We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, well-appointed rooms; good views; great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maverick Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maverick Motor Inn
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Pleasant, well-appointed rooms; good views; great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Maverick twice in the last couple of years, and I've re-booked for next week. Perched on the hill coming in from the North, the motel offers sweeping views of the city in the bowl below. Though "right across the street" from the big Aberdeen Mall, it's a very WIDE street. Walk it only if you're in good shape. All of the big box stores are no more than five minutes by car, as are a dozen restaurants from low-end McD, to mid-range White Spot and Mario's, to high-end Riki's for a good steak. Hospital is five minutes away straight down the hill . Two large liquor stores nearby. The rooms are well-maintained, with everything you'd expect, including flat-screen TV and very comfortable beds. There's WiFi in your room and if you don't have your computer with you, there's one for guest use in the lobby. The staff go the distance to meet your special requests. My only (mild) complaint is the breakfast, which is basic. With many of their competitors laying out downright lavish, full breakfasts, this is one area were the otherwise excellent Maverick could look to improve.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonfroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Maverick Motor Inn. It means a lot to us when a Top Contributor like you takes the time to leave such a detailed review.

I am very glad that you enjoy the city views and our well maintained, clean, comfortable, updated rooms. I agree, the Maverick Motor Inn is fortunate of its location offering short driving distances to major areas in Kamloops. The team at the hotel enjoy providing the best service they can. It is rewarding when guests like you acknowledge their hard work, the team says Thank You!

As for the breakfast, we have chosen our items carefully and limiting it to toast, cereal choices, fruit salad, muffins, bagels, oatmeal, coffee, tea, milk, orange and apple juice to keep the room costs affordable.

I believe in providing a quality product at an affordable rate year round, therefore our free continental breakfast is basic. Our competitors may produce a "lavish" breakfast but their rates are higher to cover the cost.

I look forward to welcoming you back next week when you return to Kamloops.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    136
    39
    9
    7
See reviews for
114
95
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

perfect hotel for short stay, clean and friendly, as long as they keep the price down then the value will attract customers, at $ 70 to $ 75 It is good value , after that there are plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

It is a privilege to have a repeat guest like you to see the changes from the years and acknowledge the Maverick as a perfect hotel for a short stay.

I am glad that you take advantage of our corporate rate for single travellers through our winter and fall season.

We look forward to seeing you next time you travel to Kamloops.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Grew up in Kamloops so I know the town well, and decided on this place because of the indoor waterslide for my 10 year olds enjoyment and closeness to the newer shopping areas- Walmart is less than 5 minute drive along with many other stores.
Maverick staff are all very friendly, room we had was clean and large, the pool and hottub a nice way to end the day.
Being a fan of the old days, I really love the "Hallway of VHS Cassettes" which can be rented for $2 with some classic titles but never had the chance to rent any. Rooms have DVD/VHS machines. Included continental breakfast was of typical fare.
I would stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelcomeMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave this very nice review. It is particularly pleasing when it is from a Top Contributor like you.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your clean spacious room and that you and your family enjoyed our pool, hot tub and waterslide.

Thank you for mentioning our collection of VHS movies, I'm glad that it gives guests the chance to see older movies that they may not have seen before and gives the chance to re-view movies they haven't seen in a while.

I thank you for recommending us to others and look forward to your next visit.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsefly, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Still excellent value for location and amenities. Aberdeen Mall across the street, Costco and Nature's Fare Mkt a few KMs away. Bathroom renos are a welcome update, and professionally done. Front desk staff friendly and always very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the city offer a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and the great feedback.

I appreciated the kind words regarding the team at the front desk. The team do their best to provide our guests with amazing service and they appreciate the acknowledgement. I am glad that you enjoyed the bathroom/vanity renovations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Patrick
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake Ranch, British Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Good location and very clean rooms. Nice and friendly staff, very helpful. Close to shopping and the restaurant had excellent food. I will definitely use this establishment again! A great price for a weekend get away!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to sign up for Tripadvisor and leaving us this nice review.

I was very pleased to hear that you found your room very clean and our team at the front desk friendly and helpful. My entire team thanks you for your kind words. Nothing delights them more than a guest acknowledging their services.

I do agree that we are fortunate that we are in a great location, close to Aberdeen Mall, many restaurants and other shops and services. The Beijing Restaurant located on our property provides our guests and locals with fresh quality food, the line-up for their buffets at lunch says it all.

I look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We sated at the Maverick Motor Inn as we were traveling home from our Christmas vacation. The hotel was older but everything was very clean and comfortable and well taken care of.

We were a little worried that this hotel would be sketchy as it was at least $40 cheaper than the others. But after reading the positive reviews we booked anyways and were pleasantly surprised!

The hotel lobby and hallways had been redone with new paint and carpeting. The front desk staff were pleasant and helpful when checking in. Our room had older carpets and older decor but everything was very clean and well taken care of. The beds were comfy. We didn't try the water slide or the pool but they looked like they would be good!
The continental breakfast provided, although not fancy was good. The toast and fruit and cereal hit the spot before heading out on the rest of our journey home!

Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again if our travels take us through Kamloops again. The Mavrick Motor in can't be beat with their excellent rates and clean rooms!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaGirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am glad that you enjoyed our clean comfortable room. Our housekeeping team works hard and it is appreciated when guests like you acknowledge their attention to detail.

I believe in our statement of "Quality that is affordable". We do our best to offer clean, affordable accommodation where guests like you get a great surprise! Our entire team at the Maverick works hard to make all guests welcome by providing the best service and product we can.

We are constantly updating our property. Currently we are completing the installation of new granite countertops in our bathroom and vanity area with new bathroom flooring. Our new bedspreads that have been ordered will tie the entire room together and compliment the new furniture and flat screen TV.

Our selected continental breakfast item was chosen to offer guests like you a perfect start to your next journey. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast selection.

I thank you again for taking the time to review our property and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Kamloops.


Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I often visit Kamloops. We have always stayed at the Maverick. The rooms are spacious and very clean, offering great value for money. There were a couple of times we needed to book a room at the last minute and Julie always got us in and at a great room rate. We recently booked a standard room and were surprised with a beautifully upgraded suite at no extra charge. We have always found the staff to be professional, helpful and truly caring people who genuinely want your stay to be pleasant.
The Maverick is easy to find and is situated across from the Aberdeen Mall and the Cinemas. They have a Chinese restaurant next door and the food is excellent. But there are many other restaurants nearby if you prefer. A Continental Breakfast is included with the room which we have always found to be good. The fact that we always return says everything!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor facing South Kamloops have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
It is always a great feeling when a regular guest like you takes the time to leave us such a nice review on Tripadvisor.

We enjoy being able to give a little bonus of an upgrade or a view room to a loyal guest during the holiday season.

I am very proud of my front desk team; the way they take care of our guests, their professionalism and their helpful natures. I am also delighted that my housekeeping team takes pride in their work every day to keep our hotel clean and comfortable.

It is great to be in such a good location with Aberdeen Mall and other shops so close. The Beijing Restaurant being here at the hotel is truly a bonus for guests who enjoy good Chinese food and having a variety of restaurants close by has always been a plus.

Thank you for this wonderful review. I look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick Motor Inn

Property: Maverick Motor Inn
Address: 1250 Trans Canada Hwy W, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 6R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Maverick Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality that's affordable. Every one of our 42 attractive and comfortably appointed rooms come with Queen or King sized beds. Rest and relax in the comfort in our spacious standard, kitchen or family rooms. Jacuzzi rooms are available for romantic getaways or simply pampering yourself overlooking the unobstructed panoramic views of the beautiful Thompson River valley. . Our modernly furnished rooms have air-conditioning, LCD TV, VCR/DVD combos, a fridge, iron and board, hair dryer and complimentary WiFi. Start your day with our complimentary continental breakfast and enjoy our many amenities which an indoor pool with an waterslide, hot tub with a view and our on-site restaurant. Senior's, group & corporate rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Maverick Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maverick Motor Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing