We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest motel room EVER!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunderbird Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

First of all, the owner (Martin?) was so kind and welcoming. The place is within walking distance to almost anything you would need or want. But the nicest part is that our room was SO CLEAN! This is an older building, mind you, but they certainly keep it up. Bed was comfortable and the room (single queen) was quite large. AND they provide REAL coffee cups with your in-room coffee maker, not the crummy styrofoam ones!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpobrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

I recently booked my basketball team at the Thunderbird Motor Inn. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. New TV's and digital cable offered many channels for viewing. Maureen and Martin were very helpful. The location is fantastic as there are many restaurants within walking distance. Several of our players ate at the diner and indicated the food was great! We have booked for two more upcoming tournaments.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed for 2 nights. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were very hospitable and courteous. The diner provided good food. What more can one ask at such a reasonable price? Also it is only a short walk to Thrifty Foods, Starbucks and the Aquatic Centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smartie_Pants_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I can't express how amazing our stay with Maureen and Martin has been. We checked very early 8am due to staying at the most awful place ever, Super 8 Motel, and since then we have been accommodated as though we were family. It is a basic Motel, but clean, comfortable and convenient. The owners, Martin and Maureen, are what makes this place truly wonderful. The caring and considerate attention given to customer service is second to none. I will be singing their praises long and loud!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Commando42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is the second time my partner and I have stayed at The Thunderbird in Duncan and it won't be the last.
We spent three nights there this trip and found Owners Maureen and Martin to be as welcoming and warm as the first time we stayed. They're a wonderful, hard working couple, friendly, helpful and very easy to like.
The king room has a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker with actual mugs, not useless little cups or paper cups.
The rooms are spotless, beds and pillows very comfortable and a huge plus for anyone that likes to sleep in......they have black out drapes. Something I appreciate big time.
There's a clean laundry room and good value restaurant on site.
The location is perfect, with easy access to food, all sorts of shopping and other little towns one might like to visit for an afternoon outing.
My partner and I work in a motel in Victoria and would never hesitate to recommend The Thunderbird to our guests, when then tell us that Duncan is their next stop.
We're asked all the time for recommendations and this is certainly one we can give wholeheartedly.
Try it, we think you'll like it.

Room Tip: My preference is always a room with no one above. If you can do one flight of stairs with no issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This review is somewhat late, given we stayed here again back in July, but I chose today to catch up on my Trip Advisor reviews.

This was the second time we stayed at the Thunderbird and can attest to the excellent reviews given by others. The owners (husband and wife) are simply fantastic. They really care about guest satisfaction and will bend over backwards for you. At the risk of driving up the demand (and possibly prices) for this hotel, I can tell you it is the BY FAR the best hotel in all of Duncan.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teedub44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I would recommend the Thunderbird Motel to anyone seeking quality accommodations. The Thunderbird Motel was central, well-maintained and the owners were fantastic. The owners were so kind and helpful, I felt very comfortable throughout my stay. I will always stay at the Thunderbird Motel while in Duncan as it has never failed to impress.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkhdvljzsdnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
1.8 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
0.6 mi away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Falcon Nest Motel
Falcon Nest Motel
#4 of 6 in Duncan
35 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Duncan
Super 8 Duncan
#5 of 6 in Duncan
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motor Inn

Address: 5849 York Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 3S3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range: £55 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thunderbird Motor Inn is centrally located in the Cowichan Valley; an easy walk to downtown Duncan, the Cowichan Sports Plex, and across the street from the Cowichan Theatre / Rec Centre / Aquatic Centre.We are 40mins north of Victoria (BC's Capital) and 35 minutes south of Nanaimo (The Harbour City) which makes us the perfect stopping point after travelling from the Washington State Ferries, BC Ferries, or the airports.We are close to the Chemainus Theatre, Cowichan Valley Exhibition Grounds, Sports Fields, many Local Wineries, Golf Courses, Shopping, BC Forest Discovery Centre, Vancouver Island University, Maple Bay Marina, Cowichan District Hospital.Located in the City of Totems, in the heart of Duncan B.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thunderbird Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Motor Inn Duncan, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing