We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the fun police”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thunderbird Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Duncan
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Watch out for the fun police”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Bad management spoiled a great weekend in Duncan. The owners patrol the car park like prison guards and if anybody is sitting on outside after 10pm you better watch out or you will get kicked out. We were travelling as a sports team along you another team and local officials and were treated as if were second class citizens having and all night party. In truth we were all just sitting around talking about ball and making new friends. Duncan is a great place and would highly recommend eating at the attached York St dinner but not staying at the Thunderbird Motor Inn if you want to make the most of your vacation

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kaiwakanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    63
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
51
53
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the Thunderbird with a ball team along with another ball team that was staying there. At night hours the parents of the teams were visiting and sitting outside. The Management came out many times telling us to "quiet down" saying that there are other guests wanting there money back. The manager then said if they get one more noise complaint because of us they will give us full refund and "we can find a new place to stay".

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CantStayHereDont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at the Thunderbird Motor Inn often for a work placement in Duncan, from March - July 2014. The hosts (Maureen and Martin) are lovely, and are willing to go above and beyond for their guests, which was much appreciated. I travel a lot for business, and I wish that all of the places I stay at had owners that were as good at their job as these two are.

Rooms are fairly basic, but a good size and the beds are comfy. The motel is a block or so away from the highway, but I never had a problem with the noise levels. I've stayed at just about all the motels/hotels in Duncan, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megsidey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I was in town for two nights and wanted a place walking distance from a dinner party I was attending. The one room + bath arrangement is a decent size, with minimal frills, but was nicely kept up and very clean. The TV is a new flat screen with lots of channel and the WIFI was reliable and fast (and included). The air conditioning unit is modern and quiet.

The staff were very helpful and friendly - I got effusive apology for keeping me waiting all of 45 seconds at check-in. I wish all the places I stay were that service-oriented.

NB: There is no iron or ironing board in the room, but there is one in the laundry room near the office that is free to use.

I did not get a chance to try the restaurant located on the same property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northquarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night here. Room was quite large and clean. Bathroom was also very clean. There's a fridge and microwave in the room. There's a local diner next to motel, also Wendy's and McD close by. We walked from motel to see the totem poles. A fair distance to walk but not bad.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ylc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were in Duncan for a music festival and are beyond our tent camping years so sprang for an inexpensive motel. This one had good reviews on TA so we booked two nights. We were impressed by the staff (thank you, Maureen) and our room. It was sizeable with one queen bed, desk, table and chairs and a mini-kitchen with microwave and fridge. But best of all, the bed was new and comfortable and the room was incredibly quiet. It is a block away from Highway 1 and there was (we found out when their bus pulled up) a lacrosse team staying there. Neither one bothered us in the least. We don' often have reason to stay in Duncan but we will book here again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the highway. Nothing to differetiate except upstairs or down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprite62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our 7 women cycling group stayed two nights on our way up the island. Owners, Maureen and Martin are fabulous. Very friendly, accommodating and ensured we were looked after. They take pride in the place. They have owned it for two years and it is evident they want all their guests to be happy and have a great experience. They are very helpful in recommending places to eat and see. They are a credit to the area. All hotel owners (and any business owner)need to take lessons from Maureen and Martin on how to run their business. They are truly passionate in what they do. I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncan
1.7 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
28.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Falcon Nest Motel
Falcon Nest Motel
#4 of 6 in Duncan
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Duncan Cowichan Valley
4.7 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motor Inn

Property: Thunderbird Motor Inn
Address: 5849 York Rd, Duncan, British Columbia V9L 3S3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Duncan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Duncan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thunderbird Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thunderbird Motor Inn is centrally located in the Cowichan Valley; an easy walk to downtown Duncan, the Cowichan Sports Plex, and across the street from the Cowichan Theatre / Rec Centre / Aquatic Centre.We are 40mins north of Victoria (BC's Capital) and 35 minutes south of Nanaimo (The Harbour City) which makes us the perfect stopping point after travelling from the Washington State Ferries, BC Ferries, or the airports.We are close to the Chemainus Theatre, Cowichan Valley Exhibition Grounds, Sports Fields, many Local Wineries, Golf Courses, Shopping, BC Forest Discovery Centre, Vancouver Island University, Maple Bay Marina, Cowichan District Hospital.Located in the City of Totems, in the heart of Duncan B.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thunderbird Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Motor Inn Duncan, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing