We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing retreat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duncan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 17 Duncan B&B and Inns
Vanco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing retreat!”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I'd like to give a HUGE thanks to Brett, Maryann and little Mason for a great stay last month! Such amazingly warm and very authentic hospitality can be hard to find and this place is truly a phenomenal experience for singles, couples and families alike. The house is clean and unique, the property stunning and farm itself an amazing place to learn about West Coast farming. The location is slightly off the beaten track, but still only a short ride to Duncan and Cobble Hill. We used the farm as our place to stay while wine touring in the Cowichan Valley. I'd suggest that you take a few hours to walk around the property to gain a full idea of its beauty (ask if you can bring the resident furry friends AJ and Apollo). Although priced slightly above some other accommodation around Duncan you won't regret your stay at this "boutique farmstay" and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtimes2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Staying at Fairburn Farm during the Brentwood Regatta was a wonderful way to relax each night. Maryann graciously made an early breakfast the first morning: delightful omlette sprinkled with herbs and rhubarb muffins. The second afternoon Brett gave us a tour of the farm before he dashed off to ref a soccer game - we never felt rushed and the tour was great! We walked through the farm property and visited the baby water buffalo! We had the room with 2 queen beds and it was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. The ironed sheets were luxurious. I highly recommend the Fairburn Farm for families or couples!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoatCheeseLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairburn3310, Owner at Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review; we enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer Island, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We needed a place to stay while our children rowed in the Brentwood Regatta. Not knowing anything at all about the Mill Bay area, the idea of a farm stay intrigued me. Maryann's quick and friendly response to my inquiry about drive time (20 minutes from the race) and availability (yes!) was so much more appealing than the endless loop of hotel and motel website searches, I knew this would work out.
Their website is very accurate - those emerald green pastures and goofy looking cattle are for real, but the photos don't quite do the house justice. It is a beautiful, large, historic structure, lovingly cared for and comfortably up to date.
I shared the Heritage room: two queen beds divided by a half wall and a curtain, and a hall bathroom. The beds were essentially Heavenly beds, like you'd find at a Westin hotel, extremely comfortable with high end sheets and pillows. The amenities were exactly to my liking: free wifi, fluffy white towels, shampoo and soap in the bathroom, alarm clock, nightstand and lamp, blowdryer,etc., and no TVs in the bedrooms. After a long day out of doors, a hot shower and the fluffy robe (provided with slippers), the evening breezes drifting through the windows, a cup of hot tea and a good book were just perfect.
Brett kindly showed us around the workings of the dairy farm, and guided us to the walking paths, and patiently answered all of our questions. Breakfast (omelet, sliced melon, hot toast with jam and butter, and hot muffins made with rhubarb from their garden, coffee, tea and juices) was delicious. We left before breakfast our second day, but the posted menu included yogurt pancakes with fresh blackberries.
We were so busy at the regatta, we didn't have time to properly explore Fairburn Farm, but what I saw makes me want to return. Brett and Maryann are excellent hosts, professional and helpful, and very accommodating. The area around Fairburn is so pretty, with many excellent restaurants, bike and hike trails, the picturesque bay, I know I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateLepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairburn3310, Owner at Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Such an amazing review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay here and we do hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We have just returned from two days at Fairburn Farm.

Our children most enjoyed bottle feeding the young buffalo, sketching the animals, and the gorgeous house and acres of land.

The family who run the farm work well together, are all very friendly and work hard but are at great ease to share their knowledge and information. All 5 of us were delighted with the trip.
The house is lovely and very old, the breakfast is home made and charming and all our family 'felt like part of the farm community.'

Go hoping for a real farm and you will be delighted.
( We had an early dinner at Genoa Bay Cafe and saw great star- views as we returned home so recommend those too) Bring some warm clothes for star gazing and early morning milking...
Really wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimli, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Yesterday, some of us took a trip down memory lane. Well, really it was down a long road to Fairburn Farm. Two of us had visited the farm 25 years ago and were thrilled to discover it's still thriving. Mary-Ann and Brett took time out of their very busy schedules to take us to meet their herd of water buffaloes, all of whom have their own names. They are a free range milking herd whose cheese, we were told, tastes like mozzarella only much smoother. As a veggie and animal activist, I was so comforted to see such contented and loved animals who wandered over to have their heads scratched. The farm sits on the side of a hill with magnificent views of the mountains and rushing river. It was so peaceful there. It was hard to leave. We will definitely be back for a much longer stay.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairburn3310, Manager at Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
We're so glad that it worked out and we were available to give you a quick tour! Thanks for taking the chance and stopping by; I love hearing the stories and memories from years ago. Hope to see you again for the opportunity to make new memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at Fairburn Farmstay this past summer and my kids have been begging me to go again this summer! Where else can we enjoy beautiful Pacific Northwest weather, enjoy fresh farm air, feed bottles to baby water buffalo (a definite highlight), play with dogs, go for long relaxing walks, splash in a fresh clean creek and all the while not worrying about my kids getting run over or crazy strangers! Plus super friendly hosts with an adorable new baby. It is like stepping back in time!

The farm is in a great location for us to take day trips to Victoria and Cowichan Bay (not that I could peel my kids away from the farm for long). We also really loved the ferry ride coming to and from Vancouver.

We look forward to returning this summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P90X2mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensacola
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

For the past 3 years my husband and I have been lucky enough to step out of the hustle- bustle of daily life and retreat to the quiet life on Fairburn Farm. Originally we had stayed in the big farmhouse , but the past 2 years we have enjoyed a week in the privacy of the little cottage uphill from the main house. The cottage has 2 bedrooms so is perfect for a young family since the second bedroom has a twin and bunk beds. Since it was just the 2 of us, we used the extra bedroom as a dressing room to store our luggage and clothing. We do love to cook so took advantage of the big, open kitchen which is actually the center of the cottage. There is no tv for distraction so your attention is turned to the sound of the swallows flying in and out of their nests, the leaves rustling in the trees, or the "sound of silence." What a perfect backdrop to disconnect from the stresses of modern life.
The Cowichan Valley offers an abundance of fresh farm and artisan products. We would stop at the neighborhood farm stand daily to pick up fresh eggs and veggies, drive over to the seafood store on the bay for fresh local scallops, fish, and dungeness crab, and pick up a bottle of wine at one of the many vineyards on the way. The picnic table outside offered the perfect casual setting to celebrate the bounty.
Our highlight of the day was awaking each morning to the "water buffalo parade" as the herd of buffalo came up from the pasture to be milked in the milking barn up the hill. The cottage was protected by a picket fence and yard that allowed us to safely stand outside and watch the animals pass by. Mary Ann and her family were wonderful about educating us about water buffalo, milking, and the products that come from the farm. I can't wait to share the experience with our grandchildren. What a priceless opportunity for "city folks."

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omakase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse

Property: Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse
Address: 3310 Jackson Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 6N7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and peaceful setting, in a 19th-century home, on a 130 acre water buffalo dairy farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairburn Farmstay And Guesthouse Duncan, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing