We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food, Great Atmosphere”

Craig Street Brew Pub
Ranked #4 of 113 Restaurants in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A well established local hot spot, we are famous for fresh food and hand crafted beer; as well as fun, energetic staff and a great atmosphere!
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We visited this pub for dinner last Saturday and were really impressed. I had the filet mignon with bearenaise sauce and my husband had the lamb sirloin. Both were cooked perfectly and served with asparagus, grilled red pepper and a yam/potato mash. For dessert we shared a piece of the whipped cheesecake with ganache topping. Sooooo good and definitely big enough for two. I would definitely recommend this place for casual or elegant food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    90
    18
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cowichan Valley, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“The food is quite acceptable; the service almost never is”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We live in the Cowichan Valley and come here every couple of months as it fills a niche which isn't occupied without travelling a fair distance from Duncan town centre. The food is a slightly more innovative twist on a Canadian pub menu and is almost always plentiful and well-prepared. The service is uniformly atrocious. Attended at lunch recently and arrived just after the lunch crowd had departed so there was no continuing panic of those getting back to work. After having asked, and been told to "sit anywhere", I sat for a full 11 minutes before being attended to: not asked if I wanted anything to drink nor provided with a menu. There were two waitstaff 'on' and they spent the bulk of their time completely out of sight - and we were seated so I could see the entire restaurant floor. They appeared occasionally to deliver a dish or receive payment. There was plenty of opportunity to acknowledge our presence - when we'd been served, we didn't see either of the ladies until we stood at the till (3 minutes), waiting to pay and then it was the bartender who came over, inquired if we were just waiting to pay, and went off to retrieve one of the servers. This is not unusual treatment - we usually get crumby service which detracts from an otherwise potentially nice experience (great interior setting, nice beer, old 'walkable' part of town). This venue is popular so no doubt could afford to invest in a little more training - management just doesn't care sufficiently.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jhsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the better options in town”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

The brew pub has become my go-to place for drinks with friends. The food is delicious (try the crab dip) and the rooftop patio is fantastic in the summer. I'm not a beer drinker but I hear from peeps who are that the brew is quite good. If you're in the Cowichan Valley and you feel like a pint, give this place a go. You wot be disappointed.

Parking can sometimes be a pain, but if you know you're going to have a few drinks then park your car at home and call their free shuttle (by donation) to pick you up! Such a great service!

Helpful?
Thank mariskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Loved the atmosphere, open beamed ceilings, very NW Brewery with a warm modern loft/lodge twist. I had the New York LeFluer. It was phenomenal!! The steak was cooked to perfection, very tender and the shrimp was so flavorful. Loved the potato/yam mixture that the meal was served on top of. Everything was fresh and very tasty. Had a very good selection of beer. Everyone at our table was happy with their food and wood definitely come back if we happened to be in the area again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Obi1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A welcome fire and a pint”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The beer here is stunning , the Shawnigan ale goes down nicely while I warm my bones by the fire .Surrealistic art by E.J. Hughs covers the walls , the room is a high ceilinged post and beam structure , with big windows and wood floors .Remarkably there are no TV 'S in sight .The food is good (damn near Gourmet ) , plentiful , and cheap .The service is always excellant so of course its popular , line up if you must .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hedgehog-and-Flip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Craig Street Brew Pub also viewed

Duncan, Vancouver Island
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 
Duncan, Vancouver Island
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Craig Street Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing