We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunderbird Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Very Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The motel is very inexpensive compared with other pet-friendly hotels in the area. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The ground-floor room had plenty of towels and even had its own fridge and microwave. There were also plenty of restaurants within a 2-minute walk of the motel. The air conditioner, although quite old, worked well. The only thing I wasn't happy about was the cleanliness of the floor and the blankets on the bed.... After walking on the laminate floor from the bed to the bathroom only a couple of times, the bottoms of my feet were black with filth. And, even though the sheets were clean, the fleece blanket between the bedspread and the sheets had lots of black human hair all over it. The bedspreads were old and dirty (smelled like smoke even though it was a non-smoking room). All in all, the room was worth the price.

Room Tip: There are two floors; if you have luggage the first floor is a better option - there's no elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButtercupTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunderbird M, Owner at Thunderbird Motor Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We took positive action the minute we read it.

We inquired at the commercial janitorial warehouse; apparently this is a very common and frustrating problem due to the in-grained texture of laminate; we were assured we were using the correct products (safe for pets) and the correct procedures. Our staff scrub, vacuum and mop the floors extensively but the two dedicated pet-friendly room floors will need the old-fashioned hands and knee scrub-down more frequently.

We will continue to provide two dedicated pet-friendly rooms for our guests that choose to travel with their four-legged family members.

As for the bed covers, we have addressed this with our newest staff members.

Had you discussed your dissatisfaction at the time, we would have resolved any issues to your complete satisfaction.

We appreciate your many other positive comments about your stay.

Sincerely, Thunderbird Motor Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    61
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
49
50
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here for one night. Owners were very welcoming and recommended places to eat and see. The on site diner was good for breakfast. The bed was comfortable and room was quiet. Room was clean. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boomdeyada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
144 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed here for two nights. While I was there, there was no vacancy due to kids attending a local weekend tournament. Even so, I had a very quiet sleep both nights. When I arrived, I received a very enthusiastic welcome and a thorough explanation of the area attractions. There's an on-site restaurant (which I didn't try) and several eating choices nearby. This is an older facility and my room came with a mw, fridge and 2 burner stove top. The free wifi was fast enough to stream YouTube but would drop out quite often. One negative was the fridge had a 3/4 " buildup of ice in the freezer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Thunderbird is an unassuming motel in Duncan BC - what it lacks in frills it more than makes up in service - from the check in to the departure, the owners were welcoming, accommodating and helpful. The rooms are small but meticulously clean and comfortable. Centrally located with easy access back to the highway, but very little noise from it.
The restaurant nearby is wonderful as well - reasonable prices, great service & good food - what more could you ask

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The owners of this motel are doing it right. Clean, comfortable, extremely affordable and obviously a labour of love for Maureen and Martin. You two could teach some of the big chains a thing or two about service. York Street Restaurant also highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here for just a single night but I was very happy with my room. Quiet, very clean and up to date (not really that common for Motor Inns), and I loved that the owners took the time to make the rooms look warm and welcoming. I was very happy with my stay. The owners both checked me in and were extremely friendly and accommodating. I chatted with them for the longest time and loved how genuine they both were. I love nice hotels and I travel a lot for work. I will take the Thunderbird Motor Inn over any of the other hotels in the area and I look forward to my next stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
206 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I booked this motel for one night and found the service to be excellent. The woman who took my reservation over the phone was so friendly and helpful, accomodating my request for a room with laminate flooring, as well as an early check-in. The room was spotlessly clean and had a nice little kitchenette. It was good value and we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor next to a restaurant. While not really noisy, I think, if we retur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
1.7 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
0.2 mi away
Falcon Nest Motel
Falcon Nest Motel
#4 of 5 in Duncan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
4.7 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Duncan
Super 8 Duncan
#5 of 5 in Duncan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motor Inn

Property: Thunderbird Motor Inn
Address: 5849 York Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 3S3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thunderbird Motor Inn is centrally located in the Cowichan Valley; an easy walk to downtown Duncan, the Cowichan Sports Plex, and across the street from the Cowichan Theatre / Rec Centre / Aquatic Centre.We are 40mins north of Victoria (BC's Capital) and 35 minutes south of Nanaimo (The Harbour City) which makes us the perfect stopping point after travelling from the Washington State Ferries, BC Ferries, or the airports.We are close to the Chemainus Theatre, Cowichan Valley Exhibition Grounds, Sports Fields, many Local Wineries, Golf Courses, Shopping, BC Forest Discovery Centre, Vancouver Island University, Maple Bay Marina, Cowichan District Hospital.Located in the City of Totems, in the heart of Duncan B.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thunderbird Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Motor Inn Duncan, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing