We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, convenient, good price”
Review of Lamplighter Motel

Lamplighter Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamplighter Motel
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed 26 June 2013

On a cycle tour across Canada, we stopped here and were warmly greeted by Vicky at the front desk, such a helpful person. Hot tub was great! Good blackout curtains. There's a Starbucks within walking distance to the East (there's in-room coffee). No noise between rooms. Many regular customers (we met some). Good shower, separate sink from toilet and shower. Good rates, lovely people, family owned.

Room Tip: Folks smoke outside but it's kept to one side of the hotel, so ask for the non-smoking side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank combustion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

My husband and I reserved well ahead of our weekend's stay at the Lamplighter, so the rate we paid was one of the better ones for motels in the Kamloops area (that is, motels with generally favourable reviews). The staff was friendly and accommodating to our needs, the room was clean, and the TV was a flatscreen and offered the usual Canadian and American networks, but not many of the specialty ones.

Water pressure was good but our sink's drain was somewhat blocked, and so drained slowly. The bed had a pillow-top mattress but was very firm, so it didn't "give" the way I prefer my mattress to be.

Our room was unfortunately the second from the main road, so we heard a little road noise which wasn't too bad but a train goes by several times a night across the road and we certainly heard that.

Although we booked a non-smoking room someone nearby was smoking, so our room smelled of smoke when we returned there later in the day. The smell dissipated later on (probably after the smoker went to bed).

All rooms at this location are on the ground level with parking right outside the rooms, so it's easy for disabled people to get around.

This motel is not a four star venue but it's conveniently located a five minute drive from the conference centre we spent our days at. All in all, it's a reasonably priced, decent, clean place to stay and we'll probably stay there again the next time we're in Kamloops.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the main road away from the road noise and the train. All rooms are on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottacash2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

im a self employed business man & travel alot so i stay in lots of motels, the lamplighter is always has clean rooms, good rates & good staff. I recomend this place to all my friends & to anyone reading this. I will continue staying there everytime im in kamloops

Room Tip: all rooms are just as nice as each other, nice big beds & quality flat screen tv's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan c W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very reasonable and rooms are clean and Quiet. I stay here quite often on trips for work from Calgary to Vancouver. Large flatscreen tv's in the room. Just great place to hang your hat for the night.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JunglePerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I would not recommend this place at all. Room, though clean, was shabby and the entire facility is run down. Cleaning staff was friendly and pleasant, even when obliged to take on registration. The desk clerk, however, when he finally showed up, was very rude. On the same trip I stayed at two other places, one with a lower price and another with a price about $20 higher. Both were comfortable, pleasant, and well maintained. There is no justification for the price at this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here a couple of times in the past and were fine with the below small, plain and less than glamorous appeal for the cheap price. The people at the front desk are very nice, cleaning ladies are a little shy but will clean when you ask or leave at appropriate time. We made another stop there last month and stayed the night, I didn't do a thorough scan of the room since it was late and was tired. The next morning I got the room cleaned and came back to a clean room. I don't know if it was present before I checked in or if it arrived after cleaning but a needle (syringe) was by the bed on the floor. If it was there before i got it cleaned, then the thoroughness of her cleaning is seriously scary. We were disgusted and freaked out. Will never return, unfortunate but I wouldn't risk it with that negligence in god knows how many ways.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at the Lamplighter on our way through to Whistler. The hotel is located on a service road adjacent to the highway and tended be somewhat noisey but not to the point where we couldn't sleep. There is also a railroad track on the north side of the highway but again it did not affect our sleep. Found the rooms to be very clean and the carpetting appeared to have been recently replaced. The bathroom had been redone and had a very attractive backsplash around the tub and sink. Our room had a very comfortable king sized bed, microwave/fridge and there was a flat screen TV as well. There was an ironing board but no iron so assumed that you have to go to the front desk to request it along with the hairdryer. There is a good choice of restaurants and service stations on the service road which makes it very convenient in the morning when leaving. We found this hotel to be excellent value and would stay again if travelling through the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelwithkids95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Country View Motor Inn
#36 of 54 in Kamloops
189 reviews
Riverland Inn & Suites
#21 of 54 in Kamloops
362 reviews
Valleyview
The Ranchland Inn
The Ranchland Inn
#19 of 54 in Kamloops
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen
Alpine Motel Kamloops
Alpine Motel Kamloops
#32 of 54 in Kamloops
101 reviews
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamplighter Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Motel

Address: 1901 Trans Canada Hwy E, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 3Z9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Valleyview
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: £42 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lamplighter Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Clean rooms with AC - Refrigerator - Coffee Maker - Microwave - Free WiFi - Free Local Calls - Iron and Ironing Board - Kids playground. Within walking distance of Fast Food and Restaurants. 5 Minutes from airport and 10 minutes from Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lamplighter Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing