We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit - excellent food.”
Review of Morgan's Bistro

Morgan's Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$36
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beachfront location with an unobstructed view of the lake from a second floor Patio, with a list of fabulous dishes that suit everyone's needs. Every dish has amazing flavour.
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Second visit - excellent food.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We actually found this place through Tripadvisor last spring and went back for July 1 holiday.
There was one small glitch with not getting our reservation despite making it 4 months ago and reconfirming in June but all's well that ends well, we ended up with our requested table on the patio.
The food was excellent again. I had the halibut, my wife had the prawns and my kids had the spaghetti with meatballs. The meals were perfectly prepared and flavored. My kids think this is the best pasta they have ever had. Combined with the spectacular views over Harrison Lake, this continues to be one of my all time favorite places to eat.
The only issue is that it can be a little pricey at $40 per person. Not the most expensive by any means but in a small town, it is pricey.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tdmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    97
    35
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Comox, BC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We just managed to get in without a reservation. The food and service were excellent. Would definitely eat here again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ComoxTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
“Best restaurant in Harrison”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Be sure to catch a sunset meal on Morgan's terrace. We had the pleasure of enjoying the artful caesar salad, yummy tequila lime prawns, and a decadent dessert each to finish. If you are spending time in Harrison Hot Springs....Morgan's is not to be missed.
High fives to the chef for the homemade focaccia bread. I would sure love the recipe!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debra4672M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zchef, Owner at Morgan's Bistro, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
As Promised, Thank you very much

Bistro Bread

790 gm all-purpose or bread flour
610 gm cool water
½ tsp instant yeast
2 ½ tsp salt

Add water, salt and yeast together let bloom/stand/sit for 10 min.
Mix the flour into the water, yeast and salt solution. The dough will be quit water, this is the way it should be cover for 12-18 hrs. turn the dough out into a 8x12 deep pan for second rising. Proof for about 2 hrs or until it has rose at least double its volume. Sprinkle with rock salt and bake at 425 in confection oven for 30-35 min turn onto wire rack to let cool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss Morgan's Bistro”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A great little restaurant in Harrison Hot Springs. An unexpected treat in the village of Harrison. The braised lamb was off the charts yummy. We will definitely visit again when we return to Harrison.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great food, service not so good!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The location is great, facing the lake on a terrace. Food very good but you had to wait for service. There needs to be more staff on duty and need to be more organised with taking orders and bringing drinks promptly. I would go there again just for the food. The house merlot is excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tweedie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morgan's Bistro also viewed

Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 

Been to Morgan's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing