really it was down a long road to Fairburn Farm. Two of us had visited the farm 25 years ago and were thrilled to discover it's still thriving. Mary-Ann and Brett took time out of their very busy schedules to take us to meet their herd of water buffaloes, all of whom have their own names. They are a free range milking herd whose cheese, we were told, tastes like mozzarella only much smoother. As a veggie and animal activist, I was so comforted to see such contented and loved animals who wandered over to have their heads scratched. The farm sits on the side of a hill with magnificent views of the mountains and rushing river. It was so peaceful there. It was hard to leave. We will definitely be back for a much longer stay.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairburn3310, Manager at Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

We're so glad that it worked out and we were available to give you a quick tour! Thanks for taking the chance and stopping by; I love hearing the stories and memories from years ago. Hope to see you again for the opportunity to make new memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at Fairburn Farmstay this past summer and my kids have been begging me to go again this summer! Where else can we enjoy beautiful Pacific Northwest weather, enjoy fresh farm air, feed bottles to baby water buffalo (a definite highlight), play with dogs, go for long relaxing walks, splash in a fresh clean creek and all the while not worrying about my kids getting run over or crazy strangers! Plus super friendly hosts with an adorable new baby. It is like stepping back in time!

The farm is in a great location for us to take day trips to Victoria and Cowichan Bay (not that I could peel my kids away from the farm for long). We also really loved the ferry ride coming to and from Vancouver.

We look forward to returning this summer!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P90X2mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

For the past 3 years my husband and I have been lucky enough to step out of the hustle- bustle of daily life and retreat to the quiet life on Fairburn Farm. Originally we had stayed in the big farmhouse , but the past 2 years we have enjoyed a week in the privacy of the little cottage uphill from the main house. The cottage has 2 bedrooms so is perfect for a young family since the second bedroom has a twin and bunk beds. Since it was just the 2 of us, we used the extra bedroom as a dressing room to store our luggage and clothing. We do love to cook so took advantage of the big, open kitchen which is actually the center of the cottage. There is no tv for distraction so your attention is turned to the sound of the swallows flying in and out of their nests, the leaves rustling in the trees, or the "sound of silence." What a perfect backdrop to disconnect from the stresses of modern life.
The Cowichan Valley offers an abundance of fresh farm and artisan products. We would stop at the neighborhood farm stand daily to pick up fresh eggs and veggies, drive over to the seafood store on the bay for fresh local scallops, fish, and dungeness crab, and pick up a bottle of wine at one of the many vineyards on the way. The picnic table outside offered the perfect casual setting to celebrate the bounty.
Our highlight of the day was awaking each morning to the "water buffalo parade" as the herd of buffalo came up from the pasture to be milked in the milking barn up the hill. The cottage was protected by a picket fence and yard that allowed us to safely stand outside and watch the animals pass by. Mary Ann and her family were wonderful about educating us about water buffalo, milking, and the products that come from the farm. I can't wait to share the experience with our grandchildren. What a priceless opportunity for "city folks."

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omakase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Even though my husband is a through and through city boy who never had pets and is "The" ultimate bookworm and I was raised on a hobby farm, and thus a lover of animals and nature, we both found Fairburn farm to be a perfect retreat for us. Its discovery was purely serendipitous.

Both of us being lovers of good wine and food, our plan was to explore the wineries and fine food of the Cowichan Valley. During the search for central accommodations we found information about Fairburn Farm. I was immediately smitten with the idea of staying on a farm, especially one where I might have the opportunity to make a personal acquaintance with water buffalo.

Once there, all our expectations were more than met. Breakfast was lovely each of the 3 mornings and included juice, fresh fruit with a sprinkle of homemade granola topped with yogurt, quiche, omelette, french toast, freshly baked muffins and loafs, toasted bread from a nearby bakery and, tummies more than satisfied, a wonderful cup of coffee enjoyed on the porch.

Wonderful sheets and linens, wide open windows, and a very comfy bed lulled us to dreamland. The wide porch drew us to spend a late afternoon and evening there with good books, a picnic dinner that we assembled earlier in the day and a lovely bottle of local wine. I loved playing with the dogs and was thrilled when the herd of two year old water buffalo would saunter from the far side of the field carefully sniffing the air along the way and, upon deciding I was no threat, came right up to the gate, explored me with their long tongues and let me scratch their hard bristly cheeks and forheads.

Watching the herd brought up at milking time and visiting the milk barn was an education in itself. The family is happy to share the history of the herd and their experiences along with the ways by which they operate the farm in as self-sustaining way as possible.

Laurine and Michael, Vancouver, BC

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurine_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We wish we had planned to stay here longer. This was our first stop after Victoria, and it was a nice change-up. This is not the place to go for night-life or to use your internet or a TV; this is a place to go and hang out on the large porch for hours watching the water buffalo be herded and gazing up at the green hills. The B&B is at the end of a somewhat long gravel road, though still not too far away from Duncan; Duncan is pretty sleepy after about 5. The B&B is now run (as of this spring) by one of the daughters who grew up on the farm and recently came back to stay, meaning that this is the third generation investing themselves in the farm, which I think is great. Maryann was very helpful, and the room was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely huge and tasty.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimillamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Having been to farm when it was called Kelvin Creek Ranch as child (many years ago run by Molly and Jack Archer) I was so thrilled to find out that their grand-daughter Maryann Hartmann and her husband Brett had taken over Fairburn Farm to run as a B&B. My husband and I spend 2 very relaxing nights there. We were greeted warmly by the official greeters Apollo and AJ (the farm dogs) and then by Maryann who invited us to relax with a cup of tea on the front veranda.
The room was wonderful, so inviting, clean and quiet with a very comfortable bed - honestly the best sleep I have had in awhile. A delicious breakfast was served next morning - fresh baking, local farm fresh eggs, local sausage - we were so full we honestly didn't need to eat again until dinner. We spent the morning exploring the farm and meeting the 'girls' - the Water Buffalo on the farm, before heading into Cowichan and Duncan to explore the local wineries and sights.
Quite a unique experience. A definate MUST when visiting the island.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muffin056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duncan hotels
3.1 mi away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
5 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
3.7 mi away
Thunderbird Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Falcon Nest Motel
Falcon Nest Motel
#4 of 6 in Duncan
35 reviews
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Duncan
Super 8 Duncan
#5 of 6 in Duncan
183 reviews
5.1 mi away
Eaglenest Manor Cowichan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse

Address: 3310 Jackson Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 6N7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Duncan
Price Range: £75 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and peaceful setting, in a 19th-century home, on a 130 acre water buffalo dairy farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairburn Farmstay And Guesthouse Duncan, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing