We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic back-to-nature farmhouse stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duncan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 17 Duncan B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic back-to-nature farmhouse stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed here in late April for a night with my daughter, my second time at Fairburn Farm in the past five years. This is a magical place that feels frozen in time. The farmhouse rooms are wonderfully comfortable,the views are magnificent and the hosts are welcoming, warm and provide a terrific breakfast. Fairburn Farm gives guests a unique opportunity to see a different kind of farm in full swing, one differentiated not just by its Bulgarian water buffalo, but by the amazing relationship they have with their farmers. Afternoons we watched milking in the milking parlour, while in the mornings we helped collect eggs from the chicken coop. We loved being here- it was a treat to the senses and an awakening to a life we don't often get to experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WriteMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairburn3310, Owner at Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and we hope that you left with lots of new information. Our son keeps saying your daughter's name, so she must have made quite the impression on him!
All the best,
Maryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed two nights at the beginning of September and loved the old house, simple decor and bedrooms with good beds and wooden floors. The owners are great hosts and it was so interesting to learn about buffalo farming. We stayed in the back bedrooms with bathrooms outside the room which was fine for a short stay. We got to peek into the larger front bedrooms with baths and they looked lovely. The size and setting is conducive to interacting with other guests and we got to meet other friendly and like-minded people. We would definitely stay there again. The Cowichan Valley is an interesting area for people who care about local authentic food - nice little wineries and cider distiileries (Merridale Ciderworks).

Room Tip: The larger rooms with baths seem very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VerdeRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loire Valley, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We only spent one night here, but the simplicity of the room and the sparse décor and sad colour of the public rooms is made up for by an unique experience. It started with being invited to attend the milking of the buffalo. Maryann talked us through the process. A high-spot for us was helping to feed the buffalo calves. Staying in the B&B, we were are able to prepare our own simple dinner in the little kitchen with fridge and were presented with a tub of mozzarella made from Fairburn's own milk. We ate our dinner on the terrace, overlooking the peaceful valley as the sun went down, watching the young buffalo playing.

The room was fine, if a bit dark with gloomy décor, but the bed was super comfortable. I was disappointed to hear the people in the next room (the farm's Woofers) talking until very late. and in the end had to use my earplugs, which seems a bit of a contradiction in such a peaceful spot. The bathroom outside the room was a bit basic, but breakfast made up for everything with a delicious apple cake. And the beautiful countryside and farm buildings, together with the family's commitment to their animals turns this average B&B into something special.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MammaSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensacola
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

"This summer my husband and I returned to Fairburn Farm, one of our favorite places on Vancouver Island. We have stayed in the big farm house but now choose to stay in the 2 bedroom cottage so that we can cook for ourselves in the cute little kitchen. The farm is in the middle of a great valley full of farms, wineries, and orchards and near Cowichan Bay where we buy fresh seafood off the boats. We always arrive in July so take advantage of berry season and bake pies and cakes daily from the fresh raspberries and blueberries. The cottage has a cute little yard within a picket fence so we have our private space. There is a barbecue grill and table and chairs so that we can grill out fresh salmon or sit outside and pick dungeness crabs.
As much as we love the food and beautiful countryside, one of the highlights of the farm stay is the early morning "water buffalo parade" that passes the cottage around breakfast time.
The buffalo pass by on the way to be milked so that they can make the buffalo mozzarella cheese. Mary Ann , Brett and their entire family are so wonderful about explaining the farm routine, the buffalo and their newborn , and allowing families to help feed the new calves. They even let you watch the mother buffalo be milked. It is such fun to watch young children enjoy the open spaces, play badminton near the gardens, and get involved with the baby buffalo. We look forward to returning the next year to see how the calves have grown. It feels to us like getting to spend our summer vacation at our grandmother's farm because that is how the whole Archer family treats guests. They make you feel as welcome as family."

Room Tip: If you want a big country breakfast, stay in the farmhouse b&b. If you are a couple who loves t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omakase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensacola
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This summer my husband and I returned to Fairburn Farm, one of our favorite places on Vancouver Island. We have stayed in the big farm house but now choose to stay in the 2 bedroom cottage so that we can cook for ourselves in the cute little kitchen. The farm is in the middle of a great valley full of farms, wineries, and orchards and near Cowichan Bay where we buy fresh seafood off the boats. We always arrive in July so take advantage of berry season and bake pies and cakes daily from the fresh raspberries and blueberries. The cottage has a cute little yard within a picket fence so we have our private space. There is a barbecue grill and table and chairs so that we can grill out fresh salmon or sit outside and pick dungeness crabs.
As much as we love the food and beautiful countryside, one of the highlights of the farm stay is the early morning "water buffalo parade" that passes the cottage around breakfast time.
The buffalo pass by on the way to be milked so that they can make the buffalo mozzarella cheese. Mary Ann , Brett and their entire family are so wonderful about explaining the farm routine, the buffalo and their newborn , and allowing families to help feed the new calves. They even let you watch the mother buffalo be milked. It is such fun to watch young children enjoy the open spaces, play badminton near the gardens, and get involved with the baby buffalo. We look forward to returning the next year to see how the calves have grown. It feels to us like getting to spend our summer vacation at our grandmother's farm because that is how the whole Archer family treats guests. They make you feel as welcome as family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omakase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pensacola
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

In July my husband and I returned to one of our favorite places on Vancouver Island. We love to stay in the 2 bedroom, 1 bath cottage on the property of the working farm. We always arrive during berry season so take advantage of having a well stocked kitchen to bake fresh pies and cakes with the delicious fruit. The farm is nearby to farms, wineries and shops where we collect local and fresh produce, fruit, eggs, cheese and wine. The Cowichan Bay seafood market provides fresh dungeness crab and salmon for grilling on the cottage barbecue grill. The week of collecting the fresh products and dining on them al fresco in the little picket -
fenced yard is a real treat.
As much as we love the relaxed atmosphere of the cottage and taking leisurely walks looking out over the mountains and pastures, it is exciting to watch families enjoy their time on the farm. There is lots of open space for the kids to run, a place to play badminton, and the opportunity to wake up each morning on a working farm and see buffalo being milked to be made into fresh mozzarella cheese. Our favorite wake up ritual is to jump out of bed to watch the "water buffalo parade" each morning as they walk from the pasture to the milking barn. It is a fun start of the day before we sit down to a breakfast of fresh free range eggs and sausage from another local farmer. I only wish I had found this farm for my family when our kids were young. Now I look forward to bringing the grandkids. Mary Ann, Brett and all the family are so warm and hospitable that it truly feels like getting to spend time on your grandmother's farm. I can just imagine writing that back to school essay- "What i did on my summer vacation."
-

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omakase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We spent 4 days and three nights at the farm and it was truly amazing. The breakfast was fantastic, and the house was perfect. It is a quiet farm that was relaxing for our family of 4. My daughters words were "this is the best place I've ever been". Seeing the newborn calf and actually feeding it was a thrill for all of us. The family is wonderful, and very welcoming to their home. They truly make you feel welcome and that your company is enjoyed. They shared about all the aspects of farm life and it was an amazing experience for us and our children. This place is a unique gem in the world. Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vandy1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse

Property: Fairburn Farmstay and Guesthouse
Address: 3310 Jackson Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 6N7, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful and peaceful setting, in a 19th-century home, on a 130 acre water buffalo dairy farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairburn Farmstay And Guesthouse Duncan, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing