We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lamplighter Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$100
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plaza Hotel(Kamloops)
US$96
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ranchland Inn(Kamloops)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$51
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
6
10
6
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
10
6
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

On a cycle tour across Canada, we stopped here and were warmly greeted by Vicky at the front desk, such a helpful person. Hot tub was great! Good blackout curtains. There's a Starbucks within walking distance to the East (there's in-room coffee). No noise between rooms. Many regular customers (we met some). Good shower, separate sink from toilet and shower. Good rates, lovely people, family owned.

Room Tip: Folks smoke outside but it's kept to one side of the hotel, so ask for the non-smoking side.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank combustion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My husband and I reserved well ahead of our weekend's stay at the Lamplighter, so the rate we paid was one of the better ones for motels in the Kamloops area (that is, motels with generally favourable reviews). The staff was friendly and accommodating to our needs, the room was clean, and the TV was a flatscreen and offered the usual Canadian and American networks, but not many of the specialty ones.

Water pressure was good but our sink's drain was somewhat blocked, and so drained slowly. The bed had a pillow-top mattress but was very firm, so it didn't "give" the way I prefer my mattress to be.

Our room was unfortunately the second from the main road, so we heard a little road noise which wasn't too bad but a train goes by several times a night across the road and we certainly heard that.

Although we booked a non-smoking room someone nearby was smoking, so our room smelled of smoke when we returned there later in the day. The smell dissipated later on (probably after the smoker went to bed).

All rooms at this location are on the ground level with parking right outside the rooms, so it's easy for disabled people to get around.

This motel is not a four star venue but it's conveniently located a five minute drive from the conference centre we spent our days at. All in all, it's a reasonably priced, decent, clean place to stay and we'll probably stay there again the next time we're in Kamloops.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the main road away from the road noise and the train. All rooms are on the ground level.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lottacash2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

im a self employed business man & travel alot so i stay in lots of motels, the lamplighter is always has clean rooms, good rates & good staff. I recomend this place to all my friends & to anyone reading this. I will continue staying there everytime im in kamloops

Room Tip: all rooms are just as nice as each other, nice big beds & quality flat screen tv's
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan c W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Very reasonable and rooms are clean and Quiet. I stay here quite often on trips for work from Calgary to Vancouver. Large flatscreen tv's in the room. Just great place to hang your hat for the night.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JunglePerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I would not recommend this place at all. Room, though clean, was shabby and the entire facility is run down. Cleaning staff was friendly and pleasant, even when obliged to take on registration. The desk clerk, however, when he finally showed up, was very rude. On the same trip I stayed at two other places, one with a lower price and another with a price about $20 higher. Both were comfortable, pleasant, and well maintained. There is no justification for the price at this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews