We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choices on small plates!”

Hoodoos at Sun Rivers
Ranked #66 of 339 Restaurants in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: Grill, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Beautiful views and rustic decor set the stage for an upscale casual dining experience, delectable meals and a superb selection of fine wines. We invite you to join us to experience our seasonally inspired menu where at the heart of each dish lies attention to detail and fresh and thoughtfully selected ingredients. We believe that you should love what you eat; our kitchen is your kitchen and we welcome menu modifications to suit your dietary needs. With a growing collection of cocktails, craft beer and a carefully selected wine program, the team at Hoodoos aims to deliver a memorable dining experience. Hoodoos offers scenic views of the City of Kamloops, while our private meeting room delivers the perfect atmosphere for any group event.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great choices on small plates!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a great dinner on the patio!
Choose 2 items from the small plate menu
Calamari and dry ribs
Both of these choices were great, the dry ribs have lots of meat on and there is a good amount
You get a good amount of calamari as well
I think our server was Carla?
We will definitely make sure we get the same server as she made our experience so much more enjoyable!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jewel228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    38
    16
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The view is really great but the food is terrible. We went there a few times hoping that the food would get better but it only good worse! What happened to cooking food? Just warming up boughten stuff is not what I would expect from a restaurant. Food is not cooked when ordered no it is put in steam tables and heated up a bit. McDonald's offers more freshness than Hoodoos! The service unfortunately sucks too. Great location, really bad restaurant! No stars if I could.

Helpful?
Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious meal and gorgeous scenery”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a delicious dinner on the Hoodoos patio after a round of golf. The view from the patio was awesome. Highly recommend making a visit here when in Kamloops.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GolfnCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Could Have Been So Much Better”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We went out for our anniversary dinner last night. I wanted ribs, he wanted salmon. We checked out the menu online and, sadly, we chose Hoodoos. It had been at least two years since our last visit. Now I remember why. The wine list was outrageously expensive...twice what we pay elsewhere in town for a 1/2 litre. The Caesar Salad lacked flavour (and one crouton was actually doughy - yuck). My ribs were good but dry. They came with WAY too much very dry Basmati rice, 1 slice of carrot, 3 limp asparagus, and a bit of cauliflower. The only thing worse than cauliflower, IMHO, is cold cauliflower. More veggies! Less rice! Anything but cauliflower! My husband told me his salmon was very nice, but otherwise had the same complaints. Sorry Hoodoos...a great view doesn't make up for the rest.

PS I know the place was virtually empty except for us, but does the staff really have to line up along the bar and shout at each other? Very bad manners guys.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hank02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Very easy to locate connected to the Pro Shop on the Sun Rivers Golf Course. Situated on Kamloops Indian Band property just off the Yellowhead highway. Wonderful decor with a nice view. Excellent semi-private table set ups. More of a restaurant than a pub or after golf location. The three of us had an excellent breakfast at a reasonable price. Service was prompt and friendly. This was my second visit and I will return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoodoos at Sun Rivers also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Hoodoos at Sun Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing