We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise!”
Review of Maverick Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maverick Motor Inn
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Israel
Level Contributor
324 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Clean and spacious rooms, comfortable and conveniently located close to the highway. Indoor swimming pool good for kids. Basic breakfast (not cooked) is also available. Very helpful and friendly staff. A good place for a short break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alonsegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am pleased you find our location convenient, and found your room clean, spacious and comfortable. The pool is a great place for the kids to burn off some energy after a long car ride.

My team was flattered that you acknowledged their efforts and we are all glad that you were pleasantly surprised with our property.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel through Kamloops.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    138
    41
    10
    7
See reviews for
117
97
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Göteborg, Vastra Gotaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just stopped here on our way up to jasper and banff national park. We didn't really liked the big deposit for the room that we didn't get back for 7 Days. You can really here the highway if you have room at that side. It is not Close to the city so you have to take a drive for 5 minutes. The breakfast is just like any other motel. Nothing special.
The motel is Clean and nice and beds are comfy. The staff is also very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad that you found your room clean, your beds comfortable and my team friendly.

The noise level from the highway is always subject to your personal sensitivity. In the future, please remember to ask for a quieter room on the north side of our hotel when you reserve and we will be happy to accommodate your request as long as we have the availability.

Regarding the deposit: If someone pays by cash or debit we do require a $200.00 deposit in addition to the room rate but you would have gotten that back upon check out after a quick room check. Please check with your credit card company to find out how long they hold a pre-authorization.

Thank you again for your review.

Safe travels

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

As the drive from Calgary to Vancouver is very long I wanted a stop over. Kamloops was about the right distance so it made it the perfect place.
The Maverick offered a good clean basic friendly hotel with a water slide for the kids to play after being stuck in the car for a long day.
The adults also could relax in the jacuzzi.
And for the people who are nostalgic the hotel offers old VCR movies.
Nice stay and very friendly staff.
However the breakfast is at best very limited. Just go for the coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayhemQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad that you found your room clean, my team friendly and that your family enjoyed the pool area after your long drive. The waterslide is a refreshing bonus for children of all ages.

I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you find yourself travelling through Kamloops.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invermere British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our visit this time was the second time we stayed here and again we were very happy with the excellent friendly service accommodation reasonable rates. My wife has mobility problems and we were very happy that this was taken into consideration and the room was spacious, close to the entrance and on ground floor. Parking is no problem and the continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this kind review.

I am delighted that you found your room spacious and my team friendly and our rates reasonable.

We try our best to take the special needs of any guest into consideration, especially when they notify us of their needs in advance as you did. What really matters is that you are happy with our service and our property.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stopped overnight travelling up from Vancouver to Edmonton, excellent value for money, large room with great view (upstairs overlooking valley), towels may be a little small, but there are plenty of them, good coffee making facilities, great A/C, comfortable beds, convienient to the highway, so good we stayed there on the way back as well. Staff were most helpful, a great little place !

Room Tip: Room on other side to the highway (even numbers) quiet and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philandjanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The perfect 5 score says it all.

My team was pleased that a well travelled guest and top tripadvisor contributor like you appreciated their efforts.

I am very happy that you feel that we are an excellent value with our spacious rooms, in room coffee, air conditioning and comfortable beds. The view of the city is a nice bonus.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are travelling through Kamloops.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here overnight in June and had a great experience. Anu, the front desk clerk, was outstanding in his friendliness and service. Our very comfortable and clean room had a wonderful view of the city and the large fridge was useful for refreezing our blue ice.

We enjoyed the water slide and hot tub and then got a DVD from their huge collection (which they rent) and spent the rest of the evening watching that. Very relaxing. The breakfast in the morning was not wonderful, but it was sufficient for our needs.

Overall, we would definitely stay at the Maverick again when we go through Kamploops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city and valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinTays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is always wonderful to know when a guest has a great experience and Anu was flattered that you remembered him.

I am very happy that you found your room clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed the view of the city. The pool and waterslide are always a big hit with travellers and I'm glad that your stay was very relaxing and that you enjoyed your movie.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel through Kamloops.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A great place to stop over for a night's rest while driving to and from the Canadian Rockies. The reception desk is manned by cheerful ladies. The motel is easy to access from the Trans Canada highway ; it is right next to the Tourist Info and just across from a mall. As we had arrived late, we were glad there was a moderately priced Chinese restaurant on site which offers a discount for the motel's guests. The room is clean and spacious with two queen beds and its best feature are the two vanity tops. Generous continental breakfast is provided in a bright breakfast room. We stayed at 204 and 206 and both appeared to have been newly renovated. The rates are reasonable and we would certainly recommend this motel to friends.

Room Tip: Window can be opened and air con turned on to clear the smoke left by precious guests. The rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PATRICK P, Owner at Maverick Motor Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review on tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to be reviewed by a Senior Reviewer and well travelled person.

My front desk team was delighted to be recognized for their efforts.

You are correct, the vanity areas with new granite counter tops, under mount sinks and new bathroom floors are our newest renovation and I am very pleased about how they turned out. It is gratifying that you noticed. I am glad that you found your rooms clean and spacious and that you enjoyed our continental breakfast as well as the restaurant next door.

I apologize that your room smelled like smoke, although we are 100% non-smoking. I am looking into the matter.

Thank you very much for the recommendation to your family and friends. We appreciate the high marks. I hope to see you again the next time you travel to Kamloops.

Thank you again for your review.

Patrick Patel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops
0.4 mi away
Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Accent Inn Kamloops
Accent Inn Kamloops
#12 of 55 in Kamloops
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
929 reviews
3.0 mi away
Riverland Inn & Suites
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 55 in Kamloops
318 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick Motor Inn

Property: Maverick Motor Inn
Address: 1250 Trans Canada Hwy W, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 6R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
#7 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Maverick Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality that's affordable. Every one of our 42 attractive and comfortably appointed rooms come with Queen or King sized beds. Rest and relax in the comfort in our spacious standard, kitchen or family rooms. Jacuzzi rooms are available for romantic getaways or simply pampering yourself overlooking the unobstructed panoramic views of the beautiful Thompson River valley. . Our modernly furnished rooms have air-conditioning, LCD TV, VCR/DVD combos, a fridge, iron and board, hair dryer and complimentary WiFi. Start your day with our complimentary continental breakfast and enjoy our many amenities which an indoor pool with an waterslide, hot tub with a view and our on-site restaurant. Senior's, group & corporate rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Maverick Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maverick Motor Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing